Chapter XXXIV – 8 Month Mark! // 第三十四篇 – 第八個月的關口!

Monday, March 3, 2014

Yup, I hit my 8 month mark today! It’s kind of crazy, I’m almost halfway done with my mission yet I feel like I still have a million things to learn. I only have about 10 minutes to write this email so I’ll spare you all my angst and worries about all that.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t a great week for missionary work and it’s going to be slow the next couple weeks due to midterms and Spring Break. But what slowed down missionary work this past week was “State Patty’s Day.” We’ve all heard of St. Patrick’s Day. Well, State Patty’s Day was something started by students. Since St. Patrick’s Day is during their Spring Break, they wanted to find another reason to get drunk before they left for break so “State Patty’s Day” was created. It apparently started on Thursday night and lasted the whole weekend. We were not allowed to be outside, go tracting, or take public transportation unless we already had scheduled appointments, preferably earlier in the day. We actually had a lesson at 9:00 am on Saturday and felt like taking the 8:30 am bus would be okay. We traveled in safety but when we got on that 8:30 am bus, half of the bus was intoxicated already from their adventures the night before and they were headed to their next party place. On Sunday morning at 2:00 am, I woke up to ambulances and cops outside our apartment. We watched someone get carried out on a stretcher and everything. Scary stuff. During college, I was asked so many times why Mormons had the Word of Wisdom and why I didn’t drink. A common argument I got was that “everything is fine in moderation” and that I didn’t need to get drunk, but that I could still drink. All I can say is that Heavenly Father loves us and He knows what’s good for us. He will bless us more than we can ever imagine when we keep His commandments. One of the biggest blessings that we can have is to always have His Spirit with us as long as we are living righteously.

Last night, we were able to watch the CES Devotional by Sister Burton, the Relief Society President, at our branch missionary leader’s home and it was an amazing talk about learning to recognize the Spirit. I learned so many new things that I am eager to apply to my life as a missionary, but there were two things that stood out to me the most:

1. Saying earnest and humble prayers
2. Recording spiritual impressions

I know that keeping the Word of Wisdom during college prepared me to receive promptings from the Spirit and I’ve been so blessed to have the gospel in my life. Anyways, my time is up and I must go! Have a great week everyone! I love and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

This bird (hawk or falcon? I don't know my birds) was just chilling in the trees right next to us so we got to take some awesome pictures of it. We were on our way to church (we have sacrament meeting in a building on campus) and it was just hanging out!

This bird (hawk or falcon? I don’t know my birds) was just chilling in the trees right next to us so we got to take some awesome pictures of it. We were on our way to church (we have sacrament meeting in a building on campus) and it was just hanging out!

That's actually me in the back kekeke

That’s actually me in the back kekeke

This was from Break the Fast at Brother Owen's house last night. He shoots deer!!!! AND MAKES HIS OWN SAUSAGES OUT OF THEM AND TRIED TO MAKE ME EAT THEM.

This was from Break the Fast at Brother Owen’s house last night. He shoots deer!!!! AND MAKES HIS OWN SAUSAGES OUT OF THEM AND TRIED TO MAKE ME EAT THEM.

AND THEN HE BROUGHT OUT A DEER HEAD AND I WAS NOT AMUSED. I actually almost cried..

AND THEN HE BROUGHT OUT A DEER HEAD AND I WAS NOT AMUSED. I actually almost cried..

2014年 3月 3日,星期一

今天就是我的第八個月的關口!不可思議!我幾乎已經做完我傳教時間的一半,但是我覺得我還有許多需要學習的事情。我只有大概十分鐘的時間來寫這個電郵,所以我這次不會再強調這點。

不巧,我們這周沒有很多成功,就是因為現在是期中考的時間,而且春假快到了。結果,在下兩週都會比較不忙一點。讓這週不忙最大的原因就是一種節日,叫做「州派翠克節」。我們都知道聖派翠克節是什麼,但是州派翠克節是這邊的大學生所創出來的的。因為聖派翠克節是在他們的春假期間之內,所以他們想到辦法而造成這個州派翠克節。這樣子他們放春假前,有機會喝醉。這個節日是禮拜四到禮拜天發生的。除非我們已經和慕道友在周末前約好時間,否則我們不可以去外面敲門或坐公共交通。我們禮拜六早上九點有個課程,所以我們覺得坐八點半的巴士應該不會遇到任何的問題。我們安全地到達目的地,不過坐著在那部巴士上的乘客,一半是因為前一天晚上的大派對,而都被喝醉了。禮拜天凌晨兩點時,我被救護車和警車的聲音叫醒了。我們看到了一些人在擔架上。很可怕!我以前在讀大學時,常常被問,摩爾們教徒為甚麼遵守智慧語,他們好幾次也問我這個問題,你為甚麼不喝酒?他們每次都會辯論說,若有節制,對健康並無害處。而且,他們也常常告訴我說,你可以喝一點點,不需要喝醉。我所知道的,就是天父非常地愛我們和祂很清楚地知道哪些東西對我們的身體是好的。當我們遵守祂的誡命時,祂肯定會賜給我們許多祝福,比我們想到的還多。我們可以擁有的一個非常大的祝福就是,只要我們正義的過生活,我們就可以一直有祂的靈與我們同在。

昨天晚上,我們有機會看教會教育系統的廣播。我們在我們分會的傳道領袖的家看了這個節目。它包括伯頓姐妹所做的演講,她就是我們的總會慈助會的會長。她的演講是有關於如何聽從聖靈的提示。我覺得這個演講很棒!我學習到許多新的知識,而且我很期待把這些新的知識運用在我生活中。但是有兩件使我內心引起共鳴的事情:

1. 該做真誠地祈禱
2. 記下聖靈的提示

我知道因為我在讀大學的時候遵守智慧語,準備好自己接受聖靈的提示。能夠有福音在我生活中,真的使我感覺到很幸福。我的時間到了!我得走了!祝你們一周愉快!我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

