Chapter XXXII – Officially Extending! // 第三十二篇 – 正式延長傳教時間!

Monday, February 17, 2014

Hi everyone! I only have about five minutes left to email so this will have to be quick. First things first, I’m officially extending my time here in PA! President Topham (Pittsburgh mission president) called President Poulsen (new Temple Square mission president) and asked if he could keep me here for an extra transfer. The initial response from President Poulsen was no because he needs Chinese speakers at Temple Square since the big Chinese groups will start coming to the Square around April or May. President Topham said that I could try and give President Poulsen a call to see if he’ll allow me to stay. So I called up my new mission president (I’ve never met him, he came in after I left) and laid out all the reasons why I should stay here longer. I’m the only Chinese speaker in this entire mission and there aren’t even any return missionaries or Chinese members here in State College. Once I leave for Temple Square, all of our Chinese investigators will have to be taught in English. That really worries us because a lot of the investigators and recent converts have limited English and they might fall away once a Chinese speaker is gone. Anyways, I called up President Poulsen and presented my case basically. Apparently there was some miscommunication though and President Poulsen had thought that President Topham was requesting another Chinese speaker from Temple Square. Well, he said that I made an “articulate argument” and that he’ll ponder it over. Apparently he already had some ideas of what he wanted me to do at Temple Square once I came back in April so he had to rethink these plans. But last night, he told me that he’ll let me stay here until May 14th! And then he wants me back at Temple Square, no more exceptions. So I get a little more time out here to find those prepared Chinese people and teach them!

This past week, we got A LOT of snow dumped on us. Penn State was even closed on Thursday because it literally snowed all day long and everything was piled up in snow and ice. We actually got stranded at the local Episcopal Church for like 5 hours. We do service there every week by helping them prepare food for their soup kitchen. But it was an excellent place to get stranded at because they fed us and were so sweet to us! I also got to shovel snow for the very first time there! There was an older guy who went out to shovel the walkway and I ran up to him (I’m still in an apron from helping them prepare food) and asked if I could do it for him. He was really happy and I was really excited to shovel snow for the first time. Anyways, because of the amount of snow we got this past week, we didn’t get to teach a lot of lessons or find any new investigators. But this week is supposed to be a lot warmer! So hopefully that’ll help with our missionary efforts.

This week, we went to visit a young newlywed couple who moved out here for school. All of their family is in Utah and they don’t know anyone out here. We felt impressed to share God’s love for them and it was awesome. The Spirit was so strong and I could feel Heavenly Father’s love for them during that lesson, as well as His love for me. Heavenly Father loves each and every single one of us and He is aware of us. He knows our trials, joy, desires and concerns. He wants to bless us and help us but we need to go to Him first. We invited this young couple to share a little miracle every night with each other to help them recognize His Hand in their lives. I’ve done this before and it really helps you recognize His love for us. You guys should also try it!

I love you all and miss you!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Sister Moss and I did not plan this...we're Xmas colors!!

Sister Moss and I did not plan this…we’re Xmas colors!!

R's baptism

R’s baptism

Check out this frozen bush

Check out this frozen bush

Shoveling snow for the first time!!!

Shoveling snow for the first time!!!

Success!

Success!

I did it!

I did it!

Our balcony

Our balcony

There was a lot of snow this past week...

There was a lot of snow this past week…

Trudging through snow

Trudging through snow

2014年 2月 17日,星期一

大家好!我只有五分鐘,所以這個電郵會很短。首先,我打算延長我在這個匹茲堡傳道部的時間!托珀姆會長(匹茲堡的傳道部會長)打電話給波爾森會長(聖殿廣場新的傳道部會長)來問我是否可以留在這邊多一個搬家期。波爾森會長本來說不行,就是因為他說聖殿廣場在四月份的時後會需要更多會講中文的姐妹。到時候我們期望很多中國人會去那裡參觀。但是托珀姆會長跟我說我可以自己打給波爾森會長問問看我可不可以留在這邊。所以呢,我給我新的傳道部會長打電話(我離開鹽湖城之後,他就來了,所以我不認識他)然後告訴他我為甚麼應該留下來的每個原因。我是這整個傳道部唯一的中國姐妹,而且州立學院也沒有任何會說中文的成員。我一離開匹茲堡之後,我們所有的中國慕道友得聽英文的福音課。在這樣的情況下,我們很擔心他們,就是因為他們的英文不太好,所以我們有點怕他們會很快離開教會。我跟波爾森會長講電話時,告訴他這點,然後他說他跟托珀姆會長有些不清楚的地方,而覺得托珀姆會長向他要求的是,派出更多從聖殿廣場會說中文的姐妹。他後來告訴我說,我跟他所說的都有道理,但是他還需要考慮考慮。他好像已經準備好一個等我回來要我做的事情的計畫,所以他說他得再想,然後通知我。不過他昨天晚上跟我聯絡而說,我可以留在這裡到五月十四號!他也說我到時候必須回去聖殿廣場。他再也不會給我任何的例外。我有多一點的時間來找到和教導那些準備好聽福音的中國人!

上禮拜下了超級多的雪!上週四賓州州立大學是因為那天的一場大雪,而停課了。我們那天也被困在當地的主教制教會,我們留在那邊五個小時。我們每個星期都會在這個教會做服務。我們平常幫助他們準備他們粥廠的食物。我覺得我們很幸運能在那邊被困,就是因為他們都對我們很好,而且他們也給我們東西吃!當天我也有機會鏟雪,就是我第一次!那個時候我看到一個年齡比較大的男士在鏟人行道上的雪,然後我去問他,我可不可以替他做。他非常高興我願意幫他鏟雪。能夠幫助他也使我很開心。所以呢,因為這週雪下得真大,結果我們沒有很多機會去外面教福音或找新的慕道友。可是下週會比較溫暖一點!希望天氣真的會變得更好,這樣子我們在傳教這方面會有更多的成功。

這個禮拜我去拜訪一對剛結婚的的夫妻。他們為了讀大學而搬家到這邊來。他們的家人統統都是在猶他州那邊,所以他們目前在這裡沒有什麼朋友親戚。我們所受到的靈感就是,跟他們分享神對他們的愛。當時聖靈的影響真的很強,而且在那個課程中,我也能感覺到神對他們和我的愛。天父真的愛我們每個人,並且祂一直在看顧我們。祂很清楚地知道我們的考驗,喜樂,渴望,和煩惱。祂也非常想要祝福和幫助我們,但是我們需要先努力跟祂更加接近。我們邀請這對夫妻每天晚上互相分享一個小奇蹟。這麼做的話,他們就會在他們生活中看到神所伸出的手。我也做過這點,所以我知道這件事情真的會讓你體會到祂對我們的愛。你們也應該試試看!

我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

