Chapter XVII – Happy (Belated) Halloween! // 第十七篇 – 祝你們萬聖節快樂!

Friday, November 1, 2013

Hello everyone!

This has been a fun and busy week for us at Temple Square. First, the NuSkin Convention is finally over, which means all of the Asians have gone home! Seriously though, all of the Chinese, Japanese and Korean speaking sisters worked so hard. Our phones were constantly going off for Mandarin tours so the Chinese sisters all ended up doing a Mandarin tour every hour on the hour at the flagpole. We had the largest group show up at the Flagpole last Saturday – there were 98 of them! So Sister Pien (my cousin), Sister Liao (Sister Pien’s best friend from home actually), Sister May, and I took this humongous tour around Temple Square. They were all from Taiwan and they were the nicest Chinese group I had ever taken since I’ve been here. It may have helped that both Sister Liao and Sister Pien are from Taiwan and both live relatively near to where these visitors were from, that my parents were from Taiwan, and that we had Sister May with us. Seriously though, all of the Asians LOVE Sister May. They always want to take pictures with her because she’s so beautiful. Anyways, at the end of the tour, 24 of them referred! And the best part is that they are all in Taiwan which means we can teach them! I also had my fair share of not so easy Chinese tours. I had to lead a tour with 25 people from Beijing and it was a really hard tour for me, especially since I have a hard time understanding Chinese accents. Luckily, I had a Chinese sister with me (Sister  Guo from Taiwan, who is in her first transfer), otherwise I would have been terrified. But they were getting a little out of hand at one point in the tour – they were demanding so many things, upset that they couldn’t go into the temple, upset that the organist wasn’t playing the organ at the time they came, talking over one another, not really listening to me, and asking so many questions. I used to have Sister Cheng with me the last two transfers so she knew how to handle hard tours like these but this time, I had a first transfer sister with me and this was probably only her second or third large group Chinese tour. Finally, I interrupted them all (for those of you who know me, you know that I hate confrontation, so this was not easy for me….) and I felt prompted to testify of the importance of temples and eternal families. I also shared with them why I decided to come out on a mission. This was the scariest thing for me to do because #1 my Chinese is not fluent! and #2 I HATE CONFRONTATION AND TENSION. But after I testified of these things, they all became silent and stopped trying to argue with me and one another. At the end of the tour, more than half of them referred! I know that I definitely could not have done this without Heavenly Father on my side. As a side note, every time I take a Chinese tour, I always make Sister May pray with me that I can communicate with them fluently.

Anyways, I have an embarrassing story for you all. Like this pains me to share this story with you but I know you will all enjoy it so here it goes….so this week, we had to get flu shots. And I bawled. Like, not even weeping, but straight up bawling. BUT! I have an explanation for why I was bawling. I am deathly afraid of needles and shots. Sister May passed out the last time she got a shot before her mission and she even had a seizure when she got a blood test. We were not good support systems for one another. There were a ton of sisters lined up for the flu shot and some other sisters were freaking out while other sisters wanted to see the freaking out sisters get their shots. Anyways, all those crazy emotions from everyone around me eventually caused me to freak out. Sister May was about to get her shot but then she freaked out and started crying a bit and that finally set me off and then I started bawling. My cousin LOVES shots (she’s so weird) so she came to be my support system since Sister May was totally useless to me at this point. But all is well now. But the most embarrassing part of this story is that there are pictures of me crying! Enjoy. Yup, that’s my cousin trying to comfort me, and one of the senior couples is a licensed nurse so he administered the shots.

Okay, I hope you all had a good laugh. Anyways, I feel so lucky to serve here at Temple Square because this week, Elder and Sister Oaks came to speak to us as a mission! They talked to us about missionary work and how we really were picked to serve at such a special place. One thing Elder Oaks said that I’ll never forget is, “You were an inspiration to one of the 12 apostles to come serve at Temple Square.” I felt extremely humbled as Elder and Sister Oaks talked to us that day. And at the very end of the meeting, we got to shake Elder Oaks’ hand and hug Sister Oaks! I really feel so lucky to be able to serve here because not that many people have this opportunity to meet the apostles. Speaking of meeting apostles, Sister May and I also ran into Elder Craig Cardon from the 70. Since we do supplies, we get to go down to these secret tunnels and that is where we saw him. We didn’t get to talk to him but when he walked past us, I thought he looked really familiar. I had a strong feeling that he was on the 70 who gave a talk about how the Savior wants to forgive at the April 2013 General Conference. When I got back to the Square, I looked him up and I was right! I couldn’t remember his name at the time but I remembered what he looked like. I highly recommend you guys read that talk by him – it is one of my favorites!

One last reason why I feel so lucky to serve at Temple Square – we got to have a Halloween party last night! The Square closed at 5 pm and we got to watch Chronicles of Narnia as a mission. We also had dinner provided and we had some really good baked potatoes! Halloween is one of my favorite holidays and although I didn’t dress up for anything this year, I still had so much fun. Temple Square really is the best mission and we have the best mission presidency, too!

I hope you all had a fun and safe Halloween! Winter is fast approaching and apparently it’ll snow on Sunday. I’m excited for the snow but at the same time, I’m really cold. Anyways, the church is true, Heavenly Father loves you, Jesus Christ loves you, and I love you. Have a great week!

Love, Sister Olivia Ying

My cousin Sister Pien comforting me as I bawl my eyes out

My cousin Sister Pien comforting me as I bawl my eyes out

Flu shot!!!

Flu shot!!!

2013年 11月 1日,星期五

大家好!

對我們在聖殿廣場的姊妹來說,這個星期又好玩又忙。首先,那個NuSkin的大會終於結束了,結果呢,那些來自亞洲的一大群遊客都回家了。不瞞你說,上個星期在這兒的全部會說中文,日語,和韓文的姊妹們都工作得很辛苦。我們的電話鈴聲不斷地響起了,原因就是為了通知我們帶普通話團參觀。我們這些會說中文的姊妹們後來決定在旗杆旁邊每小時地帶普通話團。上個禮拜六在旗杆那邊,最大的一群中文團來到…. 一共有九十八個遊客! 邊姊妹(我的表妹),寥姊妹(邊姊妹最好的朋友。她們都是從同樣的家鄉),以及梅姊妹和我帶這個非常大的團體參觀聖殿廣場。他們統統都來自台灣,而且他們是我來到這邊開始帶團以來,最友f善的中文團。也許因為寥姊妹和邊姊妹也是從台灣來的,而且她們以前住的地方離那些遊客的家很近,並且我的父母也來自台灣,還有當時梅姊妹也跟我們在一起,所以呢,我覺得這些事情都幫助我們很多。所有的亞洲人都超喜歡梅姊妹。他們總是想要跟她一起拍照,因為她真的很漂亮。反正,參觀完之後,那群其中的二十四個遊客交回了回條!令人很興奮的一件事情就是他們都是從台灣來的,所以我們可以教導他們!我也遇到一些不是很容易的團體。我有一次得帶二十五個來自北京的遊客參觀。對我來說,帶這個團體不簡單,特別是因為我不太習慣聽大陸的口音。我那天碰運了,因為當天我恰好有一個中國姊妹跟我在一起(郭姊妹來自台灣。這個搬家期是她的第一個),不然的話,我那個時候非常緊張。他們在參觀時,有一次情況亂七八糟的。他們的要求太過分了,比如,他們很生氣不能進去聖殿,他們也很生氣沒有人在彈風琴,而且他們一直提出很多問題,可是常常不聽也不理我。在我的第一和第二個搬家期我有程姊妹跟我在一起,所以我以前每次靠著她處理這樣不容易的團體。但是這次我的同伴是新來的,而且當時是她的第二或第三次跟一大群中文團打交道。我終於插嘴這些遊客(如果你真的認識我的話,你就知道我非常不喜歡衝突。所以呢,我好不容易這麼做),我那一刻受到靈感使我向這群團體見證聖殿和永恆家庭的重要性。我也跟他們分享我為甚麼決定去傳教的原因。那個時候我非常緊張,一來我的中文沒有那麼流利,二來我真的討厭衝突。不過我跟他們見證這點之後,他們突然間平靜下來了,而且他們也停止抱怨和爭論。參觀完之後,他們大半也交回了回條! 我知道我當時若沒有天父在我旁邊給於我協助的話,我肯定沒有辦法這麼做。在另一方面,我每次帶中文團時,我總是會請梅姊妹跟我一起做禱告,為了請求神讓我流利地跟中國人溝通。

我也想要跟你們分享一個好囧的小故事。這個故事真的使我感覺到不舒服,可是因為我知道你們會覺得這件事很好笑,所以我還會跟你們分享一下。這個星期我不得不去打流感疫苗。我哭得很厲害!不是我稍微得流淚,而是我哭泣得不得了。但是我這個狼狽的樣子當然有原因。我超級懼怕打針。梅姊妹上次打針,就是在她去傳教前,打針使她昏倒了,而且她做驗血時,發生了癲癇發作。在這樣的情況下,我們完全不能互相安慰彼此。那天有一大堆姊妹們在排隊等打針,有些姊妹坐立不安,同時有些姊妹享受看那些坐立不安的姊妹們打針。總之,在這樣的氣氛下,我感覺到的不對勁情緒就使我開始坐立不安。梅姊妹打針時,緊張起來了,而且她也哭了很多。看她這個樣子就讓我像她一樣緊張起來,也使我開始哭得很厲害。我的表妹喜愛打針(她非常奇怪),所以那個時候她是因為梅姊妹在那一刻沒有甚麼幫助,而來安慰我。現在一切都好。我覺得這個故事最囧的部份就是,在我哭泣時,其他姊妹們拍了幾張照片!享受吧!在那機張照片裡面就是我和我的表妹,她在安慰我,還有一位年長的傳教士在做打針(他是一個有許可證的護士)。

我希望你們覺得以上的故事很好笑。反正,能夠在聖殿廣場服務真的使我感覺到好幸運,特別是因為上個禮拜鄔克司長老和鄔克司姊妹來到這邊向我們這些姊妹做個演講!他們跟我們談到的事情就是有關於傳教的事工,以及我們被召喚去服務的地方真的很特別。鄔克司長老所說的一件難忘的事情就是,“妳們確實是通過一位十二使徒所受到的啓示而來到聖殿廣場服務的。”鄔克司長老姊妹那天跟我們分享的事情令我感到謙卑。那個聚會完畢之後,我們都有機會跟鄔克司長老握個手,也有機會擁抱鄔克司姊妹!我真的覺得我好幸運能在這邊服務,尤其是因為不多人有這樣認識使徒的機會。說到認識使徒而言,梅姊妹和我上個星期碰到克雷格克雷頓長老,他就是一個七十員之一。既然我們是負責供應品的協調,我們常常有機會到在地下的一些隧道去。所以呢,我們有一天剛好在那兒碰到他。我們卻沒有機會跟他聊天,但是他走過去時,我覺得他看起來非常面熟。當天我有一種很強烈的感覺,而且這個感覺使我想到他也許是在2013年四月份總會大會的一個演講者。我感覺他貌似所做的演講是有關於來自救主的寬恕。我一回到廣場時,就馬上去查一下,然後我發現我想對了!當時我想不起他名字來,不過我還是記得他的貌相。我十分推薦你們閱讀他做的那個演講。它就是我最喜歡的之一!

還有讓我覺得我好幸運來到聖殿廣場服務的一件事情。那件就是我們昨天晚上辦個萬聖節的派對!廣場在昨天晚上五點就關門了,所以剩下的晚上我們這些全部的姊妹都有機會看纳尼亚传奇。我們那天晚上也有一個聚餐。我們吃了非常好吃的烤土豆!萬聖節是我最喜歡的節日之一,再說,雖然今年我可沒有打扮,但是我還是覺得很好玩。對我來說,聖殿廣場真的是世界上最好的傳道部,而且我們也有世界上最好的傳道部會長團!

我希望你們大家的萬聖節都過得又好玩又安全。冬天快到了!聽說這個星期天會下雪。我很期待,但是我同時也非常冷。總之,這個教會是真實的,天父愛你,耶穌基督愛你,還有我也愛你!祝你們一週愉快!

愛,

應姊妹

Leave a Reply

