Chapter XXIX – Unity // 第二十九篇 – 團結

Monday, January 27, 2014

Okay so I have about three minutes to write a very quick email. I don’t have as much time as I get at Temple Square to email here. But this week, I taught a few lessons and only one was with an English speaker. Yup, the rest were with Chinese students, all from China. And it has been such an amazing experience! I LOVE teaching the Chinese students. When I was at Temple Square, I would run away from the Chinese people because they scared me but now I love teaching them. They really don’t know much about Jesus Christ or Heavenly Father and it is such a blessing for me to share my testimony with them constantly. Although religion is something very new to them, they are so ready to learn and are so willing to pray and see if the things we teach them are true.

The branch I serve in is small but they are all so united with one another. Everyone is working towards missionary work and they try so hard to welcome everyone into the branch family. It reminds me of our own Chinese branch back home. It really amazes me though because the majority of the branch are all students. Some are undergrads but the majority are getting their PhDs or their master’s. They are such a great example to me because they sacrifice so much time out of their studies to do the Lord’s work. Every lesson we taught this week, a member has been present for them. It’s so helpful to have members help us with this work because they can fellowship our investigators and help them feel more welcomed. The members have so much faith that the Lord will bless them and help them with school as long as they put Him first.

I hope all is well back in sunny California! It is FREEZING here. We had an opportunity to contact on campus and stand outside to proselyte to other students this past week and I think I literally felt the beginning of frostbite on my toes. I have never been so cold in my life. It’s supposed to be in the negatives too this week. But I’m doing well, despite the cold! I’m hanging in there 🙂 I love you and miss you all.

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

One of the sisters I was with in Moon, that first week I was here

One of the sisters I was with in Moon, that first week I was here

The other sister I was with in Moon

The other sister I was with in Moon

We have lots of squirrels here

We have lots of squirrels here

2014年 1月 27日,星期一

我只有大概三分鐘的時間來寫這個很短的信。我在這裡寫信的時間比我在聖殿廣場的少多了。不過這週我們教了幾個課程,只有一個是英文的。對了,其他的課都是跟來自中國的學生分享的。他們都是從中國大陸來的。對我來說,能夠教導這些人是一個美好的經驗!我非常喜歡教導那些中國的學生。我以前在聖殿廣場時,一看到中國人就想跑掉,就是因為那個時候我有點怕跟他們講話。但是我現在超級喜歡教導他們!他們對耶穌基督和天父的知識不多,所以我覺得能跟他們分享我對神的見證是一個很大的祝福。雖然宗教對他們是有點陌生的,可是他們都十分準備好學習福音,而且他們都願意做祈禱來知道我們跟他們所分享的是否真實的。

我在這邊服務的分會很小,但是他們都會團結地合作。他們統統都會努力推動神的事工,而且他們也會好心地跟新來的人交流和幫助他們加入這個分會的家庭。這個分會使我常常想到在我家的中國分會。他們令我很驚訝,就是因為這個分會的大部份成員都是學生。有的是本科生,但是多半在讀博士和碩士學位。他們都是我的榜樣,特別是因為他們雖然非常忙,但還會犧牲很多時間來做神的工作。我們這週教導的每個課程都有個成員在出席。能夠有他們在幫助我們教導福音真的是一個很大的祝福,就是因為他們會跟我們的慕道友交朋友。我知道他們使我們的慕道友感到比較舒服。這些成員都十分相信只要他們把主放在第一位,祂就會祝福他們在每個方面,也包括學業這方面。

我希望你們在加州都很好!這邊非常冷!我們這週又有一個機會在校園接觸人,那個時候我冷死了!我的腳趾差點被凍傷了!這週的溫度是華氏零度以下!但是我還是很快樂!我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

3 responses to “Chapter XXIX – Unity // 第二十九篇 – 團結

Leave a Reply

