Chapter XXXV – Midterms and Breakdowns // 第三十五篇 – 期中考和精神崩潰

Monday, March 10, 2014

Hello everyone! So as expected, midterms week and Spring Break has wiped us out. We didn’t have many lessons this past week and it’s hard to schedule any lessons for this next coming week. But luckily, Spring Break is only a week long and we have some ideas to do service in hopes of finding potential investigators.

However, we were able to meet with one of our investigators, who is planning on getting baptized in about a month or so. He is about 20 years old and he has some amazing ambitions for what he wants to do. He wants to be a doctor, researcher, inventor, the list goes on and on. He’s an incredibly smart kid and works really hard to achieve those dreams of his. But in the process of achieving his dreams, he has completely worn himself out. He doesn’t sleep or eat regularly because his whole existence is consumed by school. We had this lesson in our branch mission leader’s home and our investigator basically had a mental breakdown right there in the living room. As I (awkwardly) sat there and looked at him bawling his eyes out (I’m so bad at handling tears), I just felt so much love for this young man. But at the same time, he was breaking my heart because of how alone and helpless he felt. As I quietly sat there, I thought of all the many times where I have been in his shoes, where I felt like I was drowning in despair with no sense of hope. But the difference between me and him was the fact that I had the gospel in my life and I knew that I had to turn it all over to my Heavenly Father and my Savior. Although he has a baptismal date set and has been learning about the gospel, he still hasn’t been able to completely turn things over to our Heavenly Father. Now, I’m not saying that I always am able to put my trust in Him, but I know through my trials and experiences that when we are at our lowest point in our lives, we need to turn to Him more than ever.

So I guess my message for you guys this week is the same thing that we shared with our investigator. I know that God is our loving Heavenly Father. He loves each and every single one of us and he knows each person perfectly. He wants to hear from us and He wants us to turn to Him. He can help us with anything but we need to turn to Him first. And I know that as we do these things and rely on the healing power of the Atonement, we will feel Him walk with us every step of the way. No matter what trials we are facing, He has promised us that He will be there. I wanna share my favorite scripture (again) with you guys – Ether 2:24-25 (“For behold, ye shall be as a whale in the midst of the sea; for the mountain waves shall dash upon you. Nevertheless, I will bring you up again out of the depths of the sea; for the winds have gone forth out of my mouth, and also the rains and the floods have I sent forth. And behold, I prepare you against these things; for ye cannot cross this great deep save I prepare you against the waves of the sea, and the winds which have gone forth, and the floods which shall come. Therefore what will ye that I should prepare for you that ye may have light when ye are swallowed up in the depths of the sea?”). I love these verses because of the imagery, the promises and the comfort that it brings to me. These verses have carried me throughout my mission. I hope that they can be of comfort to you, too.

My time is up so I must go. The good news is that it’s warming up a little bit – it’s 39 degrees today! Anyways, I miss and love you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Candice, Sister Washburn, and I

Candice (branch member), Sister Washburn, and I

Another one!

Another one!

2014年 3月 10日,星期一

大家好!不出所料,期中考和春假果然使我們非常不忙。我們上週一個課程都沒有,而且約定下週的課很困難。但是好在春假只是一個禮拜而已。為了找到新的慕道友,我們最近想到些方法來為人服務。

我們這週有機會跟我們其中的一個慕道友見面,他打算這個月或下個月接受洗禮。他今年二十歲左右,對自己將來的生活已經有遠大的志向。他要成為一個醫生,研究員,發明家,什麼的。他非常聰明,而且他很會付出很多的努力來達成那些目標。但是他在拼命地追求這些目標時,他就会感覺心力交瘁。他整個生活都是讀書,結果他不常睡覺或吃飯。我們在我們傳道領袖的家有個課程,當時我們的慕道友突然之間發生了精神崩潰。當我在看他哭泣時,我對這個人感到很多的愛(我覺得安慰這樣的人很困難)。同時,他使我很傷心,就是因為他這個人覺得自己真的很孤獨和無助的。我在安靜地坐著在那裡時,想到我每一次感覺到像他一樣,就是每一次我覺得灰心喪氣。但是我跟他最大的差別就是,我一向都有福音在我生活中,而且我一向都知道我可以靠著天父和耶穌基督的力量。雖然這個慕道友有一個洗禮目標和最近在學習福音,可是他還沒有完全信賴天父。我不是說我一直在把我的每個問題都交給神,但是通過我以前的經驗和考驗,我知道當我們在我們生活中的最低點時,我們肯定更需要靠著祂。

所以呢,我這個禮拜想要跟你們分享的信息就是我跟我們的慕道友所分享的一樣。我知道神是我們慈愛的天父。祂愛我們大家,而且祂十分地認識世上的每個人。祂非常想聽到我們的聲音,祂也希望我們會信賴祂。祂可以在任何的方面幫助我們,但是我們得先去尋找祂。並且,我知道只要我們做我們的部分和靠著贖罪的力量,祂一步一步都會跟我們在一起。不管我們遇到的考驗是什麼,他已經應許我們祂會提供協助。我要再跟你們分享我最喜歡的經文,以帖书,第二章,第二十四到二十五節 (“因為​看​啊,​你​將​如​海中​的​鯨,​將​有​如​山​的​巨浪​衝撞​你。​然而,​我​仍會​把​你​從​海底​再​帶上​來;​因為​​風​出自​我​口,​雨​和​洪水​也​由​我​發出。看啊,​我​使​你​預備好​面對​這些​事;​除非​我​使​你​預備好​面對​海上​的​狂風​巨浪,​以及​將​要​來到​的​洪水,​否則​你​就​無法​渡​此​大海。​所以​你​要​我​怎樣​為​你​準備,​使​你​被​吞​入​海底​時​仍有​光​呢?”)。 我非常喜歡這兩段,就是因為它們的意像。這兩節的應許真的使我感到安慰。它們幫助我不斷地努力傳教。我希望它們也會讓你們感覺安慰。

我的時間到了,所以我該走了。一條很好的消息就是最近的天氣越來越溫暖。今天的溫度就是三十九度!我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

