Chapter XII – Be Confident! // 第十二篇 – 要有自信!

Thursday, September 26, 2013

As always, I am running out of time but I’ll try and squeeze in as much as I can in the short amount of time that I have. Our phones were actually down for almost the whole week so we weren’t able to call a lot of our investigators. But luckily, the phones are back up and running now so we have been catching up on all those missed appointments. So I have some pretty exciting news! R, an investigator we met on chat, was baptized on Saturday! This is my very first baptism and it’s Sister Cheng’s as well. R is only a freshman in college here in Utah but she is such a great example of faith. This hasn’t been an easy journey for her since she is now the only member in her family. The second exciting news is that we have another baptism next month in California! We also met K on chat and she told us she has been meeting with missionaries for over a year. However, she was raised Catholic so her parents aren’t happy about her being baptized. When we finally were able to call her yesterday, she told us that she was getting baptized! We really didn’t teach K much but we are so happy that she finally has a baptismal date! R and K are both younger than me and the amount of faith they have amaze me. It’s so cool to see people my age make such a huge commitment and try to follow our Savior’s example.

So I “met” the boy version of me a couple days ago. Well, we met him on chat and then talked to him over the phone. The reason why I said he’s the boy version of me is because he works for state government in child abuse cases. He studied social work in college and is basically my role model! He’s only a few years older than me, too. Anyways, we met C on chat and he agreed to learn more. When I called him, I was SO NERVOUS because I have never taught someone from the very beginning. C doesn’t know much about the Church but he’s from the south and is very familiar with religion although he is not involved in organized religion/doesn’t like organized religion. We taught him the Restoration (he said it was an interesting story) and at the end of the lesson, he asked me if this was the only true church on Earth. I was afraid I would offend him somehow so I told him that this was the original church Christ established Himself. He asked me the same question again but phrased it a bit differently this time. I hesitated a bit because I was so nervous since he had told us he doesn’t like organized religion and I was so afraid of offending him. Finally I told him, “Yes, I believe this is the only true church.” And then he erupted into enthusiasm, which is totally not what I was expecting! He was like, “Well that’s all I wanted to hear, sister!” He went on to tell me how I should just be totally confident and not be afraid of offending him or anyone else because of what I believe in. Whoa. It’s like my investigator is teaching me now. But seriously, I learn every day from my investigators! And I definitely learned a lot from talking to C. At the end of the lesson, Sister Cheng and I decided to just go for it and ask him if he would be baptized. And guess what….HE SAID YES! He has been reading the Book of Mormon every day and wants to see what church is like on Sunday. We haven’t set a date with him yet but he is just so great! I feel so blessed to be able to serve in such a special mission because not only do we get to meet and teach people from all around the world here at the Square, we also get to call and preach the gospel to literally all nations.

Anyways, my time is running out so I need to go! The weather is getting way colder out here and I’m freezing all the time. I’ve already started busting out all my winter clothes but I know it’s gonna get even colder. Anyways, I love you all and miss you all so much! I would share a scripture with you but I can’t think of one right now….but I want to encourage all the members to do missionary work and to fellowship all the investigators/new members in your branch/ward! That friendship and love they feel from you makes such a huge difference and it makes our jobs as missionaries a little easier!

Oh yeah, thanks to Aunt Mimi for sending me pictures and Asian snacks! And thanks to Andrea for sending me an acoustic Christian CD – I love it! And shout out to Piseth because he just wants one.

Love, Sister Olivia Ying

Pictures from the members' house for FHE last week!

Pictures from the members’ house for FHE last week!

Pictures from the members' house for FHE last week!

Sister Shoell – “Oh you are all beautiful!!!”

2013年 9月 26日,星期四

我每一次寫電郵的時候都沒有很多時間,可是我會拼命地用剩下的每一分鐘來寫我所能寫的。上週我們這裡的電話幾乎整個禮拜都出了故障,結果就是我們不能給我們大部分的慕道友打電話。不過我們廣場的電話終於被修好了,所以我們最近在忙著跟我們的慕道友聯絡。我有令人很高興的消息!瑞切爾,她就是我們在網上認識的一個慕道友,上個星期六接受洗禮了!這就是我的第一個洗禮,也是程姊妹的第一個。瑞切爾只是在這邊的大學新生,可是她真的是一個很有信心的美好榜樣。她加入教會的過程並不是簡單的,特別是因為她是她家庭中唯一的教友。第二條很好的消息就是我們下個月在加州又有一個洗禮會!我們也在網上認識這個慕道友,她叫肯德爾。我們在網上跟她聊天的時候發現到她和當地的傳教士上福音的課已經一年多了。不過因為她小時候是跟她的父母一樣一起信天主教的,所以她要受洗的決定就令她的父母不高興。我們昨天終於能打電話給她了,所以我們跟她講電話的時候,她告訴我們說她要接受洗禮!實際上,我們沒有教導她很多,可是我們聽到她終於有一個洗禮目標的消息就讓我們非常高興!雖然瑞切爾和肯德爾的年齡都比我小一點,但是她們的信心真的使我很驚訝。而且令我很感動的一件事請就是能夠看到跟我同齡的年輕人付出這麼大的努力來效法我們救主的榜樣。

我前幾天認識一個跟我很像的男孩。我們在網上跟他接觸,然後我們後來也跟他講電話。之所以說他跟我很像就是因為他在州政府工作,而且他專門跟虐兒個案打交道。他在讀大學的時候是主修社會學的。他基本上是我的榜樣!他只有比我大幾歲而已。總之,我們在網上認識他(名字叫科裡),並且他告訴我們他願意學習關於福音的更多事情。當我打電話給他的時候,我非常緊張,特別是因為我從來沒有從頭教導過一個慕道友。科裡對我們教會的信仰一點也不知道,可是因為他是來自美國南部,所以他對宗教的知識很熟悉。雖然他不參與也不喜歡任何有組織的宗教,但是他還是對學習福音感興趣。我們開始教導他關於福音的復興(他說我們跟他分享的就是一個有趣的故事而已)。我們教完他後,他就問我,相不相信這個教會是否世界上唯一真實的教會。我本來怕我想說的答案會得罪他,所以我跟他說這個教會是耶穌基督原來而他自己建立的教會。他又問我一個問題,他這個問題跟第一個問題很像,可是他這一次說得有點不一樣。因為他本來說他不喜歡有組織的宗教,所以我遲疑回答他的問題。我那個時候很怕我會冒犯他,不過我後來告訴他,“是的,我相信這個教會是世界上唯一真實的教會。”他突然間一聽到我的回答就馬上很高興。他這個反應並不是我所想像的!他說,“那就是我所想聽到的,謝謝姊妹!”他接著告訴我說我應該一直有十分的自信,而且他也說,我不應該因為我所相信的而怕得罪他或任何人。哇!就是好像我的慕道友在教導我。事實上,我每天都會從我的慕道友們身上學習到很多事情!我在跟科裡講電話時,真的學到許多事。在這個課程的結束前,程姊妹和我一起決定大膽地邀請他願不願意接受洗禮。你們猜怎麼著….他說,“願意”!他最近每天都會讀摩爾們經,而且他也想要在這個星期天去參加教會聚會。我們還沒有跟他定一個洗禮目標的日期,可是他真的很棒!我真的很感激我能在這個非常特別的傳道部服務。再說,我們在聖殿廣場不僅能跟來自世界各個角落的人接觸,而且我們也能打電話給各國各民來宣講福音。

我的時間快到了!我該走了!最近的天氣越來越冷。我冷死了!我已經開始穿我冬天的衣服。我知道不久後天氣就會變更冷了。我很想念和愛你們大家!我想要跟你們分享一段經文可是現在想不起一節來….不過我還是想要鼓勵所有的教友努力做傳教的工作,我也要鼓勵你們好好地跟支會或分會的慕道友和新教友做朋友。這樣的友誼和愛真的會幫助這些人很多,而且也會幫助我們傳教士做神的事工!

對了,謝謝咪咪阿姨寄給我的照片和亞洲式的小吃!謝謝安德樂寄給我的基督教音樂!還有,我要跟批瑟特說你好!

愛,

應姊妹

Leave a Reply

