Chapter XXXVI – Bronchitis & Laryngitis // 第三十六篇 – 支氣管炎和喉炎

Monday, March 17, 2014

It seems like getting diagnosed with some medical condition has been a theme of my mission. I have bronchitis again and possibly laryngitis. I had a cold a few weeks ago and I thought it went away but this past week, I started coughing a lot, which really hurt my chest and lungs. I had a feeling that I had bronchitis again since I never went on any medication for it when I first got it at Temple Square at the beginning of my mission. We called the mission doctor and he diagnosed me over the phone. He didn’t even actually talk to me – he talked to my companion because I lost my voice at this point. Anyways, he prescribed me antibiotics and steroids for bronchitis and laryngitis. So now, I’ll be on medications for the rest of the week! I have some side effects from the medications, but for the most part, I’m feeling a lot better already.

When Justin, our branch mission leader, heard that I had bronchitis, he came over to give me a blessing of healing. I love the power of the priesthood. He blessed me with health but in addition to that, he said things that applied to my life perfectly at this time. I know that Heavenly Father was using Justin as an instrument, and that blessing brought me a lot of comfort. We could all feel the Spirit so strongly. Justin started talking about the people that I’m meant to meet and teach here in State College and mentioned that I promised these people that I would bring them the message of the gospel. Even Justin started to get emotional and he’s like a tough, ex-Marine guy. But I know that priesthood blessings come directly from Heavenly Father and what was said that day really comforted me.

This past week was Spring Break at Penn State, but we managed to still find and teach people! We knew that tracting would be ineffective because so many people were gone, so we decided to look through a list of all of our potential investigators. My best friend, Adrienne, taught me how being organized makes your life so much better and it’s so true! Our binder was totally outdated and so we spent the majority of our week combing through these potentials and found people that past missionaries never contacted. I’m telling you guys, organization is key. One girl even called us out of the blue and asked us to meet with her, so we met up with her and taught the Restoration. I asked her to be baptized when she came to know that this was all true and she said yes! I think that was the first time I’ve asked someone to be baptized in person during the very first lesson. Hopefully we’ll be able to meet with her again soon and teach her! She was asking great questions and is genuinely seeking for the truth.

Anyways, I hope you all had a great week! I heard California is like 80 degrees or something. We’re still in our winter phase. It’s like 24 degrees or something today. I can’t wait for spring time! I love and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

So I'm on steroids and antibiotics now :o my antibiotics are HUGE!!!!

So I’m on steroids and antibiotics now 😮 my antibiotics are HUGE!!!!

2014年 3月 17日,星期一

我被診斷出有些病症,好像是成為我在傳教的主題了。我又得了支氣管炎和喉炎。我幾個禮拜前感冒了,我覺得我已經恢復健康,但是我上週突然咳嗽很多。結果我的胸和肺痛起來。我有一個感覺我得了支氣管炎,就是因為我以前剛到聖殿廣場時候得到這個病,但是並沒有去治療它。所以我打電話給我們傳道部的醫生,然後他在線上給我診斷。其實,他並沒有跟我講話,他是因為我的聲音已經變得沙啞了,而跟我的同伴講電話。他為我開處方抗生素和類固醇。所以呢,我整個星期都得吃很多的藥。這些藥品使我有些後遺症,但是我已經好了很多。

當賈斯汀(我們分會的傳道領袖)聽到我得了支氣管炎時,他來我家給我一個醫治的祝福。聖職的力量真的使我很感激。他給我的祝福最大的目的就是幫助我恢復健康,但是他也跟我說些我當時需要聽的事情。我知道賈斯丁當天是神所用的工具。他給我的那個祝福真的讓我感覺到很多的安慰。我們那個時候都能感到聖靈。賈斯汀說過我在這邊需要認識和教導的人,他也說過我已經跟這些人應許我會帶給他們神的福音。像賈斯汀這樣強壯的退伍軍人,也會變得如此感性,這真令我很驚訝!我知道聖職祝福是直接從神而來的,而我那天所聽到的使我非常平靜。

雖然上週是賓州州立大學的春假,但是我們還是找到了和教導了新的人。我們知道去敲門不會引起成功,所以我們決定看有潛能的慕道友名單。我最好的朋友(阿德里安娜)以前教我整理有秩序的重要性。她常常說,你若整理的話你的生活就會比較順。他說的話,一針見血!我們的地帶冊頁非常凌亂,所以我們花了很多時間整理它。結果,我們找到了很多以前傳教士所沒有接觸的人。我要跟你們說,整理是非常要緊的。之後有一個女生突然打電話給我們說她想要跟我們見面。所以呢,我們跟她見面和教導復興福音的信息。我也邀請她,當她相信這個教會是真實的時,願不願意接受洗禮。她說願意!我想那天是我第一次在教導第一課時,面對面邀請一個人受洗。我希望我們很快就會在跟她見面和分享更多!她當時問我們些非常好的問題。她確實在真誠的追求真理。

祝你們一週愉快!我聽說加州的天氣特別好,大概八十度!這邊還是比較冷。今天的溫度是二十四度左右。我等不及春天!我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

