Chapter XLV – Hello Temple Square! // 第四十五篇 – 回到聖殿廣場!

Friday, May 16, 2014

Wow, it has been such a crazy week. Just a couple days ago, I was in Pennsylvania and now I’m back in Utah. So much change in such a little amount of time. On Monday and Tuesday, I just visited members and investigators to say goodbye to them. Sister Wade and I were able to have one last lesson together with a girl from China and she became a new investigator! I also got a blessing on Tuesday night to help me mentally and spiritually prepare to go back to Temple Square. In that blessing, I specifically remember Brice (Elder Quorum’s president who gave me the blessing) mentioning how I will have the gift of tongues and be able to teach people at Temple Square in Chinese. He mentioned charity and relying on the Savior, as well as trusting and loving my new mission president, President Poulsen.

On Wednesday, I was up at 2 in the morning to get ready to fly back to Salt Lake City. Sister Wade obviously had to come with me, and Sister Parker and Sister Romero came to take me to the airport, and Sister Moss and Sister Walborn woke up to say bye to me. I love them all so much and it was so hard to say goodbye to them! It was definitely too many feelings for that early in the morning. The plane ride back wasn’t much better as I wrote in my journal and wrote a letter for my branch mission leader and his wife – I was all teary-eyed the whole plane ride. On the flip side, it was exciting to come back to Temple Square. There are so many sisters that I haven’t seen in months and I was so happy to see them. Sister Sherratt had the funniest reaction when she saw me. I wish I got it on camera! She just started making the weirdest sounds and practically tackled me. If you guys remember, she was my MTC companion and is about 6 feet tall, so she like totally engulfed me when she hugged me. Sister May got back from California the same day and she looks tanner and has dark brown hair now. And I finally got to see my trainer, Sister Cheng! We haven’t seen each other in 6 months so I was so excited to see her!

Anyways, my new companion is Sister Hadzik from Germany and she is a brand new missionary! In other words, I’m training her and I feel so overwhelmed! She is a very sweet and cute sister, but I feel bad for her because I feel like I need to be retrained about Temple Square. Honestly, it’s a little scary to have to train her. When I left for PA, it was President Gillette and now that I’m back, Temple Square is like a whole new mission to me and it is completely different than what it was when I spent my first 6 months here. Here’s another secret – I’m also terrified of the Chinese people on the Square! I already forgot how to take tours in English so obviously Chinese is even harder for me! But hopefully I will get into the swing of things pretty soon.

I hope you all have a great week though! The weather in Utah is super nice and it’s beautiful at the Square. I love and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

PS. Cool fact: I’m the only American in my house. There are 5 others sisters who live with me and they are from Germany (my companion), El Salvador, Japan, Dominican Republic and Sweden.

Branch president, President Hancom, and his wife (in PA)

Branch president, President Hancom, and his wife (in PA)

This is Wolfgang, my tallest friend ever! 6'9"! He was in charge of the Pasquerilla Spiritual Center which is where we would have church in PA (on campus)

This is Wolfgang, my tallest friend ever! 6’9″! He was in charge of the Pasquerilla Spiritual Center which is where we would have church in PA (on campus)

My new companion! I am training her and she is from Germany!

My new companion! I am training her and she is from Germany!

2014年 5月 16日,星期五

這個禮拜非常忙!我前幾天還在賓州,然後我現在又是在猶他州。在很短的時間之內發生了很多變化。我在星期一和星期二這兩天拜訪一些成員和慕道友來跟他們告別。魏姐妹和我有個機會教導一個來自中國的女生,而且她現在成為一位慕道友!我在禮拜二也有機會受到聖職祝福,這祝福使我能放心和更順利地準備回去聖殿廣場。在受到這個祝福時,我記得布萊斯(那邊長老定額組的會長)說我會得到語言的恩賜,還有我在聖殿廣場時,會有效地用中文來教導遊客。他也提到說博愛的重要性,而且他說我需要信賴和愛我們的救主和我新的傳道部會長(波爾森會長)。

為了準備坐飛機回去鹽湖城,我在星期三凌晨兩點就起來了。魏姐妹也必須跟著去機場。帕克姐妹和羅梅羅姐妹也送我到機場,還有馬斯姐妹和渥爾姐妹為了跟我說道別,也在那天早上很早起來而去我家。我真的愛她們!對我來說,跟她們說再見是一件非常不容易的事情!我那時候的情緒很不穩定。我在坐飛機時,寫日記和要寄給那邊分會的傳道領袖和他的太太的一封信。當時我是眼淚汪汪的。在另一方面,我也是很期待回去聖殿廣場。那邊有很多我好久沒看到的姐妹,所以我那時非常期待再見到她們!薛瑞特姐妹一看到我,就表示出一個很好笑的反應。但願我當時可以把她的反應錄下來!她那時的聲音是怪怪的,並且她很熱烈地給我擁抱。不知你們記不記得,她就是那位以前在傳教士訓練中心的時候的同伴。梅姐妹也是在同一天就從加州回來了。她的皮膚看起來非常的黑,還有頭髮的顏色也變成非常深褐色了!我終於也有機會看到我的訓練者(程姐妹)!我們在最近的六個月都沒看到對方,所以我非常高興我能再見到她了!

我新的同伴是昊姐妹,她是從德國來的。她也是一個才剛開始傳教的姐妹!結果,我是她的訓練者,所以我最近感到很多壓力!她的人是非常友善的,但是我有點感到不好意思,就是因為我覺得我需要再被訓練聖殿廣場傳教的風格。不瞞你說,成為她的訓練者使我很緊張。六個月前,我在離開聖殿廣場時,吉列會長是這邊的傳道部會長,但現在的話,聖殿廣場好像一個完全不一樣的傳道部。還有一件事情,我最近非常怕跟中國人講話!我已經忘記如何帶英文團參觀聖殿廣場,所以呢,中文現在是更難的。我希望我會很快地再適應這裡的傳教方式!

祝你們一周愉快!猶他州的天氣最近很爽!聖殿廣場最近是特別漂亮的!我愛你們也想念你們!

愛,
應姐妹

還有,一件很酷的事情就是,我是我家裡面唯一的美國人。我的室友們包括五個姐妹,一個是來自德國(我的同伴),一個是來自薩爾瓦多,一個是來自日本,一個是來自多米尼加共和國,最後一個是來自瑞典。

Leave a Reply

