Chapter XLIX – Less than 6 Months Left! // 第四十九篇 – 剩下不到半年的傳教時間!

Friday, June 13, 2014

Isn’t that crazy?! This last week, I hit my “I’ve been out for over a year” mark. Technically my year mark would be July 3 since that’s when I went into the MTC, but my departure date is December 10, which is less than 6 months away. It is the weirdest thing. I never thought this day would come for me to tell guests that I’ve been out for over a year now. Time is just flying by. And this transfer is almost over already too! It’s the end of Week 5 already. On Thursday, we will find out which sisters are going outbound. I just want to know who will get sent to Pittsburgh! They won’t be sending anyone there until August though, which is when Penn State starts their fall semester. Speaking of outbound, I saw the first counselor in the branch presidency from my outbound YSA branch today! I was in the Assembly Hall and was getting ready to leave when I heard someone call my name. I was a little confused because it was a man’s voice that I didn’t really recognize. I turned around and there was Brother Owen sitting in the very last row! I was so shocked but so happy I almost cried. I love and miss everyone there so much and it was so good to see a familiar face. He said that he had been asking around to know where I was but sisters had told him it was my PDay. He was gonna leave soon but he finally spotted me walking to the Assembly Hall. We chatted for a while and he filled me in on what was going on with the branch. The branch sounds like they’re doing awesome and I was so happy to hear that my old companion, Sister Wade, is doing great work there.

Anyways, we had a pretty exciting week because we picked up a new investigator who lives in Belgium and we got to Skype a baptism in New Mexico! That was the very first time I got to Skype a baptism, and even though I wasn’t physically there for the service, I could still feel the Spirit so strongly, especially when we got to see A actually be baptized. Tears were welling up in my eyes and I just love being a missionary! Sister Cheng was also with me when we Skyped because she started teaching him back in October. Our new investigator in Belgium is only 18 years old but he has so many great questions about the gospel and is very mature for his age. I feel like the people I’ve worked with on my mission are all young adults. It is amazing to see how there are so many young people who are so prepared to receive the gospel!

This week, I also lead my first Mandarin motorcoach since I’ve been back from outbound. There were 36 people on that tour! I still get nervous when I take Chinese tours, especially when it’s a large group, but I’m praying every day for the gift of tongues and just trusting the Lord. We actually have been doing way more German tours since Sister Hadzik just passed off in German tours – I’m even starting to pick up on some German words. I can introduce myself and say “Thank you” and “You’re welcome!” I’m still praying for a Spanish companion though because German is way too hard for me to learn! I can say way more things in Spanish than I can in German. Anyways, between the 2 of us, we can speak 3 languages so we have just been super busy with taking tours. We did have an “Explore Day” though since Sister Hadzik is new here. We basically just get a few hours to go around the city and get to know the places around. We went to Heritage Park, which has a lot of monuments dealing with church history, as well as the State Capitol.

Well I hope you all had a great week! Talk to you all soon! Don’t forget – I miss and love you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Explore Day at This is the Place Park

Explore Day at This is the Place Park

State Capitol

State Capitol

I got to sit in the governor's chair!

I got to sit in the governor’s chair!

2014年 6月 13日,星期五

我上個禮拜就到了我的“我已經傳教超過一年”的關口。不可思議!實際上,我入關報到的日期是七月三日,也就是在那天進去了傳教士訓練中心,但我返鄉的日期是十二月十日。所以呢,不到六個月就到了!真的很奇怪!我本來覺得這一天,也就是終於能跟別人説我已經傳教一年,似乎永遠不會來。但光陰似箭,這個搬家期就快要結束了!今天已經是第五週的結尾。我們下週四就會知道哪些姐妹會被調走了。我非常想知道哪些姐妹將要到匹茲堡去傳教!不過我們的領袖還是需要等到八月份才可以把姐妹派出到那邊去。到時候,賓州州立大學的秋季學期就要開始。對了,我今天看到了從我在賓州的單身分會會長團的第一諮理!我在廣場上的禮堂裡面時,就聽到有人在叫我的名字。我那時有點困惑,尤其是因為那個男人的聲音是我原來認不出來的。我一轉身就見到坐在最後一排的歐文弟兄!我當時感覺非常驚訝,但我也是非常開心,甚至我幾乎哭了!我真的想念也愛我在賓州所認識的每一位,所以能夠見到這個熟悉的人使我很高興!他說他那天問過很多姐妹我在哪裡,但她們都告訴他當天是我的準備日。而且他說他幾乎放棄了也想走了,可是他終於在那座禮堂裡面就找到我了。我和他聊了一下,他跟我說到在賓州分會的最近情況如何,聽起來就好像他們那邊最近都很好。能夠聽到我以前的同伴(魏姐妹)還是在那裡而她最近有很好的績效,讓我感覺到非常快樂!

這個星期過得很好!特別是因為我們找到了一個新的慕道友!這位是從比利時來的。我們並且也有機會用視訊的方式來看到在新墨西哥舉行的洗禮會。這就是我第一次用視訊來參加一個洗禮會。雖然我在猶他州而我只好用視訊的方式來看它,但我那時還是能感覺到聖靈,尤其我在看艾德里安接受洗禮的時候,聖靈的感覺是特別的強。我當時眼淚滿眶!我超喜歡這個當傳教士的機會!因為成姐妹在去年的十月份也跟我一起教過艾德里安,所以她上週跟我一起用視訊來看他受洗。我們在比利時的新的慕道友只是十八歲,可是他對福音有許多很好的問題,而且他非常成熟。能夠看到外面有這麼多的準備好接受福音的年輕人確實使我很感動!

這個星期我也帶了自從我從賓州回來迄今為止的第一個很大的中國團。那個團體包括三十六個人!我帶中國團時,還是會感到有點緊張,特別是我在帶一群很大的團體的時候。我每天都會做祈禱來祈求神賜給我語言的恩賜。我信賴祂!但是我和我的同伴最近所帶的德國團比中國團還要多。所以呢,我學會了一些德文!我會用德文來介紹自己,我也會說“謝謝”和“不客氣。”我天天還是會做祈禱來求神讓我有一個會說西班牙文的同伴。對我來說,學德文太困難了!我的西班牙文比德文好多了。總之,因為我們兩個一共會說三個不同的語言,所以我們最近比較忙一點。但因為昊姐妹是新來的,所以我們上個禮拜有一個“遊覽日。”基本上,我們倆花了幾個小時去看鹽湖城的一些地方,這樣子昊姐妹就可以對這邊更熟悉一點。我們那天有機會去遺址公園,那邊的教會歷史的紀念碑挺多。

我希望你們這週都過得很愉快!別忘記,我想念也愛你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

Leave a Reply

