Chapter XXXI – Answers to Prayers // 第三十一篇 – 祈禱的答案

Monday, February 10, 2014

Hello everyone! This past week was pretty cold. We got a lot of snow and even some freezing rain! I’m hanging in there, but I won’t lie – I can’t wait for some California sunshine again. Now that Chinese New Year is out of the way, we were able to meet up with a lot of our investigators! We had seven lessons with investigators, a lesson with R, our recent convert, and two lessons with members who needed some uplifting. It’s been a busy week for sure! This next coming week will be busy too – we actually have four back-to-back lessons lined up for Thursday already. This past week, we also found three new investigators! They are all students from China with very limited knowledge of religion at all. It can be a little hard to teach them about the gospel since we have to start from scratch with them, but it’s been a very cool experience.

Since I’ve been here in State College, I’ve had a few questions about the missionary work around here since it’s so different than Temple Square. There, we’re so used to being on the go constantly and here, it’s just….different. We’re definitely busy here but there were some things that made me think, “Is this an effective use of our missionary time?” I had mentioned this concern to my companion when I first got here but she said that that was just how things were done around here. I didn’t want to make her feel like I was trying to take over “her area” since I’m new so instead, I started praying and asking Heavenly Father to help me feel like I was using my missionary time more wisely. This past week, we had a meeting with Justin, our branch mission leader and at the very end of the meeting, he said he had a couple things he wanted to clear up. He ended up resolving two of my concerns regarding missionary work. Literally. I just know that Heavenly Father is aware of each and everyone of us and He really does answer prayers through different means, whether it be through the scriptures, feelings, or through other people.

I hope you all have a wonderful week! I miss and love you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Oh P.S…..they are starting to get translating equipment for sacrament meeting and they’ve asked me to start translating the talks in Chinese for the Chinese people. Luckily another Chinese recent convert will help me with that so I’m not totally alone!

Pennsylvania skies

Pennsylvania skies

A rare sunny day

A rare sunny day

Me and Sister Moss. It started to snow a lot yesterday

Me and Sister Moss. It started to snow a lot yesterday

We had some freezing rain this week. Check out this block of ice!

We had some freezing rain this week. Check out this block of ice!

Campus!

Campus!

Left to right: Sister Romero (Colorado), Sister Smith (Utah), Sister Washburn (companion, Utah), me, Sister Moss (Oregon), and Sister Blake (Oregon). We serve with Sister Moss and Sister Blake in the YSA branch and the other sisters are in the family ward

Left to right: Sister Romero (Colorado), Sister Smith (Utah), Sister Washburn (companion, Utah), me, Sister Moss (Oregon), and Sister Blake (Oregon). We serve with Sister Moss and Sister Blake in the YSA branch and the other sisters are in the family ward

 2014年 2月 10日,星期一

大家好!這個禮拜比較冷一點。下了很多雪,也下了些凍雨!我還是能忍受,但是不瞞你說,我真的等不及享受加州那邊美好的天氣。新年終於過了,所以我們這週有機會跟我們許多的慕道友見面。我們教了七個慕道友的課程,也教了理查德(我們的新歸信者),還有教了一些成員,他們目前需要在靈性方面很多鼓勵。我們這週非常忙!下週也會很忙。我們在週四那天已經定了四個連續的課。這個禮拜我們也找到了三個新的慕道友!他們都是來自中國的大學生,而且他們對宗教根本沒有什麼知識。因為我們需要跟他們從頭開始教導福音,所以我有時候覺得教導他們很困難。但是我還是覺得能夠教導他們是一個很酷的經驗。

自從我到州立學院以來,我對這邊的傳教方式有些問題。我發覺到這裡的風格跟聖殿廣場那邊的完全不一樣。我在那裡習慣忙忙碌碌地工作…. 這邊有點不一樣。我的意思並不是我們在這邊不忙,可是有時候我在這裡會問自己,”我們現在是不是在有效地用我們傳教的時間?” 我剛來這裡時,有一次跟我的同伴提出這個問題,但是她告訴我說這邊就是這樣子。我真的不想讓她感覺我要占上風,特別是因為我是新來的。所以呢,我開始做祈禱來祈求神幫助我們更好地用我們的傳教時間。這週我們有機會跟賈斯汀開會(他就是我們的分會傳道領袖),那個時候他告訴我們說他想要把一些事情弄清楚。他後來解決我對這邊傳教工作的兩個問題。我確實知道天父一直在看顧我們每個人,祂真的會用各式各樣的方法來回答我們的祈禱。祂有時候會通過經文,自己的感覺,或別人給我們回答。

祝你們一週愉快!我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

P.S. 對了!我們的分會領袖想要我在教會聚會時,開始幫那些來自中國的慕道友和新歸信者翻譯。我會在聖餐聚會的時候,把我們的成員所做的英文演講翻譯成中文。他們說他們會提供那些翻譯的工具。一件好幸運的事情就是,我會有一個中國的新歸信者幫我做翻譯,所以這個任務並不是我一個人要做的!

Leave a Reply

