Chapter XXIV – One Brutal Week // 第二十四篇 – 非常辛苦的一週

Friday, December 20, 2013

This is going to be a really fast email because I have no time left (as usual). But the reason why this was a brutal week was because I had THE MOST intense stomach pains of my entire life this whole last week. The pain actually started last Thursday and never went away. It wasn’t something I ate, it wasn’t the flu, I never threw up. I just had this horrible pain that just wouldn’t go away. It was so bad to the point that I was in a wheelchair because I couldn’t walk anymore and they sent me home for 2 days. I was finally able to see the doctor on Tuesday, but he was not really sure what was going on either. He guessed acid, even though I didn’t show the same symptoms as someone who had acid. He gave me medicine which actually made my stomach hurt again. My roommate ended up giving me a quick 15 minute massage (she’s a licensed masseuse) and I felt so much better the next morning. My stomach didn’t hurt for the first time in a week, even though my appetite wasn’t back yet. I still don’t have much of an appetite (I lost a TON of weight this last week), but I’m slowly recovering.

There were a couple good things that happened though! First, we had a snow day yesterday because the weather was so bad, so we all just went home and got to relax! That was nice. Next, when I called my investigator to reschedule our appointment because of the snow day, he told me he was getting baptized THIS SATURDAY. TOMORROW MORNING! I was totally shocked by that because his baptismal date wasn’t set until January and he has a history of pushing his baptismal date back, not earlier! I’m calling him later tonight to see how he’s doing and to see if I can help him with any last minute things, but I’m so excited! Sister Cheng actually was teaching him before and she transferred him to me when she went outbound. I love how we’re still working as “companions”, even though she’s on the other side of the country.

Anyways, I’m already out of time but I just wanted to tell you all Merry Christmas! I hope you all will take the time to think about the true meaning of Christmas and why we celebrate it – our Savior. Stay safe everyone and happy holidays! I love and miss you all.

Love, Sister Olivia Ying

Snow day!

Snow day!

Sister May and I

Sister May and I

Sister May made cookies on snow day!

Sister May made cookies on snow day!

So much snow!!

So much snow!!

Temple Square closed because of the snow!

Temple Square closed because of the snow!

2013年 12月 20日,星期五

我今天要寫的信會很短,就是因為我沒什麼時間(跟往常一樣)。這週是多麼的辛苦,是因為最近的 整個禮拜我的肚子不舒服的不得了。我的肚子上個禮拜四就開始痛起來。這個痛苦的來源並不是我吃的,也不是流感,我一點都沒有吐。我的肚子不斷地感到非常疼。這個肚子不舒服的問題變得更厲害,甚至我坐著輪椅,因為走路太麻煩了。後來我的傳導部會長告訴我回家休息兩天。我禮拜二終於能去看病,但是他也不太清楚我的病狀是什麼。雖然我的病狀並不像是因為胃酸而發生的,但是他還猜想就是胃酸使我不舒服。他給我藥吃,不過那種藥讓我的肚子感到比較痛。我的一個室友後來給我十五分鐘的按摩(她是個有許可證的女按摩師),結果我隔天的早上感到好多了。雖然我那個時候還沒有什麼胃口,但是當天是整個禮拜的第一次我沒感到疼痛。我上週瘦了很多,可是我在慢慢地恢復健康中。

這周也有些發生的好事情!第一,昨天是下雪日,這個意思就是,因為昨天的天氣特別不好,所以我們都回家休息。很好玩!第二,在我打電話給我的一個慕道友來跟他再約定時間(因為下雪日的關係)時,他告訴我說他這個禮拜六要接受洗禮!聽到這一點使我非常驚訝,就是因為他的洗禮目標本來是一月份,而且他常常會把他的洗禮日期改到晚點,不會早點!我今天晚上打算再打給他來看看他怎麼樣,而看看他有沒有事我可以幫忙的。我很興奮!程姐妹以前教導他,但是她被調走之前就把他交給我。雖然程姐妹現在是在美國的另一邊,但是我感覺我們倆還是像同伴團一樣。

我的時間到了!聖誕節快樂!我希望你們大家都能抽空來想一想聖誕節真正的意義,也就是我們的救主。祝你們一切好!我愛和想念你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

