Chapter LIV – Things I’ve Learned // 第五十四篇 – 我所學到的事情

Friday, July 18, 2014

Here’s a list of things I’ve learned these past few days. It sums up my week pretty well.

1. I can never live in or near a forest.
On Saturday, we went to Girls Camp up in Brighton again! I went there during my first transfer with my trainer, and Sister Hadzik also got to go with her trainer, me! There are so many good, spiritually uplifting experiences that build unity and help us gain a stronger testimony. My favorite activity was still “Lifeline.” We have to navigate through a bunch of trees while being blindfolded and it was a bit frustrating at times (I ran into quite a few trees – don’t worry, we had helmets on). But at the very end of the course, our mission president took us by the hand and told us welcome back. All this is done while we are totally blindfolded, so we never knew when we were reaching the end. But it was so comforting to finally get to my mission president and hear a familiar voice. It reminds me of how badly our Heavenly Father wants us to return home to Him. Anyways, while I was up in the mountains, I was eaten alive by mosquitoes. Some of you might remember….I’M DEATHLY ALLERGIC TO BUG BITES! I got bit right smack dab on my forehead…..and of course it SWELLED UP like crazy. It looked like a huge tumor on my head. Luckily, I have bangs so I was able to cover it up pretty well. But for a few nights, I had to make a special paste (the nurse told me to) and smear it all over my head to basically suck out all the poison. And then I slept with a huge band aid on my head. Don’t worry, there are pictures for you to see. But hey, pictures don’t do this bite justice. The swelling has gone down for the most part but now I just look like I have a bruise on my head.

2. China will open one day!
This week, the mission posted the statistics of scheduled large group tours for the months of May and June. Get this: for Mandarin, it was over 16,500 Chinese people. How crazy is that?! And that’s not even counting the unscheduled large groups that randomly show up at West Gate or the small side tours. And this isn’t counting this month yet! I can’t wait to see this month’s statistics. Temple Square really is the best mission ever. This transfer (it’s only Week 4), Sister Hadzik and I have taught over 500 Chinese people already (she’s been keeping track of the number of Chinese people we take on tours). How lucky am I to be in a place where I get to preach the gospel to literally THOUSANDS of people? This week, I took a tour of 20 Mandarin and 7 families referred from that tour! Literally, almost every family in that tour referred themselves. Unfortunately, they all live in Mainland China so we can’t teach them right now, but I know the Lord has prepared so many of them. We also had a baptism on Saturday. His name is L X and he is from China and was baptized in my outbound YSA branch in State College! The sisters there met him after I left and they asked me to call and teach him over the phone ’cause of the language barrier. They sent me pictures this past week and it made me so happy to see some familiar faces! I’m sad I never got the chance to meet L in person, but he sounds so positive and ready to endure to the end. He’ll be a great addition to the branch. They also told me they JUST moved into the new church building this last weekend. They have been praying and fasting for this building for literally years. We always met on campus because there weren’t enough members to have an actual church building yet. I’m sad I wasn’t able to see it (it was supposed to be finished in May, right before I left), but I’m so excited for the Penn State students/members!

3. Life is precious.
As I mentioned earlier in my email, we never actually know when the end is near. We never know when we will meet our Maker. This week, we felt prompted to send a quick text to our less-active. He told us that his younger sister suddenly passed away. It was hard on all of us. He is trying so hard to come back to the Church and it seems like he’s just hitting trial after trial after trial. But I hope you can all remember to cherish one another and to love one another because it’s true – we really don’t know when our time is up here.

4. Heavenly Father hears our prayers and communicates with us through the Holy Ghost.
One night, I got an inbound phone call when we were in the Teaching Center. It was from a man who said he was going through a hard time. His tone was rough and he was very defensive. He wanted to talk to someone but didn’t tell me what was going on. I was caught off guard when I received this call because it showed on my screen that he had called in to order a free DVD about Jesus Christ, but he didn’t even bring up the DVD. The next thing I know, he said that I didn’t care about him and hung up. We decided to call him back to see how we can help him. He ended up screaming on the phone, calling me some not so nice names, and saying how I didn’t care about him. That night, I went home feeling pretty horrible about myself. I thought, “He’s right. I don’t have enough charity or patience. I shouldn’t be allowed to serve a mission and claim to be a representative of Jesus Christ!” The next morning, I prayed to know what I should study to feel better about the whole situation. I had originally planned to study charity because I felt like that was what I really lacked. But I paused for a moment and the thought came to me, “What would Jesus Christ say to me right now? Would He tell me what my weaknesses are? Would He help me feel better about myself?” In that moment, I desperately wanted to know, “What does He think of me?” I decided that the next best thing I had was the words of our prophet and apostles. I picked up the April 2014 General Conference Ensign edition and planned to read one of President Monson’s talk. But I felt myself directed to President Uchtdorf’s talk from the priesthood session. I really enjoyed his talk but I didn’t feel like anything really stood out to me for my current situation. I finished up my personal study and got ready to go to the Square for the day. As we were walking past the temple, I had a feeling and thought to look at the temple grounds. I didn’t know why and when I turned, I noticed some people walking around. The temple is actually closed for maintenance right now so no one is allowed on the grounds. My first thought was,” How did the people get there? I thought it was closed.” I turned back and continued walking. A distinct voice in my head told me to look again. I looked again and this time, I recognized President Uchtdorf, walking around the grounds with his wife. Long story short, we ended up talking to him and his wife for a brief moment. I told him that I literally just read his talk 15 minutes earlier! We shook hands through the gates and in that moment, I knew how aware Heavenly Father was of me. I wanted to know so badly what Jesus Christ thought of me and only an hour later, I met an apostle of our Savior and had the honor of chatting with him and shaking his hand. I know that Heavenly Father was giving me answers as he put those words in my head. And I am so grateful that I listened to that still small voice.

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Sister Cheng, Sister Hadzik, and me

Sister Cheng, Sister Hadzik, and me

Temple Square mission shirts!

Temple Square mission shirts!

Band aid

Band aid

So big, you can see the bite protruding out

So big, you can see the bite protruding out

Girls camp

Girls camp

2014年 7月 18日,星期五

以下是我在這幾天裡所學到的一些事情。

1. 我絕對不能在樹林裡或離樹林很近的地方住。
我們上個禮拜六再到布萊頓那邊去參加“女孩露營!”在我的第一個搬家期,我和我的訓練者一起去那邊。這次是昊姊妹和她的訓練者(也就是我)去那邊!這個女孩露營的機會很特別,它使我們這些姊妹們變得更團結,而且它也使我們的見證變得更堅強。我在那裡最喜歡的活動還是“救生索。”做這個活動時,你先需要矇住眼睛,然後在樹林裡跑來跑去。它有時會讓我覺得太麻煩(我我撞到了幾棵樹,但不要擔心,我們會戴安全帽)。在最後一部分,我們的傳道部會長就會伸出手而跟我們說,歡迎你回來。這一切都是在我們的眼睛被蒙住的時候發生的。所以呢,我們在做時,根本不知道目的地是多遠。能夠終於聽到我傳道部會長的聲音的確讓我感到安慰。這個活動也讓我更加了解天父所想要的,也就是我們每個人回去祂那裡再次與祂同住。在另一方面,我在山上時,被很多蚊子叮了。你們有些人可能會記得…. 我對蟲咬非常過敏!我的額頭剛好也被叮了…. 然後它當然腫起來了,腫得很厲害!我的額頭那時看起來好像有個腫瘤在它的上面。我現在幸好有劉海,所以我的劉海會蓋住我額頭上腫瘤的樣子。但是有幾天我得自己弄一種藥膏(這邊的護士叫我這麼做),然後把這個藥膏塗在我的額頭上。這樣子,它就會把蟲咬裡面的毒吸收掉。我上週每天晚上在睡覺時,也需要帶著綁帶。不要急,我會把幾張照片給你們看。但是這幾張照片並不會有效地表示真正的樣子。腫脹已經縮小了很多,所以現在看起來我的額頭上有一大塊瘀青。

2. 中國大陸有一天會開放!
我們的傳道部這個星期把五月和六月約定的大遊客團體的統計宣布了。你們看,普通話的團體超過了一萬六千五百個中國人!不可思議!這個數字也並不包括那些沒有約定而突然過來的中國團。並且,這個數字也沒有包括這個月的統計!我很期待看這個月的統計是多少。聖殿廣場真的是世界上最好的傳道部!我和昊姊妹這個搬家期(現在只是第四週)已經教導了五百多個中國人(她天天都會把我們所帶的每個中國遊客記下來)。我多麼的幸運能夠來到這邊傳教,我在這裡有機會像成千上萬的人傳播福音!我這個星期帶了二十個中國遊客,其中的七個家庭留下資料給我們!那個團體裡面的遊客幾乎都把自己的資料留給我們。但不巧的,他們統統都是從大陸來的,所以我們現在不可教導他們。不過天父還是在幫助他們準備好接受福音。我們上個禮拜六參加了一個洗禮會。這個歸信者的名字叫李敘,他來自中國大陸。他那天在我賓州那邊的單身分會接受洗禮!那裡的姐妹們在我回來鹽湖城之後,就認識了他。然後,她們是因為語言障礙而請我在電話上教導他。她們上個禮拜把幾張照片寄給我,能夠看到他們使我非常高興!我有點難過我在賓州那裡時,沒有機會認識李敘,但是他聽起來非常開心,而且他也好像已經準備好持守到底。他會成為那邊的分會的優秀教友。她們也跟我說過,她們上個週末剛搬到新的教堂。那邊的教友這幾年都為這座教堂禁食祈禱。我在那裡時,因為我們分會的教友不夠,所以我們不能有一座教堂。我們當時只好每個星期天在校園裡聚集在一起。我很難過不能看它(它原來是在五月份就蓋完的,我走的前幾天),但是我還是很高興那邊的賓州州立大學的學生和教友終於有一座教堂!

3. 生命是寶貴的。
我在以上已經提到,我們真的不知道生命的盡頭是什麼時候。我們也不知道我們什麼時候會去見我們的創造者。我們這週受到靈感,也就是發個短信給我們的一個不積極的教友。他後來就跟我們說到,他的妹妹突然去世了。這事都使我們非常難過。他最近在努力回來教會,但他好像一直在遇到各種各樣的考驗。我希望你們都會記得彼此相愛,尤其是因為這句話是真實的,我們的確不知道在世上的生活會多長。

4. 天父會聆聽我們的禱告,而祂會透過聖靈與我們溝通。
我有一天晚上在教導中心接到了打來的電話。在電話線上的是一位男士,他跟我說到最近遇到了不少困難。他那時的語氣聽起來很兇。他說他要跟一個人講話,但他不願跟我說明為甚麼。當時我有點困惑,尤其是因為他打電話過來時,我在屏幕上看到這位打來的原因是訂一部有關於耶穌基督的免費視頻光盤,但他一點都不講這件事。接下來,他突然間就告訴我說,我並不關心他,然後他馬上掛了電話。我和我的同伴決定給他打電話問問看我們怎麼能幫忙。但他一直在罵我們,他也叫我一些非常粗魯的髒話,並且他又跟我說到,我一點都不關心他。當天晚上我回家之後,一直感到很失望。我想到,“他所說的都沒錯。我的博愛和耐心都不夠。我不該當傳教士,也不該自稱我是耶穌基督的代表!”我在隔天的早上為了克服前一天所發生的事,做了一個祈禱來求神讓我知道我應該學習的事情。因為我覺得我缺少了博愛,所以我本來打算學習這項原則。但我停下來了,然後在我腦海𥚃跑出了一個念頭,“耶穌基督現在要跟我說的話應該是什麼?祂會不會跟我說我的弱點是什麼?祂會不會幫助我譲我對自己感到更滿意?”在這一時刻我非常想要知道,“祂對我有什麼看法?”接下來,我就決定我最好去看先知和使徒所說的話語。所以呢,我拿了二零一四年總會大會的教會雜誌。我原來是想要讀孟孫會長的演講,但我後來得到靈感去看鄔希鐸會長在聖職會所做的演講。我很喜歡這個演講,但我讀完之後覺得它並沒有在我那時的情況下帶給我任何的協助。我做完了個人研讀,然後我和我的同伴就去了廣場上。我們在經過聖殿時,我突然有一個感覺,也就是回身去看聖殿的場地。鹽湖城的聖殿最近是因為需要保養而被關門了,所以現在任何人都不能去那裡。我的第一個念頭是,那些人怎麼進去聖殿的場地?我以為它被關門了。”我就再回過身而繼續往前走。在我腦海裡,我又聽了一個很清楚的聲音,也就是說,再回身去看看。所以呢,我就看了一下,然後我認出是鄔希伯會長來了。他那時在聖殿的場地上跟太太散步。長話短說,我們後來聊了一下。我告訴他我前十五分鐘就在讀他的演講!我們隔著大門握過手,同時我在那一時刻就知道天父的確在眷顧我。我那天非常想知道耶穌基督到底對我有什麼想法,不到一個小時之後,我認識了我們救主其中的一個使徒。我也有那麼難得機會跟他聊天和握手。我知道天父在那天透過我的思想賜給我答案。我非常感激我聽從了那個微小的聲音。

愛,
應姊妹

Leave a Reply

