Chapter XLVII – Helping Converts // 第四十七篇 – 幫助歸信者

Friday, May 30, 2014

Hi everyone! Can you believe it’s already the end of May?! I’ll be home in about 6 months! So crazy. Time is flying by. This last week has been pretty busy and we had some pretty cool experiences.

We contacted a girl in the Tabernacle and she didn’t strike me as someone who would be interested in learning about the gospel. However, we felt impressed to say hi to her and then take her over to the Temple Model. Long story short, her friend met up with us and we taught them the whole Restoration, including the First Vision. I have never actually shared the whole First Vision with someone on the Square until that day and it was powerful! The Spirit was so strong and you could tell that they were feeling the Spirit too. At the end, they both accepted a copy of the Book of Mormon and were excited to read it. They told us that everything we talked about was what they needed to hear at this time and it really hit home for them. That was probably the most powerful experience that I’ve ever had here and I will never forget the Spirit we felt and the look on their faces when we testified of the Restoration and of eternal families. We’re excited to see what happens with them!

We also have an investigator who is planning to get baptized next Saturday! Sister Cheng and I met him on chat months ago and he wanted to be baptized then, but his parents wouldn’t let him and since he was under 18, he wasn’t baptized. I called him this past week and he told me that his parents had a change of heart and that he will be baptized, even though he’s not 18 yet!

There was one last thing that I’ve been thinking about lately this past week. I recently was chatting with a recent convert and was sad to hear that he hadn’t been regularly attending church or keeping the Sabbath Day holy. He said it was difficult because his friends, who are not members, invite him to go places on Sunday and it’s very hard for him to turn them down. In the end, he goes with them because he feels like he’ll be lonely if he doesn’t hang out with them. It is so important that recent converts are loved by the ward members! It can be lonely and everything is so new when you step into “Mormon world.” The culture, expectations, language….everything is different than what they are used to! Gordon B. Hinckley once said that every convert needs a friend! Someone who will help them adjust to their new life. Without someone by their side, they won’t stick around in the Church for very long. So, I want to encourage you all to reach out to those who are investigating the Church or to those who have just joined the Church. Your kindness and love will go far beyond what you can imagine.

Anyways, on a more personal note – I need to start looking into school. I had an interview with my mission president this past week and he encouraged me to start thinking of post-mish life. That’s not something I want to think about yet! But I really am running out of time. He gave me permission to start looking up programs on PDay. Next Pday, I will be going to a courtroom (our financial secretary is a judge) to kinda see what it’s like over there. I’ve been in courtrooms before when I was interning at the police department but I’m still excited for this opportunity. Well, I am out of time now! I love and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

P.S. I went to the temple for the first time this whole year! There was no temple in my outbound mission boundaries. It was awesome! It definitely brought peace into my life as I’m trying to decide what to do after my mission!

Our family! Grandma, mom, baby

Our family! Grandma, mom, baby

THERE ARE BABY QUAILS ON THE SQUARE, LOOK!!!!!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CUTE I COULD DIE. They are so tiny!! Quail momma is fat

THERE ARE BABY QUAILS ON THE SQUARE, LOOK!!!!!!! SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CUTE I COULD DIE. They are so tiny!! Quail momma is fat

2014年 5月 30日,星期五

大家好!你們能相信現在已經五月底了嗎?過大概六個月之後,我就回家了!不可思議!光陰似箭!我上個禮拜比較忙一點,我也有一些很有趣的經驗。

我和我的同伴在廣場上的教堂裡時,接觸一個女生。我本來覺得這位對學習福音沒什麼興趣,但我們得到靈感,就使我們決定去跟她打個招呼。後來,我就帶她去看聖殿的模型。長話短說,她的朋友也來了,然後我和我的同伴就教導她們復興福音的整個課程,包括約瑟斯密的第一次異像。我以前在聖殿廣場時,從來沒教過約瑟斯密的第一次異f像。當時,感覺到的聖靈非常強!我那時也能看得到她們也有感到聖靈。我們教完之後,她們兩個都拿了一本摩爾門經,而且她們說她們很期待閱讀它!她們也說,我們所跟她們分享的,都是她們在那時刻需要聽到的,並且我們所教導的事情,都使她們內心引起共鳴。這個經驗真的是我在這邊讓我最感動的。我肯定不會忘記我當時所感覺到的聖𩆜,我也不會忘記她們在聽我們教導她們有關於復興的福音和永恆的家庭的時候的表情。我很期待繼續教導她們!

我們也有另外一位快要接受洗禮的慕道友!他打算在下週六受洗!我和程姐妹幾個月前就在晚上認識他。他當時很想受洗,但他是因為他那個時候還沒滿十八歲,而他的父母反對,所以就沒辦法加入教會。我這周打電話給他,然後他告訴我說,他父母的看法突然改變,所以他雖然還沒滿十八歲,但他還是會接受洗禮!

我這周也有另外一件事情在我腦海裡。我最近跟一個新歸信者聯絡。這位告訴我說,他最近不去參加教會聚會,也不是在守安息日為聖。他說這個誡命是很難遵守的,特別是因為他大部分的朋友都不是教會的成員,然後他們常常會在禮拜天的時候請他跟他們一起出去玩。他有點不好意思拒絕他們,所以他就會跟他們玩。他覺得不然的話,就會很孤獨。教會的成員真的需要跟新歸信者交流,這是非常重要的!新歸信者在教會時,很容易會感覺孤獨,尤其是因為他們新的“摩爾門生活”還是有點陌生。我們的文化,期望,用語,都不是他們所習慣的。我們以前的先知,戈登興格萊會長有一次說過,每個歸信者都需要一個教會的朋友!他們需要一個人來幫助他們適應這個教會新的生活。他們若沒有人在幫助他們的話,就會很快離開教會。所以呢,我要鼓勵你們去跟慕道友或新歸信者交流。你們所給他們的愛和友情確實會幫助他們比你們所想的還多。

在另外比較個人的一方面,我需要開始考慮應不應該讀研究所。我這周跟我的傳道部會長有個面談,在面談時,他鼓勵我說,我需要開始考慮傳教以後的生活。這件事情不是我現在要想到的!但是我返鄉的時間快到了。他給我准許在準備日時,查一查研究所的一些項目。我在下個準備日打算去法庭參觀(我們傳道部金融的秘書就是一個法官)。我以前在警察局實習時,去過法庭,但是這個機會還是使我很期待。我的時間到了!我想念也愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

對了!我上週有機會去參加聖殿的恩道門!這就是我今年第一次去做恩道門!我在賓州時,沒有聖殿在我們範圍裡。我很高興終於能再去聖殿!特別是因為我最近在考慮我傳教以後該做的事情。

Leave a Reply

