Chapter XVIII – The Enabling Power of the Atonement // 第十八篇 – 贖罪的力量

Friday, November 8, 2013

Hello everyone!

I have about 12 minutes to write this email so this will have to be a quick one. Here are just some highlights of what happened this week.

We had our first snowfall of the year! It started to snow a little bit on Sunday morning but later that night, it started to come down a lot harder. Sister May and I ran outside to play in it for a little bit. The next morning, we woke up to snow EVERYWHERE! All of the sisters were really excited since it was their first time seeing snow. But it only snowed that one day and it’s back up in the 50s now.

We had a mission meeting today and we were called to repentance hardcore. Our mission president and the APs talked to us about being exactly obedient and I felt pretty guilty. There were so many things I thought of that I needed to improve on. I think we all felt guilty, or at least I hope we all did. As missionaries, we may not be committing huge noticeable sins but that does not mean we are perfect. We make mistakes every single day and often times we don’t even notice them. It was a good wake up call and I’m really grateful because they want to hold all of the missionaries here to a higher standard.

We also had an opportunity to fast this week and Sister May and I decided that we wanted to fast to understand repentance and the Atonement more. I really feel like our fast and prayers were answered because this whole week, in each meeting, they talked about repentance and the Atonement. During Relief Society, we talked about the enabling power of the Atonement. The Atonement is something I don’t think I will ever fully understand but something that I will always be grateful for. Just think about this – Heavenly Father loves us so much that He was willing to send His Only Son down to Earth to be sacrificed for us, and Jesus Christ loves us so much that He was willing to satisfy the demands of justice for us. The Atonement is not only something we use for repentance but also for us to rely on to become stronger. I have seen myself do things I never thought imaginable – talk and bear my testimony to complete random strangers, take a large group tour in Chinese, teach over the phone, meet Antis, stay awake and on my feet for 16 hours, the list goes on and on. But I do know that I have been able to do this because of the Atonement. Christ has already paid the price for us and we just need to trust in Him and He will give us the strength to do things.

Someone said this during district meeting as we were discussing repentance and the Atonement and I loved it so I wanna share it with you guys – “When Satan reminds you of your past, remind him of your future.” We all need to repent but once we’ve truly repented, then just let it go. Sometimes the hardest thing is to forgive yourself. But remember that Christ has already suffered for us so that we don’t have to.

Anyways, I love you all and I hope you have a great week!

Love, Sister Olivia Ying

Sister May and I!

Sister May and I!

Sister May made a slushie out of snow…

2013年 11月 8日,星期五

大家好!

我只有大概十二分鐘寫這個電郵,所以這個星期的信會比較短一點。以下就是這個星期發生的一些有意思的事情。

我們上個禮拜有今年第一場雪!星期天早上時,下了一點雪,但是那天晚上就下了很多雪。梅姊妹和我一起跑到外面去,在雪地玩一玩。隔天早上,到處都是雪!當天有很多非常興奮的姊妹們,特別是因為那天是她們第一次看雪。不過只是在那天有下雪,而天氣已經再變暖了(現在是五十幾度左右)。

我們今天舉行了一個傳道部大會。在大會時,我們都被勸告悔改。我們的傳道部會長和他的兩個助理跟我們談到完全服從的重要性。聽到這一點使我感到很內疚。那個時候我一直想到很多需要改善的事情。我覺得每個姊妹都這樣感到罪惡感,或者說,我至少希望我們都有那種感覺。雖然我們這些傳教士並不會犯很大或明顯的罪,但是這個意思可不是我們是完美的。我們每天都會犯錯,而且我們往往不會意識到這些錯誤。對我來說,今天聽到的都是一種緊要的提醒,而且我很感激能夠參加那個大會。我們的領袖想要幫助我們遵守一種更高的標準。

這個星期我們也有機會禁食。梅姊妹和我決定為了更了解悔改和贖罪的意義而禁食。我真的感覺到我們的禁食和祈禱都使我們受到了答案。之所以這麼說,是因為我們整個禮拜,在每個會議中,我們每次都提到悔改和贖罪。在婦女會時,我們談到來自贖罪的力量。我覺得在這一生中我都不會完全明白贖罪,但是我對贖罪永遠都會抱著感謝。讓你們想一想,天父多麼愛我們每個人,甚至祂願意派遣祂的獨生子來到世上為我們每個人犧牲祂的性命。而且,耶穌基督多麼愛我們每個人,甚至祂願意為我們滿足公道的要求。贖罪不僅是為了幫助我們悔改的,而我們也是能靠著它來變成更堅強的。我體驗到自己做我以前覺得不可思議的事,比如說,跟陌生人分享見證,帶一群很大的中文團參觀,在電話上教福音,跟反教者打交道,不斷地工作十六個小時,等等。我知道只是因為贖罪帶給我的力量使我能做這些事情。耶穌基督已經為我們付了代價,所以我們只需要信賴祂,那麼祂就會賜給我們力量來做祂的旨意。

在地區會議我們談到悔改和贖罪時,有人說了一句我非常喜歡的話。我想要跟你們分享以下,“當撒旦使你想起過去的罪時,就讓他想到你美好的未來。”我們都需要悔改,但是我們真心誠意地悔改之後,我們就要義無反顧。有時候最難的就是寬恕自己。要記住,因為耶穌基督已經為我們受難,所以我們不用受苦。

我愛你們大家!祝你們一週愉快!

愛,

應姊妹

Leave a Reply

