Chapter XXXIX – General Conference Weekend // 第三十九篇 – 總會大會的週末

Monday, April 7, 2014

As you guys know, I was supposed to go back to Temple Square this past Wednesday and be back on the Square in time for General Conference but instead, I’m still here in State College! It was definitely strange to be watching Conference on the screen this time around. It’s a whole different experience! Instead of being on our feet all day during Conference weekend, it was more like a break for us missionaries out here. We basically sat and listened to all the talks for the whole weekend. We even had 4 investigators show up to come and listen with us! I used to not like General Conference very much because it was so long but now I love it because I can learn so much from the prophet, apostles and other Church leaders. I noticed that the speakers talked a lot about obedience and following our Savior’s example of charity and compassion. There were a few questions that I had written down that I hoped I would find answers to through these talks. I had wondered how I could develop more charity towards others around me and I feel like I definitely had that question answered since there were so many talks about charity this past weekend. Anyways, a few of my favorites that I can remember off the top of my head were Elder Holland, President Uchtdorf, Elder Teh, and Elder Perry’s talks. I hope you guys all had the chance to watch Conference!

This past week, we had J, our newest recent convert, sit in on a lesson with us for a new investigator we’ve been teaching. Turns out that their cities in China are pretty close to each other and they really hit it off. J told us that he’s been really reaching out to our investigator to make sure he feels welcome here. J is doing awesome and will be such a strong member and blessing to this branch. He has such a strong testimony already and he wants to try and help us find people to teach. He’s been inviting his friends to meet with us and to come to church. He’s such a great example to me!

Anyways, tomorrow is Transfer Day here and I’m getting a new companion. We’re not sure where Sister Washburn is going yet – she’ll find out tomorrow. I’ll let you guys know next week what happens! I miss and love you all! Have a great week!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Lunch with members/recent converts/investigators in between Saturday General Conference session!

Lunch with members/recent converts/investigators in between Saturday General Conference session!

2014年 4月 7日,星期一

你們多半都知道我本來是在這上週三打算回去聖殿廣場,而會有機會去參加總會大會,但是我還是在州立學院!我這次覺得在屏幕上看總會大會有點奇怪。這樣子跟在聖殿廣場的經驗完全不一樣!聖殿廣場的傳教士在總會大會的週末時,都超級忙,她們一整天都在外面工作。同時,在這邊我們這些傳教士都覺得總會大會的週末好像是一個休息的機會。基本上,我們整個週末都在教會裡面看總會大會。但我們有四個慕道友來跟我們一起看總會大會!我以前覺得總會大會又長又無聊,可是現在的話,我超喜歡它,就是因為看它使我能向先知,使徒,這些教會的領袖學習很多。我這個週末發現到他們強調服從和博愛的重要性。他們勸告我們跟隨耶穌基督的榜樣,像祂一樣愛每個人。我看總會大會之前,寫下些我希望我們教會的領袖可以幫我更瞭解的問題。我很想知道我怎麼能像我周圍的人表示更多的博愛。因為許多的教會領袖的演講都提到這個原則,所以我覺得這個問題在上週末被回答了。我現在能想起來的最喜歡的演講就是,荷蘭長老,鄔希鐸長老,泰長老,和貝利長老。我希望你們在上週末都有機會看總會大會!

我們上個禮拜邀請雅各(我們最新的新歸信者)陪我們去教導一個慕道友。我們在教導這個新的慕道友時,雅各發現到他在中國的老家離那個慕道友的很近。結果,他們倆越談越投緣。雅各說他想要幫助我們的慕道友感覺到歡迎,所以他最近在跟我們的慕道友交流。雅各真的很棒!他已經變成這個分會的一個祝福。他對福音的見證是非常堅強的,而且他告訴我們說他很想幫我們找到新的慕道友!他最近邀請很多朋友來參加教會聚會和跟我們這些傳教士見面。他真的是我的一個榜樣!

總之,明天是搬家日,所以我會有一個新的同伴。我還是不太確定沃什伯恩姐妹要調到哪兒去,她明天就會知道。我下週就會告訴你們這週所發生的改變。我想念和愛你們大家!祝你們一周愉快!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

