Chapter XLIV – Goodbye Pennsylvania! // 第四十四篇 – 告別宾夕法尼亚州

Monday, May 12, 2014

My outbound in the Pennsylvania Pittsburgh mission is coming to an end. I will be flying back out to Salt Lake City early Wednesday morning to start my 8th transfer. Time really does fly by! This past week has been super busy and I have a couple interesting stories to tell you guys.

First, I went on an exchange out to Lock Haven which is COMPLETELY different than State College. I had no idea that PA was Amish country but when I was out there, I saw my very first buggy! There was a horse pulling the buggy with an Amish family sitting inside, running across the street. It was so crazy! PA is so beautiful though. Now that springtime is finally kicking in, it is so green everywhere. While I was on exchange with my sister training leader, Sister Smith (she used to serve with the State College family ward during my first 2 transfers here!), we went to do service at a members’ house. Okay, has anyone seen the show “Hoarders?” Their house was EXACTLY like that! I’m not even exaggerating. Apparently a lot of homes out in PA are like that. But we spent almost 4 hours cleaning just the living room. In this span of 4 hours, their cat peed on my bag and I stepped on a needle that just went right through my shoe and into my foot. But all is well and it’s all part of the whole mission experience!

On a more spiritual note, we had a baptism for B this past weekend. He is flying back to China tonight, but he will be back at Penn State in August. J, who was baptized in March, baptized B! I feel so blessed to be here to see the fruits of my labor. R, who was baptized in February, gave a talk on the Holy Ghost at B’s baptismal service and it was so good! He related the gospel to Star Wars and everyone loved his talk. I am going to miss State College and the people here so much, but I know that it is time to go back to Temple Square. I’m excited to go back to Temple Square, but I’m also really nervous since we have a new mission president and I don’t know half the sisters there anymore. It’s like a whole new mission when I get back! I’m so bad with change but I think that’s exactly why Heavenly Father sent me to the Utah Salt Lake City Temple Square Mission. This mission is constantly changing, especially with having to go outbound to a proselyting mission. On top of that, I will have had 3 mission presidents at the end of my 18 months of service. Crazy, huh? But I’m grateful for the opportunity that I have to deal with so many changes because I need to learn to deal with change better.

Yesterday was Mother’s Day so we had dinner with the Hatches and I got to Skype home! I got to see my parents, my sister, Jeremy and my cats! I’m so glad I was outbound during Mother’s Day because we don’t get to Skype at Temple Square. Anyways, I miss and love you all! The next time I email you guys, I’ll be back in Utah!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

The Hatches

The Hatches

Campus

Campus

Library at Penn State! It's HUGE!

Library at Penn State! It’s HUGE!

B's baptism!

B’s baptism!

Sister Wade and I filling the font

Sister Wade and I filling the font

Penn State campus!

Penn State campus!

Sister Wade, my companion!

Sister Wade, my companion!

2014年 5月 12日,星期一

我在宾夕法尼亚州 • 匹兹堡的傳教快要結束。我在這週三的早上要坐飛機回鹽湖城去,然後我在那邊就會開始我第八個搬家期。光陰似箭!我這周非常忙,但我有些很有趣的經驗要跟你們分享一下!

首先,我上週有機會換同伴而去鎖避風港,這個地方跟州立學院完全不一樣!我沒想到宾夕法尼亚州是安曼派教徒的鄉村。我在鎖避風港那邊是我第一次看到雙輪馬車!我看到一匹馬拉著馬車,還有一個安曼家庭在車上。真奇怪!但宾夕法尼亚州真的很漂亮!春天終於來了,結果是到處都是綠色的。當我和我的訓練領袖姊妹在一起時(也就是斯密姐妹,她以前在州立學院的家庭支會服務過)時,我們去成員的家來為他們做服務。所以呢,不知你們是否看過那部電視秀,叫做「貯藏著」。他們的家就是像那電視秀𥚃的人一模一樣!我可不是在跟你們開玩笑的。我聽說宾夕法尼亚州這邊的很多的家是這樣子。我們花了大概四個小時的時間來整理他們的客廳。在幫他們整理時,他們的貓撒尿在我的包上,而且我踩到了一個針,然後它就扎了我的腳!可是一切都好了,這就是傳教經驗的一部分!

在靈性方面,我們這周有個洗禮會。布蘭登受洗了!他今晚會坐飛機回國,但他八月份就要回來。雅各(他在三月份接受洗禮)替布蘭登受洗!我非常感激能留在這邊來看到我工作的成果。理查德(他在二月份接受洗禮)在布蘭登的洗禮會時,做了一個有關聖靈的演講。他的演講很棒!我捨不得離開州立學院,但我還是很期待回去聖殿廣場。不過我也是有點緊張,就是因為我會又有個新的傳道部會長,還有那邊會有很多我不認識的姐妹。就好像是一個全新的傳道部!我不喜歡變化,所以我覺得天父召喚我去鹽湖城的聖殿廣場傳道部,就是要來克服這個弱點。這個傳道部一直在改變,特別是因為我們這些姐妹都會來來去去。一件很有趣的事情就是,在我十八個月的傳教時間中,我會有三個不同的傳道部會長。不可思議!但是我還是很感激能面對這些很多的改變,是因為我真的需要學習如何更好地接受變化。

昨天是母親節,所以我們可以去何家庭的家吃晚餐,並且能夠有機會與我的家人視訊!我看到我的父母,姐姐,忠航,和我的兩隻貓!我非常高興能在賓州過母親節,因為若是在聖殿廣場的話就不行用視訊和我的家人連絡。我想念和愛你們大家!我下次寫電郵給你們的時候,人就會在猶他州了!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

