Chapter XXXIII – Missionary Birthdays // 第三十三篇 – 傳教士的生日

Monday, February 24, 2014

First off, thanks to all of those who wished me a happy birthday via email and/or cards. You guys are the best! So a lot of you have been asking how missionaries celebrate their birthday. Well, here’s what I did on my birthday. We had three lessons with investigators and we also went to go visit a less active, who unfortunately didn’t have time to let us come in to share a message with her. So yup, missionary birthdays are just another day out here. But I did get lunch with the other sisters in this area. We went to a Thai restaurant and all I gotta say is – California does Asian food way better. But I was still so grateful that they tried to make my birthday so special! The sisters in the family ward also brought me some cupcakes and candles. Later that night, we had dinner at a member’s house and the other missionaries had told them it was my birthday so they had a little birthday toast for me and lit some candles for me.

This week, Sister Washburn got sick so we had to stay in for a couple days. She’s still sick so I’m not sure if we’ll have to stay in again this week. I did get a chance to go on exchanges with a sister from the family ward though since her companion was also feeling sick, so Sister Romero and Sister Washburn stayed together last night. Sister Smith and I went out to contact a couple referrals, but we didn’t have much luck.

We also start a new transfer tomorrow but nothing has changed with me and my companion. I’m still gonna be in the same area with the same companion. I know that I won’t get transferred out of State College though, since they need a Chinese speaker here, but there was a possibility that Sister Washburn could have gotten transferred. But everything is staying the same for the next six weeks again. It’s just so different than Temple Square ’cause almost everything changes every transfer (apartments, companions, assignments, schedule). It doesn’t even feel like a new transfer for me! Oh yeah guys, I’m officially in my 6th transfer now and a mission is a total of 12 transfers. So I’m almost halfway done with the mission. Crazy!

Anyways I must go. I love and miss you all. Thanks again for the birthday wishes!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

I steal everyone's cats

I steal everyone’s cats

Birthday lunch. It wasn't that good...CA does Asian food right

Birthday lunch. It wasn’t that good…CA does Asian food right

The sisters that serve in the family ward brought me cupcakes!! They're the sweetest

The sisters that serve in the family ward brought me cupcakes!! They’re the sweetest

Happy birthday to me!

Happy birthday to me!

2014年 2月 24日,星期一

首先,我要感謝那些通過電郵或信片給我祝生日快樂的人。你們都很棒!你們許多人最近問我,傳教士是如何慶祝他們自己的生日呢?所以呢,以下就是我在我的生日那天所做的事。當天我們教了三個慕道友的課程,我們也去拜訪一個不積極的成員,但是她當時不巧沒有時間聽我們所準備的福音訊息。非常明顯傳教士的生日跟其他的天一樣,沒有什麼特別的。不過我有機會跟這個地區的其他姐妹去吃午飯。我們在附近的一家泰式餐廳吃飯。我跟你們講,加州的亞洲菜比這邊好吃多了。但是我還是很感激那些姐妹給我的小意思,她們使我的生日比較特別一點!而且這裡的家庭支會的姐妹送給我些杯子蛋糕和蠟燭。當天晚上我們在一個成員的家吃晚飯,然後其他的姐妹告訴這個家庭當天就是我的生日,結果他們為我的生日乾杯和點亮蠟燭。

這週沃什伯恩姐妹生病了,所以我們只好留在家幾天。她還沒有恢復健康,所以我不知道我們是否得繼續留在家。但是我上個禮拜有機會跟一個家庭支會的姐妹交換(她的同伴也生病了)。昨天晚上罗梅罗姐妹和沃什伯恩姐妹在家一起休息,同時我和斯密姐妹一起去接觸些回條,可是我們沒有成功。

我們明天要開始一個新的搬家期,但是我和我的同伴沒什麼改變。我會在同一個地方,跟同一個同伴過這個新的搬家期。我知道我不會從這個州立学院的地帶被調走,就是因為我們需要一個會說中文的傳教士在這邊。所以呢,接下來的六週就不會有任何的改變。我不習慣這樣子,就是因為我在聖殿廣場的每個搬家期都不一樣。在那邊每個六個禮拜都會有些改變,比如說,住所,同伴,任務,日程表,什麼的。我根本沒有那個新的搬家期的感覺!對了,我剛正式地開始我的第六個搬家期!一個姐妹的傳教時間包括十二個搬家期,所以我幾乎已經做完一半!不可思議!

我該走了。我想念和愛你們大家!謝謝你們給我的生日祝福!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

