Chapter VII – The Atonement of Jesus Christ // 第七篇 – 耶穌基督的贖罪

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

First off, I just want to reiterate my point about how sacrifices bring blessings. I already talked about how I saw a cat on my way to the temple but little did I know, a bigger blessing was in store for me! As I was getting ready for bed that night, a cat WALKED INTO OUR HOUSE! No joke. It just strolled in and to say I was ecstatic is a bit of an understatement. My roommates let me play with it for a few minutes before kicking it out (2 of them hate cats). But then that cat literally walked around our house the ENTIRE NIGHT, meowing and crying at every single window because it wanted to come back in. I may or may not have shed a couple tears…..I had a sleepless night because it literally meowed by the window I sleep right next to.

Anyways, it’s been a crazy week here at the Square, filled with ups and downs. But we have noticed that the Square is dying down and we no longer have hundreds of Chinese people flocking over here. Probably because school is starting soon. Being on the Square can be tough at times. There are some Antis that like to hang out here every week, but luckily I haven’t had much interaction with them. There are also Antis that come onto chat and challenge us about every little thing – we get those pretty often. And once in a while, we’ll get people who get very offended/angry at us during a tour (usually it’s because we tell them we can’t take them into the temple or that we believe the Book of Mormon is also the Word of God). It’s difficult to handle those situations because there are so many people in our group and incidents like that really drive away the Spirit, and people who were interested before feel a little uneasy and are no longer interested. All you can really do is bear your testimony to them, which sometimes makes them even more angry. I usually just say that if this wasn’t Christ’s true church on Earth, I wouldn’t sacrifice 18 months of my life to be here to serve the Lord. It sometimes amuses me though – we never force them to take a tour with us and they’re not paying us any money so they really have no obligation to stick around to hear what we have to say yet they continue to stay and argue with us sometimes. Some of them can’t even appreciate the fact that we’re young adults who made a commitment to leave their loved ones and home behind to serve the Lord. But hey, it’s all a part of the experience serving here at Temple Square and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m not the argumentative type but it’s interesting to hear what they have to say.

But being on Temple Square definitely has more perks than cons. First, my mission president gave me special permission to take Jeremy and his dad on a tour here last week. Yes, it was intimidating to take them around, but it went really well and it was so good to see the both of them! Temple Square is such a special place and I was so excited to take them around a place I love so much. Next, we had 2 very special speakers this week – Sister Oaks (Dallin H. Oaks’s wife) and Elder Jeffrey R. Holland! Sister Oaks talked to us about having a firm testimony in this gospel. The gospel really is pretty simple and the reason why it can be complicated sometimes is because WE make it complicated, which is so true. Elder Holland talked to us about missionary work and it was really inspirational. I have never been that close to an apostle (the closest was when I saw Elder Perry at the Pioneer Parade) in my life and I was seriously like in shock. I sat in the most perfect seat in the entire theater – he walked right past me! He couldn’t stay for very long and had originally planned to shake all of our hands but he ran out of time. As he was walking out, he happened to pause right by me and said to all of us sisters, “Invite me back so I can shake all your hands” and then he kinda reached his hand out towards me since I was standing so close to him. I didn’t know what to do so I kinda just like extended my hand out too so it was like a weird awkward half-pat half-handshake with him. But it doesn’t matter! I touched an apostle of Christ for the first time in my entire life! My body turned into like jelly right after he left. After Elder Holland left, President Gillette had another special treat lined up for us sisters. We got to watch a video of the behind-the-scenes photography shoot for “Reflections of Christ,” which seriously is so touching because they had a scene for each major event in Christ’s life. I have been thinking a lot about the Atonement of Christ this week and Elder Holland briefly touched on that subject when he was with us too. Sometimes, the hardest person to forgive is yourself. But Elder Holland said that if we never forgive ourselves, we are denying the Atonement. If someone so much greater than us has already paid the price of our sins, who are we to stand in the way and reject the power of the Atonement? I came across Alma 11:40 (“And he shall come into the world to redeem his people; and he shall take upon him the transgressions of those who believe on his name; and these are they that shall have eternal life, and salvation cometh to none else”) during my personal study this morning and I could just feel the love that the Savior has for all of us as I read it. I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and that because of Him, we can live with Heavenly Father and our families again.

Alright everyone, my time is up! I hope you are all doing well and enjoying your last few weeks of summer. I miss you and love you all so much but I really do love my mission out here, both the good and the bad (that was something Elder Holland talked to us about). Have a wonderful week and talk to you all soon! Oh yeah, I’m going to Kitty City today to get my crazy cat lady fix. Yup.

P.S. I am getting eaten alive out here by bugs. I got bit walking back home from the Square at night and I now have 2 massive swollen bumps on my arm. I think I might be a little allergic. Medicine/anti-itch cream didn’t work….help?

Love, Sister Olivia Ying

Mom and Dad – I literally JUST SAW Grace Chen (is that her last name?) She just walked into the building that I was emailing in. She says hi!

A blessing

A blessing

I love cats

I love cats

This is Sister Takita. She is from Orem, UT, and has been serving at Temple Square until she gets her visa. She leaves on Monday for Japan! I'm gonna miss her!

This is Sister Takita. She is from Orem, UT, and has been serving at Temple Square until she gets her visa. She leaves on Monday for Japan! I’m gonna miss her!

2013年 8月 21日,星期三

首先我想要再重複談我犧牲帶來祝福的觀點。我已經說過上個星期在去聖殿的時候我看到了一隻貓,然後我沒意會到在我生活中一個更大的祝福會發生。上個禮拜三,我在準備睡覺的時候一隻貓走進來我們家!我不開玩笑!它就是隨便進來我們家,那個時候我興奮極了。我的室友讓我跟它玩一下,可是後來我們把它趕出去(我的室友其中兩個非常不喜歡貓)。當天那隻貓整個晚上在我們家的外面一直走來走去。而且因為它很想再進來我們家,所以它也在我們家窗戶的外面一直哭。我那天晚上可能稍微流了眼淚…..我睡不著因為它真的是在我床旁邊的窗戶一直哭的。

總之,在聖殿廣場這個禮拜真的是很不可思議,充滿了起伏。不過我們發現到這裡再也沒有那麼熱鬧,而且最近我們也沒有來這兒參觀的幾百個中國人。應該是因為大家都快開學了。在這裡服務有時候不是很容易。每一個星期都會有反教會的人來這裡辯論,可是好幸運的事情就是我不常跟他們打交道。在網上我們也會跟不少反教者聊天,而他們都會跟我們辯論這辯論那,就是挑戰教會的每一件事情。我們常常碰到這樣的情形。而且有時我們在帶團的時候也會遇到很生氣或被得罪的人(通常是因為我們告訴他們不能進去聖殿或者是因為我們相信摩爾門經也是神的話語)。對我來說,這樣的清況不簡單,特別是因為我們帶的團都有很多人而這樣生氣的人使聖靈會離開。並且在這樣的情況下,那些反教者也使來這兒想要學習福音的人感到不舒服,也會讓他們失去對教會的興趣。我們所能做的就是跟他們分享見證,不過這麼做有時候使他們變得更生氣。我平常會跟他們說要是這個教會不是耶穌基督在世上真實的教會的話,我就絕對不會犧牲我生活中的十八個月來為神服務。我覺得他們很奇怪,因為我們並不會勉強他們來這裡跟我們參觀,而他們並沒有付錢給我們,所以他們也沒有原因留下來聽我們所講的話。不過他們繼續來而跟我們爭論。他們有的也不能欣賞我們這些年輕人自願地離開家和所愛的人,來到這裡為神服務。不過這些都是我在聖殿廣場服務時應該經歷的事情,而且也沒有其它的方法可以了解這一切。我不是一個很會辯論的人,可是我覺得在聽他們所說的話時是很有趣的事。

在聖殿廣場傳教的好處一定比壞處好多了。比如說,我的傳道部會長上個星期特別地准許我可以帶忠航和他的父親來這裡參觀。對我來說,帶他們參觀真的讓我很緊張,不過我覺得那個經驗過得很好,而我很高興看到他們!聖殿廣場真的是一個很特別的地方,所以上週我非常興奮帶他們看這個我超喜歡的地點。這個星期我們有兩個很特別的演講者來,第一個是鄔克司姊妹(達林鄔克司長老的太太)然後第二個是賀倫長老!鄔克司姊妹跟我們講說對福音穩固見證的重要性。福音真的是很簡單,可是有時候我們會覺得福音很複雜,不過就是因為我們使它變得複雜而搞不清楚了!我覺得這個看法是對的。賀倫長老跟我們講說傳教的事工。他的演講真的啓發了我的思想。在我的生活中從來沒有一位使徒像賀倫長老和我這樣接近地在一起(最接近就是在先驅者的遊行的時候看到貝利長老)。上個禮拜我跟賀倫長老那麼近的時候真的讓我很驚訝。那天我坐在教堂中最好的位子上,賀倫長老走在我的跟前!他不能留太久,而他本來打算跟我們每一個傳教士握手可是後來他的時間不夠。不過他在離開的時候突然停下來走在我的前面,而他跟全部的姊妹說,“之後請你們再邀請我回來使我下次能跟你們大家握手,”然後因為我離他很近所以他稍微對我伸出手來。那個時候我不知道該做甚麼,所以我就是也伸出我的手而跟他做個有一點奇怪的握手。沒關係了!這就是我生活中第一次觸摸到一位耶穌基督的使徒!他走之後我全身馬上稍微發抖了一下。賀倫長老離開之後,吉列會長也給我們姊妹們一個很特別的小禮物。我們有機會看“基督的映像”幕後的攝影拍攝。這部短篇真是非常令人感動的,因為他們表現出耶穌基督生活中最偉大的每一個事件的場景。我這個星期花了很多時間在想耶穌基督的贖罪上而賀倫長老跟我們在一起的時候稍微提到這個題目。有時候最難寬恕的人就是我們自己。賀倫長老說要是我們永遠都不會寬恕自己,我們就在否認耶穌基督的贖罪。如果一位比我們更偉大的人物已經為我們的罪付了代價,那麼我們怎麼能否認贖罪的力量?今天早上我在做個人研讀的時候看到這段經文,就是阿爾瑪書第十一章,第四十節:“祂要來到世間救贖祂的人民;祂要承擔相信祂名的人的罪;將來獲得永生的就是這些人;救恩不會降臨到其他的人。”我在讀這節經文的時候感覺到救主對我們每一個人的愛。我知道耶穌基督是我們的救主,而且我知道因為祂為我們所做的一切,我們都能夠再跟天父和我們的家人住在一起。

我的時間到了!我希望你們一切都好而你們都在享受夏天的最後幾個禮拜!我想念和愛你們大家,可是我真的很愛我在這裡傳教的經驗,不管是好的還是壞的(那就是賀倫長老跟我們分享的一部分)。祝你們這個星期過得好!對了,我今天打算到貓咪城去跟貓玩一下!

我在這兒常常被蚊子叮了。我昨天晚上從聖殿廣場在走回家的時候被叮了,然後現在我胳膊上有兩個很大的腫塊。我覺得我應該是有一點過敏。搽藥都沒有用…..你們覺得我該怎麼辦呢?

應姊妹

Leave a Reply

