Chapter III – Hello from Salt Lake City Temple Square! // 第三篇 – 來自鹽湖城聖殿廣塲的問候!

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Hi everyone, I’m in Salt Lake City now! We got here yesterday and today is my P-Day. For the next 6 weeks, my P-Day will always be Wednesday, which is when I get to email and write letters. Oh and I get 2 hours instead of just 1 hour now, so I have a little more time to email everyone!

On Saturday, we actually had the chance to come up to Temple Square for a few hours to see what it’s like to serve in Temple Square. We were all assigned to new companions that are currently serving here. My companion was Sister Imangazi, and she is from Kazakhstan. How crazy is that!? I had no idea where that was until she showed a map to me. Oh and she speaks a TON of languages. She speaks Russian, Arabic, Portuguese, some Korean and more that I can’t even remember. We did a Russian tour (I obviously didn’t understand a single thing they were talking about) around the Square and it was really cool to meet people from literally all around the world. Oh and guess who I saw at Temple Square on Saturday? Kimchi! I didn’t get a chance to talk to him a lot because we were in the middle of our tour, but we did say hi to each other.

On Sunday, we had a fireside and the speaker talked about the pioneers because it was Pioneer Day this week. I love hearing stories about the pioneers – they’re always so inspiring and the amount of faith that they had always blows me away. We also watched a talk by Elder Bednard and he talked about the character of Christ. It was a really inspiring talk and he basically told us that we need to serve and love others. It’s so easy to get caught up in your own problems but we need to be more selfless and more like Christ. He also talked about how the Atonement of Jesus Christ gives us the strength that we need. There are many things in life that we cannot do alone and we need to rely and trust in Him because we really are weak without Him. This talk made me think about the different trials that I have faced in my life and I feel like so many things are clicking for me now. The trials I went through have only made me a stronger and better person and they have shaped me into the person I am today. These trials have caused my faith in Christ to be strengthened so much more and I am fully aware that I need to put my trust in Him whenever I feel like I’m going through something that I can’t handle.

Monday was spent packing everything up for Salt Lake and cleaning up our room. We also got to chat with people online to answer their questions. Sometimes, it is seriously SO hard to talk to these people! The majority of people that Sister Sherratt and I talked to online are mostly just trolling us and it gets really frustrating because they’re really not serious about learning about the gospel. Or we get some really rude people sometimes. Those are always fun. But still, I love chatting with people online because it is such a cool way to proselyte.

Anyways, at 6 in the morning yesterday, all of the Temple Square sisters piled into the bus and drove up to Salt Lake City. When we were walking over to Temple Square, I ran into Justin, Jeremy’s brother! He works right across the Square so I was wondering when I was gonna see him. It was nice to see a familiar face before I walked into Temple Square because I was feeling pretty nervous and anxious. We met our mission president and his wife and took care of some administrative stuff. Then we got to go to the Church History Museum, right across from Temple Square. Although I’ve been to Temple Square a lot before my mission, I’ve never actually gone to the museum. The museum was filled with a ton of cool stuff, but my favorite was the Prophets Exhibit. They had a little bit of history on every single prophet of the Church as well as some personal items, like a horse saddle and outfits. They even had some original letters written by the prophets themselves, all the way back to Joseph Smith. So cool!

After the museum, we went back to Temple Square and we were assigned our new companions. They went alphabetically so I was in the bottom 2. They had me and the last MTC sister close our eyes and turn around. Then they did the same with the last 2 Temple Square sisters. The suspense was killing me. But my companion is Sister Cheng and she is from Hong Kong! Cantonese is her native language but she can speak Mandarin too so we sometimes speak in Chinese. We are also on the list to do Mandarin tours because a TON of buses come with 30+ Chinese people to the Square and they need a lot of Mandarin-speaking missionaries to take them around. After we were paired up with our companions, we got to go to Walmart to do some grocery shopping! Seriously the best day of my life. I’ve been dying to go grocery shopping so that I can eat what I actually want to eat. The remainder of the night was spent cleaning up our new place and unpacking everything.

Today is Pioneer Day so we got to watch the Pioneer Parade that went through downtown Salt Lake City! I realized that this was the first parade that I have ever been to and it was so much fun! The coolest thing is President Uchtdorf was in the parade and he waved to all of us sister missionaries! When the parade was over, we saw Elder Perry in the crowd and we all went up to say hi and to take some pictures. He’s SUPER tall. Some missionaries also saw Elder Anderson but I didn’t find him. But how cool is that!? After the parade, Sister Cheng and I walked around the Square for a little bit. A man asked us if he could have 10 Book of Mormons (BOMs) in Chinese because everyone in the tour group was really interested in reading it. How awesome is that!? We were only able to find 7 BOMs but we gave them some pass-along cards with the church website on it. We then walked over to City Creek for some lunch and since it was P-Day, we got to walk around and do some shopping. Well, more like window shopping. We have P-Day for the rest of the entire day so we will probably just go home and write some letters and cook dinner.

I don’t have a scripture for this week, but I do have a fortune that I got today….it says “The world will soon be ready to receive your talents.” This is one of the rare times where I felt like a fortune actually fit my life! Temple Square has people from literally all over the world and hopefully I have some talents that I can use to bless other people’s lives. The craziest thing about this fortune is that Jeremy received the same exact fortune from Panda Express in Provo today. I got my fortune cookie from a different Chinese fast food place (can’t remember the name but definitely not Panda Express) at City Creek…..so weird.

I miss you all and I hope you are all doing! My new Salt Lake City address will be added to the blog so please write me! 🙂

Love, Sister Ying

4th of July with Temple Square sisters. L to R: Me, Sister Sherratt (Diamond Bar, CA), Sister Cuevas (Chicago, IL), Sister Park (Arizona), Sister Snow (Utah/Texas), Sister Pien (Canada) and Sister Esquivel (Georgia)

4th of July with Temple Square sisters. L to R: Me, Sister Sherratt (Diamond Bar, CA), Sister Cuevas (Chicago, IL), Sister Park (Arizona), Sister Snow (Utah/Texas), Sister Pien (Canada) and Sister Esquivel (Georgia)

Sister De Castro and Sister Yang (Elder So's girlfriend) and I at the parade

Sister de Castro and Sister Yang (Elder So’s girlfriend) and I at the parade

I indirectly got a picture with Elder Perry!!!!!!!!!!!

I indirectly got a picture with Elder Perry!!!!!!!!!!!

2013年 7月 24日,星期三

大家好!我現在在鹽湖城!我們昨天來到這裡,然後今天是我的準備日。接下來的六週,我的準備日是每週的星期三,在這一天我就可以寫電郵和寫信。對了,我沒有像以前一樣只有一個小時寫電郵,現在就有兩個小時的時間寫,這樣子我有更多的時間寫電郵發給大家!

在上個禮拜六,我們有機會來鹽湖城幾個小時看一看在這裡是如何服務。我們MTC的姊妹們都被分配去跟在這裡服務的新同伴在一起。我那一天新的同伴是義姊妹,然後她是從哈薩克斯坦來的。真不可思議的!我完全不知道哈薩克斯坦在哪裡,不過她給我看地圖,然後我就知道了。對了,她會講很多不同的語言。她會說俄語,阿拉伯語,葡萄牙語,韓語,和我現在想不起來其他的語言。我們那天帶領了一個俄語團(他們說的話,我當然一點都聽不懂),可是在聖殿廣場走來走去很好玩,特別是因為我認識了從各個地方的人。對了,你們猜猜我上個禮拜六碰到誰啊?就是泡菜弟弟(金明浩長老)!因為那個時候我跟我的同伴正在帶團,所以我不能跟他講很多話,不過我們互相打個招呼。

上個禮拜天,我們參加一個爐邊聚會,因為下個星期三是先驅者節,所以那一天的演講者談到先驅者。我真的超喜歡聽先驅者的故事,他們的故事都會給我很大的啓發,再說他們的信心真的令我驚訝極了。我們也有看貝納長老以前做的演講,他說到耶穌基督的特質。這個演講帶給我很多靈感,他基本上告訴我們大家都需要為別人服務和彼此相愛。擔心自己生活中的問題真的很自然,可是我們應該成為更無私的人,向耶穌基督一樣。貝納長老也談到耶穌基督的贖罪,然後他講說耶穌基督的贖罪可以給我們力量。在我們生活中,我們常常遇到我們個人做不到的事情,可是我們若信賴主和靠著祂,那麼我們就可以做得到。如果我們沒有對祂的信心,我們就很軟弱。這個演講使我想到我所生活中碰到的種種考驗,然後我突然瞭解到我為甚麼得面臨這些挑戰。我所克服的考驗都讓我變得更堅強,而使我成為一個更好的人。再說,我所遇到的考驗都讓我更加培養對耶穌基督的信心。並且,我十分瞭解到,當我覺得我做不到困難的事情的時候,我得把我的信心放在祂身上。

上個禮拜一,我們一整天都為了去鹽湖城忙著打包和整理房間。我們也有機會在網上跟人家聊天和回答他們對教會的問題。有時候,跟這些人聊天非常難。我跟雪瑞特姊妹在網上聊天的人大部分就是在欺負我們。我真的不太喜歡這樣的人,因為他們一點都沒有學習福音的興趣。有時候,我們也會碰到很粗魯的人。不過,對我來說,這些經驗都很好玩。我真的很喜歡在網上跟人家聊天,我覺得這樣子的確是傳福音的一個很棒的方法。

接著在昨天早上六點的時候,所有的聖殿廣場姊妹都上車開到鹽湖城去。當我們在聖殿廣場走一走的時候,我碰到賈斯汀(忠航的哥哥)!他是在聖殿廣場的對面工作,所以我去那裡之前在想甚麼時候會看到他,然後我一到那兒就馬上見到他。我很高興看到他那個面熟的臉,因為那個時候我很緊張。我們那一天早上認識我們的傳道部會長跟他的妻子,之後我們跟她們辦一些管理的事。然後,我們有機會去聖殿廣場對面的教會歷史博物館。雖然我傳教以前去過聖殿廣場好幾次,但是我從來沒有去過那間博物館。那間博物館裡面有很多很有趣的東西,可是我最喜歡的部份就是那個先知的展覽。他們那裡有寫著每一個先知歷史的資料,而且他們也有一些先知以前擁有的東西,比如說他們的服裝和馬鞍子。他們還有先知自己寫的一些原本的信,包括從約瑟斯密和那時代寫的幾封信。真的很了不起!我們在博物館參觀完以後,就回去聖殿廣場那裡認識我們被分配的新同伴。他們按字母順序把我們新的同伴給我們介紹,所以呢,我是最後一批。他們叫我和最後的另外一個MTC姊妹閉起眼睛和回身過去。然後他們也叫還在的兩個聖殿廣場姊妹像我們一樣閉起眼睛和回身過去。我那個時候非常期待看誰是我新的同伴。我後來認識程姊妹,她就是我的訓練著,然後她是從香港來的!她母語是廣東話,可是她也會講普通話,所以我們在一起有時候會說國語來溝通。我們也是分配帶普通話的團,因為在這裡非常多的旅遊巴士來聖殿廣場。然後,這些巴士平常坐著30個以上的中國人,所以呢,他們需要很多會講中文的傳教士陪著他們參觀聖殿廣場。我們MTC全部的姊妹跟新的聖殿廣場的同伴分成一對一對以後,我們去沃爾瑪(超級市場)買菜。這一天真的讓我非常快樂,因為最近我沒有機會去買菜,可是我現在終於可以吃我想要吃的東西。當天晚上,我們打掃和整理我新的房子,還有我把我行李的東西拿出來。

因為今天是先驅者節日,所以我們去鹽湖城市區看那個先驅者的遊行。我剛發現到今天是我第一次去看一個遊行,我覺得那個先驅者的遊行很好玩!對我來說,最酷的部份就是看 鄔希鐸會長向我們姊妹們揮手。那個先驅者的遊行結束以後,我們也在人海中看到佩里長老。我們去跟他打招呼和跟他拍照。他非常高。有些傳教士說他們也看到安德森長老,可是我今天找不到他了。不過,能看到這些人真的是不可思議!我跟程姊妹離開那個遊行的地方以後,我們就去聖殿廣場那裡走一走。我們在散步的時候,我們碰到一位先生,這位先生問我們可不可以拿10本中文的摩爾門經。他要這麼多本是因為他的旅遊團都對讀摩爾門經很有興趣。真的很了不起!我們那個時候只能找到7本摩爾門經,不過我們也把幾張寫著我們教會網站的傳單拿給他們。之後我們就去河濱城商塲(旁邊的購物中心)那裡吃午餐。因為這一天是我們的準備日,所以我們可以在那裡去買東西。其實,我們就是去逛街而已。今天的其餘時間還是我們的準備日,所以我們寫完電郵以後就打算回家煮晚餐和在家裡寫信。

我這個禮拜沒有經文要跟你們分享,可是我今天從幸運餅乾拿到一條幸運簽….這條說“這個世界正準備好接受你的才能。”我不常覺得幸運簽跟我的生活有關係,不過這一次我真的相信我拿到的幸運簽跟我的生活有關係!聖殿廣場的確有從全世界各個角落來的人,然後我希望我能夠用我擁有的才能來祝福他們的生活。最不可思議的事情就是忠航也拿到一模一樣的幸運簽。他在熊貓快餐店拿到他的幸運簽,然後我在河濱城商塲的另外一家中國快餐店(我現在想不起來叫甚麼名字)拿到我的。真是不可思議的事呀!

我想念你們大家!我希望你們都還好!我新的鹽湖城的地址附在我的博客上面了。請你們寫信寄給我! 🙂

愛,
應姊妹

Leave a Reply

