Chapter XLIII – Power of Prayer // 第四十三篇 – 祈禱的力量

Monday, May 5, 2014

This last transfer with Sister Wade has taught me the power of prayer. I think we sometimes fall into the same routine of saying the same exact prayers over time. But just like you wouldn’t want your kids, your spouse, your friend, or your parents telling you the same thing over and over again, Heavenly Father doesn’t want that either! He is literally our Father and we can tell Him anything that is on our mind and in our hearts. We were planning for our week and praying for investigators that were struggling to keep commitments, as well as praying for investigators that we’ve lost contact with for the past couple months. That same day, we ran into 4 investigators that we had been praying for, including one we haven’t seen for the last 2 and a half months. Her name is S and she was the one we had committed to baptism at the end of the first lesson. However, we never saw her again and were never able to get a hold of her.

It all started with B’s baptismal interview. After his interview (he passed!), we went to grab some ice cream on campus to celebrate with him. He showed us a new bus stop that we had never gotten on and the bus arrived much earlier than scheduled. We were surprised ’cause it arrived and left so early, but we got on it anyways. When we got on the bus, I saw S sitting in a seat by herself. I didn’t recognize her at first because it had been so long, but she did look familiar. I figured she was just someone I had briefly contacted in the past but as I was about to walk past her, she looked up at me and “S” just popped into my head. She recognized me and I sat down next to her and talked to her the whole way home. I ended up having a lesson with her on that 20 minute bus ride home about how much Heavenly Father loves her. She told me that she has been praying since our first lesson and she feels peaceful every time she prays and that she really wants to find the truth. I set up an appointment with her for next week and said a prayer with her right before we got off the bus. We then realized that we lived in the same apartment complex yet somehow never saw each other until today. I know that Heavenly Father has a plan and timing for everyone and He is aware of all of us! I could tell that she was grateful for that mini lesson on the bus and that was something she needed right in that moment. Our apartment complex isn’t that big and we take the same bus every day, yet we never saw each other these past couple months. I don’t know why we never saw each other but I know that God knows her perfectly and He knew that she needed to run into us on the bus that day. Maybe she just needed an extra boost right before finals, who knows? But I have such a strong testimony of prayers and that God has a plan for all of us.

Anyways, B will be getting baptized this Saturday! He is also turning 21 on Thursday so I know that some of the branch members are gonna do something fun for him. It’s gonna be such an exciting week for him because he’ll finish up his finals, it’ll be his birthday, his baptism, his confirmation and then he’ll fly back home to China on Monday night. And then I’ll be back at Temple Square that following Wednesday! I’m so grateful that I have this chance to see B get baptized before I leave. I was praying that I could teach someone from the very beginning up to baptism while I was outbound and B has been the answer to that prayer.

I hope you are all doing well and enjoying the nice weather that everyone keeps telling me about! It rains a lot here but today was the first sunny day this past week. Finally! Oh yeah, one exciting thing that’s coming up – it’s Mother’s Day on Sunday so I get to Skype home and see SquirrelCat!! And the family too of course ;> Hahaha anyways, I love and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

We went hiking last week!

We went hiking last week!

Compañera

Compañera

This is Sister Romero from Colorado! She is the only member of her family and joined the church about a year and a half ago!

This is Sister Romero from Colorado! She is the only member of her family and joined the church about a year and a half ago!

Finding rocks for Dad

Finding rocks for Dad

We had a campfire and made s'mores for FHE!

We had a campfire and made s’mores for FHE!

2014年 5月 5日,星期一

我這個搬家期跟魏姐妹更發現到祈禱的力量。我覺得我們都會陷入這樣的習慣,也就是,每次做禱告時,說同樣的話。就好像你不想要你的孩子,配偶,朋友,或父母再三跟你講同樣的話,天父也不要我們跟祂說重複的話!祂確實是我們天上的父,我們可以告訴祂在我們腦海裡和心理的任何的事情。我們在做這星期的計劃時,為我們最近沒有在遵守承諾的慕道友和在過去的幾個月失去聯絡的慕道友做祈禱。在同一天我們遇到了四個慕道友,包括我們最近的兩個月都沒看到的一個人。她的名字叫希爾維亞。在我們教導她的第一個課程時,她跟我們承諾說她要受洗。但是我們以後都再也沒有見到她,而且我們也聯絡不到她。

在布蘭登通過他的洗禮面談之後,我們就去校園那邊吃冰淇淋來慶祝。我們吃完之後,他就幫我們找到我們從來沒坐過的巴士。這部巴士比日程表提早一點就到達我們那邊。當時我們覺得有點奇怪,但是我們還是上這部車。我們上車時,我馬上看到希爾維亞單獨地坐在車上。我那個時候認她不出來,但我還是覺得她很面熟。我當時覺得她只是我以前接觸過的人。我在走過去時,突然想她的名字(希爾維亞)起來。她也認我出來,所以我就坐在她的旁邊。在回家的路上,我陪她聊天。我後來在車上就教導她一個二十分鐘的課程。我所跟她分享的,是有關於天父對她的愛。她告訴我說,自從我們第一次見面以來,她常常做禱告,而且她每次做祈禱時,就會感到很平靜。她也說她很想找到真理。我下車之前,跟她約下次見面的時間,並且我也跟她做個祈禱。後來,我們就發現到我們住在同一個社區裡。真巧!我知道天父會為我們每個人預備計劃,祂真的認識我們每個人和知道我們所有的需求!我知道她那天很感激聽到我們在車上教她的事情。我們的社區不是很大,所以我很驚訝我在過去的幾個月裡從來沒見過她。但我還是知道神認識她和十分知道她所需要的,祂也知道她那天需要在那部巴士上遇到我和魏姐妹。她可能只是需要在考期末考前,得到精神的提高。誰知道?總之,我對祈禱的見證非常強,而且我知道神已經為我們每個人預備一個計劃。

布蘭登打算在禮拜六受洗!他也會在禮拜四那天滿二十一歲,所以我知道我們分會的一些成員會為他慶祝。對他來說,這個星期會很特別,就是因為禮拜四是他的生日,過兩天就會受洗,禮拜天就會被證實,然後禮拜一就會回國。然後我就會在下週三回到聖殿廣場去!我非常高興我能在回去前,看到布蘭登接受洗禮!自從我來到這邊以來,就一直做祈禱來求問神讓我有機會能夠從頭到受洗教導一個人。布蘭登真的是我禱告的答案。

我希望你們一切好!我也希望你們都在享受最近的好天氣!這邊常常會下雨,但今天終於是晴天!對了,還有一件令人興奮的事情,也就是母親節快到了!我這個星期天會有機會跟我的家人和貓咪聯絡!我想念和愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

