Chapter L – The End of My 8th Transfer // 第五十篇 – 我第八個搬家期的結尾

Friday, June 20, 2014

Yikes, I’m headed into my 9th transfer next week! This last full week of the transfer has just flown by. Yesterday, they announced who was going outbound and where they will all be going. These sisters are so lucky! When I went outbound, I waited almost a week before I found out where I was going. Anyways, no one is going to Pittsburgh, but I’m convinced that next transfer, someone will go there! And that someone has to be a Chinese sister! I won’t lie, I am pretty jealous of the sisters going outbound. It’s not that I don’t like Temple Square (I love it!) – I just LOVED my outbound so much!

Anyways, this last week, I actually got to meet A, the one who was baptized at the beginning of the month! He is only 17 years old and he came with the family that helped to fellowship him in his ward. This family had a family reunion here so they brought A along. We got to take him on a tour and finally meet him! It was so cool. He is only the second person I’ve taught at Temple Square who I actually have met, so this was a huge blessing for me.

Our mission president also introduced a new language study program for the international sisters to learn English better. From Monday to Friday, we have people here teaching the international sisters English for about 2 hours. What a huge blessing for them! That means that while the international sisters are learning English, the rest of us go on exchanges. Sister May’s companion is from France so that means…..we go on exchanges every day now!! We have so much fun together and it’s like reliving our third transfer all over again. Except without our Supply Coordinator duties ;>

This past week, Sister Hadzik and I also finished up our “Explore Day.” We visited the Church History Museum and the Deseret Bookstore. It was a good day to finish up our Explore Day because it was pouring rain and very cold (about 45 degrees!) that day so the Square was pretty empty. On Monday, we will have Transfer Conference, so I’m not sure when my next PDay will be. Most likely, Sister Hadzik and I will still be companions so that I can finish training her. Although we were busy this last week and saw miracles, it was also kind of hard for us. Often times, we meet people here who do not really agree with our beliefs and it can be pretty disheartening. One particular day, we went home pretty discouraged and were fed up with it all. As we were getting ready for bed, I suddenly remembered a book of quotes that Jeremy’s mom had sent me. I took it out and read that book out loud for me and my companion. We felt SO much better afterwards! It was exactly what we needed at that time and it motivated us to work even harder the next day. I know that this work is hard and we will have some cloudy days, but we have the gospel and our Savior to help us. And this doesn’t only apply to missionaries – it applies to all of us in our daily lives! Keep on pressing forward, my friends. I love and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

P.S. This past week, I ran into Sister Parker, a sister I served with outbound, on the Square. We were never companions (I was in the student branch and she was in the family ward in State College) but she was an AMAZING missionary! She was also my Sister Training Leader for my first 2 transfers outbound. She was supposed to go home the same time as me in December, but she had to come back early for some health issues. I hope you guys will keep her in your prayers! Thanks!

Our recent convert! And with the family that fellowshipped him

Our recent convert! And with the family that fellowshipped him

2014年 6月 20日,星期五

我下週將要開始我的第九個搬家期!這週,也就是我第八個搬家期的最後一週,過得非常快。我的傳道部會長昨天宣布快要被調走的姐妹,以及她們要去的地方。這些姐妹都好幸運!我被調走時,等到一個禮拜才能知道我要去哪裡。總之,沒有姐妹會到匹茲堡去,但我十拿九穩下個搬家期會有一個姐妹要去那邊!而且,那個姐妹肯定是會說中文的!不瞞你說,我羨慕那些將要調到別的地方的姐妹們。我的意思並不是我不喜歡聖殿廣場(我真的愛它!),但我也非常地愛我在匹茲堡的傳道部!

我上個星期有機會跟艾德里安見面,他在這個月初就接受洗禮了!他只是十七歲而已。而且,他跟在他的支會所給他交誼的家庭一起來。陪著他的家庭在這邊去參加家族團聚,所以他們就帶阿德里安來猶他州。我和我的同伴有機會帶他去參觀聖殿廣場,我那時非常高興終於能跟他見面!他只是我在聖殿廣場的時候所教導而後來就親身在這邊見到的第二個人。所以呢,對我來說,此事真的是一個很大的祝福。

我的傳道部會長上個星期也把一個新的語言研讀項目給我們這些姐妹介紹。這個項目是針對于那些外國的姐妹們,這樣子她們就可以更有效地學習英文。禮拜一到禮拜五我們會有些人來到這邊用兩小時來教外國的姐妹英文。這也是一個很大的祝福!所以呢,當那些外國的姐妹在上英文課時,我和其它的姊妹就會交換同伴。因為梅姐妹的同伴是從法國來的,所以我們兩個每天都有機會在一起!我們倆在一起的時候會很快樂,而且就好像我們的第三個搬家期一樣!但我們現在沒有那個供應協調的責任 ;>

我和昊姐妹上週結束我們的“遊覽日。”我們去參觀教會歷史博物館和得瑟雷特書店。我們很幸運能在那天做我們的遊覽日,尤其是因為那天下大雨了,而且那天特別冷(大概四十五度!),所以去聖殿廣場的遊客非常的少。下個禮拜一是我們的搬家大會,所以我現在不知道我的下個準備日會在哪天。我覺得昊姐妹和我很有可能會又在一起,這樣子我就可以繼續訓練她。雖然我們上個星期很忙,並且我們看到很多奇蹟,但是也發生一些讓我們灰心的事。我們在這裡往往會遇到一些對我們教會的教義不同意的人。這樣反對我們教會的人有時會令我泄氣。有一天,我和我的同伴回家之後,就感覺到很沮喪,但我去睡覺前就突然想到忠航的媽媽所給我的一本書。這本書包括各種各樣鼓勵的引用。我那時去拿它,然後我就把它裡面的幾頁唸出來給我的同伴聽。當我唸完之後,我們就放心多了!它真的是我們在那時刻需要看的,特別是因為它讓我們得到更多的動機,使得我們在隔天更勤奮地工作。我知道做神的事工有時會很困難,我們並且也會碰到比較令人灰心的考驗,但是我也知道福音和我們的救主確實是可以幫助我們的。此事並不是傳教士只可以運用的,反而我們每個人隨時隨地可以信賴福音和我們的救主!加油!我愛也想念你們大家!

愛,
應姐妹

還有,我上個禮拜在廣場上跟帕克姐妹碰面,她是我在賓州時所認識的一個傳教士。我們在那邊時,沒有機會成為同伴團,但她真的是一個非常棒的傳教士!我在賓州時,她是我的第一個“姐妹訓練領袖。”她本來是跟我一樣,也就是在十二月份要結束傳教,但她是因為健康的問題而早一點回家了。我希望你們會為她禱告!謝謝!

Leave a Reply

