Chapter LIII – Hastening the Work and China // 第五十三篇 – 推動神的事工及中國

Friday, July 11, 2014

Hey everyone! Guess what? In less than 5 months, I will be HOME. Time is flying. This week, I ran into Chris on the Square. Chris (sorry, don’t remember his last name…) is Guo Mama’s grandson and he told me that he is going to Boston, Massachusetts, Chinese-speaking for his mission! I’m sure you all already knew that but I was so excited to hear about how well he is doing! He is so humble and I know he is going to be such a great missionary and will bless the lives of many. I also saw the Byers family this week! They ran into Sister Yang, Elder So’s girlfriend, first and she called me to let me know they were here. It was so good to see them all! It’s weird because it doesn’t seem like the last time I saw them was over a year ago. It seemed like just yesterday when I was working on my mission papers with Bishop Byers. I gave them the VIP tour and took them downstairs to see the mission office and our teaching center. Bishop Byers met a few of the Chinese sisters and got to chat with them for a little bit.

We also met a less active young man. He has a strong desire to come back and is thinking about a mission but he’s not really sure yet. But hey, that’s what missionaries are for! So we got his contact information and he actually lives near Salt Lake City so he will come visit us on the Square to have lessons. I’m really excited for him because he does have a testimony of the gospel and he knows that it makes him happy. He has seen and felt the differences in his life when he is active in the gospel. There are struggles and trials in his life right now but I know that as he continues to have a desire to come back, he will become active again! And eventually serve a full-time mission. I know that God has a plan for him and he will become an effective instrument in the Lord’s Hands.

This last week, we also had a couple meetings with the people who work on the programs we use to chat and call investigators. All I have to say is, technology is AWESOME. And the Lord’s work truly is hastening because of it. There are so many cool things in store but it will take a while for things to run smoothly. They’ve been working on different languages so that we can chat and take calls in different languages. We can already do that right now, but they’re working on a new program that will be even better than the one we have now. I’m really excited about it, but I think I will be long gone by the time the new programs are up and running. We’re basically testing it all out for them right now and giving them our feedback.

We’ve had a good week but I have one piece of sad news. R, my first Chinese convert and first convert outbound, went back to China this week. He graduated from Penn State and is back home in China now. He’s not sure when he will come back to the States again. Because of the government in China, our mission president has asked us missionaries to refrain from keeping in contact with people who are in China. We had our last phone call with him and the next time I talk to him will probably be after my mission. Richard has been such a great example to many of us and was always so willing to help us out with our lessons. He has a testimony of the Book of Mormon and has a strong desire to keep the commandments. I have no idea when I will ever see him again. Later that night, I knelt down to say a prayer before bed and felt an overwhelming sense of humility come over me. Of course I shed a few tears since we all know that State College, PA, has a special place in my heart. But I feel so lucky to be able to serve a mission and to meet people like R. It’s so hard to send off a good friend to a place where the Church is not yet recognized. He had questions that I could not answer because I’ve never experienced church in China. All I can do now is just trust in Heavenly Father, that He will take care of R for me. And I know He will. Right now, we might not be able to proselyte in China but we do have the blessing of teaching those who are visiting from China. Often times, Temple Square is the first and only time Chinese people will hear about the gospel. There is no time to waste. But I know that one day, China will open.

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

We went to the Bountiful temple for the 7:15 session because SLC temple is closed for maintenance. We woke up at 5:15 today. SO TIRED!

We went to the Bountiful temple for the 7:15 session because SLC temple is closed for maintenance. We woke up at 5:15 today. SO TIRED!

SISTER KUO!! MY FAVORITE!! She is so funny

SISTER KUO!! MY FAVORITE!! She is so funny

2014年 7月 11日,星期五

大家好!不到五個月之後,我就要回家了!光陰似箭!我這週在廣場上碰到了克里斯(他是郭媽媽的孫子),他跟我說到他要去波士頓那邊傳教,而且他的召喚語言是中文!我猜想你們多半已經知道這點,但我當時很高興聽到這條好消息!他真的是一個非常謙虛的人。我知道他即將會成為一個很棒的傳教士,他也會幫助很多人。我這週也在廣場上碰到了白家庭!他們那天先見到楊姊妹(她是蘇長老的女朋友),然後她就給我打電話來告訴我他們在這邊。能夠看到白家庭使我非常開心!我感覺好像上次看到他們不過是一年前。我跟白主教準備申請傳教的那時刻似乎才是昨天。我帶他們去看聖殿廣場,並且我們也給他們看在樓下的傳道部辦公室和教導中心。白主教那天認識了一些中國姊妹,所以他有機會跟她們聊一聊。

我和我的同伴也認識了一個不積極的男生。他很有渴望回來教會,他也在想該不該去傳教,但他還是不太確定。所以呢,我們覺得我們應該可以幫助他。他留下給我們他的資料。因為他住的地方離鹽湖城很近,所以他要在聖殿廣場跟我們上課。我很期待!他真的有一個見證,而且他也知道福音使他很快樂。他跟我們說到,他不積極時,真的可以感覺到很不一樣。他現在的生活中有些困難和考驗,但我知道只要他繼續有渴望回來教會,他就會再變成積極的,並且去當全時間的傳教士!我知道神已經為他預備好一個計劃,還有他將要會成為主手中的工具。

我們上個星期有機會跟這裡的一些程式設計員開會(他們專門做我們這些傳教士所用的電腦程式)。我可要說的是,科技是非常棒!它的確是使神的事工在不斷地發展。他們跟我們分享他們即將要做的新的功能,但是還需要等一段時間才能順利下來。他們開始花功夫在搞不同的語言上,這樣我們終於能用外語來跟外國人聊天。他們正在弄一個比我們已經在用的還要好的程式。我很期待!不過我估計我們的傳道部得等很久才能用這些新的程式。基本上,我們這邊的姊妹們最近在試驗他們給我們用的樣機,然後我們就會提供評估給他們。

雖然這個禮拜過得不錯,但是我還有一條令我難過的消息。理查德(我在賓州那邊的第一個新歸信者)上週就回去了中國。他剛從賓州州立大學畢業,然後現在已經在大陸。他不太確定什麼時候要回來美國。還有,因為中國的政府還沒完全接受我們的教會,所以我的傳道部會長告訴我們說,我們在傳教時,不能跟已經回去中國大陸的人保持聯絡。所以呢,我上個禮拜給理查德最後一次的打電話。我得等到我傳教完之後,才能再跟他聯繫。理查德真的是一個很棒的新教友。他給我立下的印象很深。我在賓州那邊時,他經常很樂意地幫我們教導其它的慕道友。他對摩爾門經的見證非常強,而且他也很想遵守誡命。我不知道我在未來的日子會不會再見到他。我當天晚上跪下來而做祈禱,我那時感到非常謙卑。我果然流了不少眼淚,特別是因為我很想念賓州。我感覺到非常幸運能夠為神傳教,並且也很幸運能夠認識想理查德一樣的人。對我來說,有一個很好的朋友到一個沒有接受我們的教會去的地方,是一件不容易的事。他那天問我很多的問題,但是因為我對中國大陸不熟,所以我沒辦法給他回答。我現在只能做的是對天父有信心。我希望祂會眷顧理查德。我知道祂會!雖然我們的教會現在不可再中國大陸公開地傳福音,但是我們在美國還有很多的機會教導那些來自中國的人。去拜訪聖殿廣場往往是中國人唯一的機會聽到福音。我們不該浪費時間!我知道中國大陸有一天會開放!

愛,
應姊妹

Leave a Reply

