Chapter XXX – My First Baptism! // 第三十篇 – 我的第一個洗禮會!

Monday, February 3, 2014

This has been such a wonderful weekend! R was baptized on Saturday and this was the very first time I actually got to see my investigator get baptized. I’ve had four people I taught at Temple Square get baptized but I was never able to be at their actual baptismal service so it was such a huge blessing for me to see this for the very first time. He’s also my first Chinese investigator that I taught that was baptized! The baptismal service was amazing. Half of it was in Chinese (I even gave the talk in Chinese!) but everyone said they could still feel the Spirit so strongly, regardless of the fact that no one understood Chinese. I was so happy, I wanted to cry. I never understood that before but now I totally do. Sunday was awesome as well. R was confirmed and received the gift of the Holy Ghost and X, a Chinese recent convert, passed the sacrament for the very first time! I just feel so blessed to be a part of this amazing work and to see the Lord’s Hand in my life every day.

This past week was Chinese New Year (Happy Chinese New Year, by the way!), so we didn’t have many lessons. The majority of our investigators are from China so they were all out of town to celebrate the New Year. We got to spend a lot of time with the branch members though this past week through Family Home Evening and Break the Fast. The branch members are awesome! They all work so hard to help us missionaries and many of them attend our lessons so that they can fellowship our investigators. They are all so welcoming and although there is often a language barrier with our Chinese investigators, the branch tries really hard to reach out and help them feel welcomed.

This past week, I have been reflecting a lot on my own life and how God truly has a plan for each and every one of us. He’s involved in the daily details of our lives yet we often fail to realize that. Sometimes, we hit hard trials in our lives and our first thought is, “Why me?” But we need to remember that we are never alone. We have our Savior walking with us every step of the way and we can pray for strength. And there’s always something to learn from our trials. Instead of thinking “Why me?” and being angry at God, we should ask, “What can I learn from this?” I came across this scripture in Alma 1:25 this morning during personal study that reminded me to have patience and to remain steadfast. As long as we are faithful and obedient to the commandments, we have nothing to worry about.

“Now this was a great trial to those that did stand fast in the faith; nevertheless, they were steadfast and immovable in keeping the commandments of God, and they bore with patience the persecution which was heaped upon them.”

I hope you all have a wonderful week! It’s getting a little warmer out here (it was even 40 degrees and raining the other day!), much to my excitement. It’s kinda sad how I think 40 degrees is warm now though. Oh well. One of the branch president’s counselors told me that fireflies come out in June but I won’t be here for that! 😦 So sad. I’m gonna start praying that they come earlier this year so that I can see them for the first time. Oh yeah, did you guys know that the whole Groundhog Day event happens here in Pennsylvania? Well, it’s in a city like two hours away, but I never knew that. I heard he saw his shadow though, so I think that means there’s like six more weeks of winter. Anyways, I hope you all have a wonderful and safe week! I love and miss you all.

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

My first baptism that I got to witness!

My first baptism that I got to witness!

Asian invasion!

Asian invasion!

2014年 2月 3日,星期一

這週過得非常好!理查德上個禮拜六接受洗禮!那天看到他受洗,是我第一次親眼見到我的一個慕道友接受洗禮。我在聖殿廣場那邊幫助四個人受洗,但是那個時候我沒有機會參加他們的洗禮會。所以呢,能夠參加理查德的洗禮會真的是一個很大的祝福。他也是我的第一個來自中國的新歸信者!他洗禮會的氣氛真美。雖然一半是用中文來舉行,還有大部分的人都不懂中文(我也有機會用中文來做演講!),但是大家都說他們還是能感覺到聖靈。我那天感到超級快樂,甚至我幾乎哭起來。我以前不清楚這種感覺是什麼,但是我那天徹底體會到。禮拜天也過得很好!當天理查德被證實和接受聖靈的恩賜,而且鑫(他是個來自中國的一個新歸信者)那天傳遞聖餐,就是他的第一次這麼做!能夠有這麼多機會來推動神的事工的確使我感覺到很幸福。我很感激能在我每天的生活中,看到神所伸出的手。

因為上個禮拜是春節(新年快樂!),所以我們所教導的課不多。我們遇到這個問題的原因,就是因為我們大部分的慕道友都是從中國來的,結果他們都出去別的地方過新年。不過我們上週有很多機會跟我們分會的成員見面。我和我的同伴參加了他們的家人家庭晚會和開齋的聚餐。我們分會的成員都很棒!他們都會付出很多努力來幫助我們這些傳教士。為了跟我們的慕道友交流,他們常常也會參加我們的課程。雖然我們的慕道友大部分都是中國人,而我們的成員跟他們有一個語言障礙,但是我們的成員還是會很熱情的歡迎每一個慕道友。

這週我花了很多時間來反省。我想到了神爲我們每一個人所預備的計劃。祂每天都會眷顧我們,而且祂很會注意我們生活中的每個細節,但是我覺得我們有時候會忘記這點。我們有時候會遇到一種很難的考驗,而想到,“為甚麼是我?”可是我們都需要記得,我們永遠不會單獨的。我們都有一個救主,祂會一步一步走在我們的旁邊。我們隨時隨地都可以做祈禱來祈求神給我們力量。並且,每個考驗都有特定的原因。碰到困難時,我們不應該問自己,“為甚麼是我?”反而我們應該問的是,“我從這個考驗可以學習什麼事情?”我今天早上在我個人研讀的時候,讀到一節讓我想到耐心的經文,就是阿爾瑪書第一章,第二十五節。只要我們有信心,遵守神的誡命,我們不會有任何煩惱。

“這對信心堅定的人而言是一大考驗;然而,他們穩固不移,遵守神的誡命,耐心忍受加諸他們身上的迫害。”

我希望你們一切都好!這邊的天氣越來越溫暖(昨天的溫度就是四十度,也有下雨!),這使我很興奮。但是我覺得很可憐的事情也就是四十度現在算溫暖。我們分會會長團的一個諮理告訴我說,六月份時,螢火蟲就會出來,可是到時候我不會在這裡! 😦 好倒霉!我要禱告來祈求它們早一點出來,這樣我能看到它們。對了,你們知道那個土撥鼠日就是在這邊發生的嗎?其實,它是在另外一個離這裡大概兩小時的城市。我沒意識到這點。我聽過他見到那個土撥鼠的影子,所以這個意思就是冬天還有六個禮拜。祝你們一週愉快!我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

