Chapter XLVIII – One Busy Crazy Week // 第四十八篇 – 非常忙的一週

Friday, June 6, 2014

This past week, I had a couple experiences that reminded me out being outbound in PA! First, we are starting to teach a less-active member here on the Square. He lives in Salt Lake so he can come here to meet with us every week. He really wants to come back to church but it’s a little difficult for him so he wants us to help him get back on the right path. I never had a chance to work with less-actives when I was in PA but I love being able to teach people face to face again! I had to adjust back to teaching over the phone again and I’m fine with it, but I really love teaching people face to face. Last Saturday, some of us Chinese sisters also had the opportunity to help the local Chinese elders contact at a Chinese dinner party. Unfortunately, not many investigators were there and it was mostly members, but it was still nice to interact with members again.

On Tuesday, it was Sister May’s birthday, so we decorated her locker and had dinner together to celebrate her special day. She’s only 20 years old – so young! When we went up to pay for our food, it turns out that someone had already paid for all of us!

Another exciting news is our investigator is getting baptized tomorrow! He had wanted to be baptized since last summer but his parents finally gave him permission. The most exciting thing is we have permission to SKYPE his baptism tomorrow! I am SO EXCITED about that. It’s a new thing that our mission president started doing. We need permission from both our leaders here, as well as the leaders in the ward where our investigator is being baptized and his bishop said yes! I am so excited to see what our investigator looks like! We talked to him on the phone yesterday and he is so ready for baptism. He even wants to serve a mission in a couple years! I am so excited for him.

Sister Hadzik also passed off in both English and German tours so lately, we have been taking a lot of German tours. I learned how to introduce myself in German! I never realized that there were a lot of German people that come to Temple Square but recently, we’ve been taking more German tours than Chinese tours. It’s probably also because we only have like 5 or 6 German sisters and over 20 Chinese sisters now.

On another note, I’ve been pretty sick all week long. I lost my voice for the last 4 days. The doctor said I have some kind of virus that’s attacking my vocal chords (hence why I can’t talk) and there’s nothing they can do for now so I just have to ride it out. I just feel like I’ve been sick so much on my mission! It’s sucky, but hey, what can you do except keep going? I got a blessing today and I plan on just crashing for the rest of PDay today. Before we emailed, we visited Elder Skanchy at work in his courtroom. Or should I say Judge Skanchy! We got to watch part of his case and then he let us come to the back. I’ve never been in the back of a courtroom! Or been in handcuffs before! Yup, the bailiff put me in handcuffs when we went to the back. He showed us the holding cells and talked about a typical day at work. So awesome. I totally want to work in a courtroom after my mission!

Oh yeah, one last piece of sad news. One of my good friends from the mission went home this past week. She went outbound a transfer after me but came back here the same time as me. She told me that while she was outbound, they found out that she had some medical things going on with her. They finally decided to send her home to get the proper medical treatment she needs and she hopes that she’ll be able to come back in the future. She was such a great missionary and now we’re only down to 1 Korean speaker on the Square! Crazy. Anyways, please keep her in your prayers!

Well, my time is up. But I hope you all had a great week! Hopefully by next week, I will be perfectly healthy again! I love and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Birthday dinner at Blue Lemon

Birthday dinner at Blue Lemon

Decorated Sister May's locker

Decorated Sister May’s locker

Elder/Judge Skanchy!

Elder/Judge Skanchy!

Handcuffs!

Handcuffs!

2014年 6月 6日,星期五

上週發生了一些讓我想到在賓州的經驗!首先,我和我的同伴在聖殿廣場上開始教導一個不積極的成員。他住在鹽湖城,所以他每個禮拜都可以來這邊跟我們見面。他很想變得更積極,但他覺得這樣做有點困難,所以他要我們幫他回到正路。我在賓州時,沒有機會跟不積極的成員打交道,但我非常開心能夠有這樣的機會,也就是面對面教導人!回來這邊之後,我得再習慣用電話來教福音,我覺得這樣子還行。我的意思並不是我不喜歡在電話上教導人,而我還是比較喜歡面對面的課程。上個禮拜六,我和一些聖殿廣場的中國姐妹有機會去一個聚餐幫當地的中國長老們接觸中國人。不巧,那邊的慕道友很少,但我還是覺得能夠跟成員交流也很不錯。

上個星期二是梅姐妹的生日,所以我們裝飾她的鎖櫃,還有我們也跟她一起吃晚飯來慶祝。她只滿二十歲了,很年輕!我們去買單時,我們就發現到已經有人替我們付錢了!

有一條好消息就是我們的慕道友明天要接受洗禮!他從去年的夏天以來,都很想受洗,不過他的父母都沒有同意。不過他們終於贊成他的決定!最令人興奮的事,就是我們得到准許用視訊的方式來看他的洗禮會!這使我非常高興!我們的傳道部會長剛開始讓我們這麼做。為此,我們得先得到這邊的領袖和我們慕道友那邊支會領袖的准許,而他的主教說沒有問題!我很期待看到我們慕道友的樣子!我們昨天跟他聯絡,他已經十分準備好要接受洗禮了!他並且告訴我們再過幾年之後,他想要去傳教!我以他為榮!

昊姐妹上週通過帶英文和德文團的資格,所以我們最近帶了許多德文團。我學習如何用德文來介紹自己!我以前沒意識到這邊會有那麼多的德國人來聖殿廣場參觀。我們最近帶的德國團比中國團還要多。但應該是因為我們只有五或六個會說德文的姐妹,反而會說中文的,就有二十幾個姐妹。

在另一方面,我這個星期有點不舒服。我的嗓子前四天就沙啞了。我的醫生告訴我說,我得了一種病毒,然後它使我的聲帶很痛(就是為甚麼我不能講話)。他也說沒有藥可以治療這樣的病毒,結果我只好等一等。我覺得我在傳教時,常常會感到不舒服!我只可以做的,就是繼續加油。我今天受到了聖職的祝福,而且我打算在整個準備日的時候回家休息。我們寫電郵前,去了森長老的法庭。我應該說森法官!我們有機會看到他案件的一部分,然後他就帶我們去看法庭後面的幾個房間。我從來沒看過法庭的後屋!我也從來沒戴上過手銬!對了,在法庭的一個警察給我戴上手銬。他也給我們看那邊的牢房,而且他也跟我們解釋他在平日的工作。很有趣!傳教完之後,我很想在法庭工作!

還有一條比較難過的消息,我在傳教認識的一個好朋友上個禮拜返鄉了。她比我晚一個搬家期被調走了,但她在同一天回來這邊。她告訴我說,她不在聖殿廣場時,就發現到她的身體有些問題。結果,我們的領袖們後來決定她需要回家來得到合適的醫療。她希望以後能夠回來。她真的時一個很棒的傳教士,我們肯定會想念她,特別是因為我們現在在聖殿廣場只有一個會說韓文的姐妹。請你們為她做祈禱!

我的時間到了!祝你們一週愉快!我希望下週我的嗓子會都好了!我想念也愛你們大家!

愛,

應姐妹

Leave a Reply

