Chapter XXV – Christmas as a Missionary! // 第二十五篇 – 傳教士的聖誕節

Friday, December 27, 2013

This has been such a fun week because it was Christmas, which is my favorite holiday ever! First off, I just wanna thank everyone who sent me packages! You are all the best and everything will be eaten/put to good use. And I will definitely be sharing snacks with other sisters here. Thanks again! I will eventually get caught up with writing you all back as well.

Last Saturday, we got to eat dinner at a member’s house and it was so nice to be able to be in an actual house for the first time in months. I was really hoping that they would have a cat or dog in their home but they didn’t. But we still had lots of fun at their house. We sang Christmas songs and just talked about family Christmas traditions (which made me realize that my family doesn’t really have any…that needs to change).

On Christmas Eve, the Square closed at 5 and we had a mission party! Cafe Rio catered our dinner (SO YUMMY!) and then we watched a movie about Christ’s birth. I think it was called The Nativity Story or something like that. I really love Christmas but I think this one has been the most meaningful to me since we get to focus on our Savior so much. After the movie, we went on a little walk around Temple Square. The senior couples and mission presidency were dressed as characters from Christ’s birth such as shepherds, a Roman soldier, angels, etc. It was both fun and spiritual and it helped us remember the true meaning of Christmas even more.

The next day, we got to call home!!!! So I got to talk to my family and my cat. Yes, he meowed over the phone so I consider that talking with him. The Square closed at 5 pm again and we had another Christmas party! They provided dinner for us once again and we watched another Christmas movie called “Christmas for a Dollar.” It’s a cute and cheesy movie. Then, Santa Claus came to visit. It was actually Elder Creer, one of the senior couples that served here and went home a couple months ago. He is the BEST (and craziest) Santa Claus ever! We were all really excited and happy to see him. He is the only one that is allowed to hug the sisters here haha. Our mission got us stockings and they filled them with all sorts of different presents that were perfect for missionaries! Such as notebooks, pens, lotion, hand sanitizer, toothpaste, etc. After that, we watched another movie, “Happy Feet,” and then we called it a night.

This last week, I called one of my past investigators to wish him a merry Christmas. Sister Cheng and I used to teach him twice a week but then one day he told us he didn’t want to learn anymore and that broke my heart. I have been waiting for the past two months to have an excuse to call him and unfortunately, he didn’t answer, so I just left a voicemail for him. BUT THEN!!!!! He emailed me a couple days later to tell me he got my message and that it made his day! I’m not sure if he’s interested in learning about the gospel again, but this is the first contact I’ve had with him in months and so I’m really happy to hear from him.

Anyways, I must be off now. I love you all and miss you very much. Happy New Year!

Love, Sister Olivia Ying

P.S. I find out next Thursday if I go outbound. I’ve kinda got a feeling that I am…..they send out a ton of sisters after Christmas since the Square isn’t busy after Christmas. We’ll find out soon!

Cafe Rio!!!!

Cafe Rio!!!!

Had to wear my ugly Xmas sweater

Had to wear my ugly Xmas sweater

Elder Creer/Santa and President Gillette

Elder Creer/Santa and President Gillette

Jeremy's present!

Jeremy’s present!

LOOK AT WHAT ANDREA SENT ME

LOOK AT WHAT ANDREA SENT ME

The lights!

The lights!

Temple Square lights

Temple Square lights

2013年 12月 27日,星期五

這週特別好玩,因為我們剛剛過聖誕節了,也就是我最喜歡的節日!首先,我想要感謝每一個寄給我包裹的人!你們都很棒!我答應我會把所有的東西吃掉或好好地用。我也會跟其他的姐妹分享我收到的小吃。謝謝你們!我也會拼命地回信給你們大家!

我們上個禮拜六去一個教友的家來吃晚飯。能夠在一個真正的家裡面打發時間使我感覺好爽。我去他們家之前,一直希望他們會有一隻貓或狗,但是他們沒有。不過我們還是在他們的家好好地玩一玩。我們唱了聖誕節的歌和分享我們家庭的一些聖誕節傳統(我發現了我的家庭沒有任何特別的傳統….這需要改變)。

在聖誕節前夕,聖殿廣場晚上五點就關門了,然後我們舉行了一個傳道部的晚會!里約咖啡(一種墨西哥的餐館)提供我們的晚餐(非常好吃!),然後我們一起看了一部關於基督誕生的電影。我想這部叫做耶穌基督的誕生故事。我每年都超喜歡過聖誕節,但是我覺得今年的聖誕節比其他的更有意思,特別是因為我們這些傳教士有很多機會貫注在我們的救主上。看完那部電影之後,我們在聖殿廣場走一走。我們傳道部的年長傳教士和會長團穿了像耶穌基督誕生的牧羊人,羅馬軍人,天使,什麼的一樣。在這樣的氣氛下,我感覺很好玩,也感覺很有靈性。他們幫助我們更加記得聖誕節真正的意義。

我們隔天都打電話給我們的家人!!!! 我當天有機會跟我的家庭和我的貓講話!對,我聽到牠叫的聲音,所以我覺得那就算跟牠講話。那天聖殿廣場又在晚上五點關門了,然後我們又辦了一個派對!我們的傳道部再提供晚飯,而且我們也一起看了另外一部電影,叫做“一美元的聖誕節。”這部電影很可愛。後來聖誕老公公來拜訪我們。那個聖誕老公公就是克裏長老(他以前在這邊當過年長的傳教士)。他是最棒和最誇張的聖誕老公公!能夠見到他讓我們非常興奮。他是唯一的可以給我們這些姐妹擁抱的男士。我們的傳道部也給我們聖誕節的襪子,而這些襪子被很多不同的小禮物塞滿了。對我們這些傳教士來說,這些禮物都是完美的!我們的襪子裡面包括很多本子,筆,潤膚霜,洗劑,牙膏,什麼的。然後,我們再看了一部電影,叫做“快樂的大腳。”看完之後,我們就回家了。

我這個星期打電話給我以前教導的一個慕道友來跟他說聖誕節快樂。程姊妹和我以前每個禮拜兩次教他福音,但是他有一天突然告訴我們說他不想繼續聽福音的課程,而那就使我的心破碎了。我們最近的兩個月一直等待機會打給他,不過不巧的事情就是他沒有接電話,所以我只好留言給他。不過,過了兩天他就發個電郵給我說,他收到了我的留言,而它讓他很快樂。我還不太確定他要不要再學福音的課,可是這就是幾個月以來的第一次我跟他聯絡,所以我還是很高興。

我需要走了。我很想念和愛你們大家!新年快樂!

愛,
應姐妹

還有,我下個禮拜四就會知道我會不會被調走。我感覺我應該會離開聖殿廣場。我們的傳道部會長在新年的時候,平常會把很多姐妹派出去,因為過聖誕節之後,聖殿廣場比較沒有人。我很快就會知道!

One response to “Chapter XXV – Christmas as a Missionary! // 第二十五篇 – 傳教士的聖誕節

Leave a Reply

