Chapter LVII – 11 Days Later… // 第五十七篇 – 十一天之後…

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Family & Friends,

I’m alive. My last Pday was a week and a half ago. We had transfers last week and in the process with my new schedule, I lost a Pday during my first week. To say I am exhausted is an understatement but all is well. This transfer has been pretty exciting, though. Lots of different things are happening and I’m excited to tackle on this new transfer. Oh yeah, my new Pday is Tuesday now, not Friday anymore!

Last last Friday (8/1/14), the assistants called me into their office and extended the calling of a district leader to me and asked if I was willing to accept this. For my not-Mormon friends, a district is basically a group of missionaries, about 6-8 of us. Multiple districts make up a zone and we have zone leaders who watch over us. Finally, multiple zones make up a mission and we have the assistants to the mission president as well as the mission president himself who watch over us. Hope that made sense. Anyways, since that Friday, all the craziness, stress, and exhaustion began. The following Monday, we had transfer conference, which was at 7 in the morning. Only in the Temple Square mission do we ever have meetings this early. Even church here is at 7:30 on Sundays. When I was outbound, we never had anything this early! Oh well, I’m not complaining. It just means we get an earlier start on our day and can accomplish more things. Anyways, this last transfer conference brought a lot of changes.

First, I am a district leader, so that means I have many more responsibilities than ever before. I no longer have to worry about just me and my companion, but I am also responsible for 6 more sisters, so a total of 8 sister missionaries, including myself and my companion. Oh yeah, I have a new companion! Her name is Sister Lopez and she is from Mexico! I have been praying for a Spanish speaking companion (preferably from Mexico since I LOVE MEXICAN FOOD) and this prayer was answered! I have been learning a lot of Spanish again and it is so fun to practice my Spanish with her. Sister Lopez is in her 5th transfer now and has had all American companions her whole mission. This is the first time she has taken tours in a language she doesn’t understand, so taking Chinese tours is new for her. As you can imagine, between speaking Chinese and Spanish, we are always busy. To top that off, I now serve in the Beehive House! The Beehive House was Brigham Young’s house and the Temple Square missionaries take tours through there, too. I spend almost 20 hours a week at the Beehive House, so that means I no longer have a lot of time on the Square, which also means way less Chinese motorcoaches. In fact, I don’t think I’ve taken a Chinese motorcoach since this transfer started. At first, this really bothered me – my thoughts were always on the Square, agonizing over the fact that I was missing a bunch of Chinese tours. We haven’t taken any Chinese tours through the Beehive House, which is probably a good thing since I have a whole new set of Chinese vocabulary that I need to learn. But anyways, I was not a fan of my new assignment of serving in the Beehive House and didn’t feel effective being there. But what I really needed to do was to change my attitude and just accept that right now, Heavenly Father has different plans for me, and it is to serve in the Beehive House. The most challenging thing about serving there is bridging the gospel with the history. On Temple Square, it is so much easier to do that since you have the buildings around you and it’s so much easier to connect everything with the gospel. However, with the Beehive House, visitors are more focused on whether or not things in the house are original. In the beginning, I struggled. I didn’t know how to bridge the gospel and I felt like I was a tour guide, not a missionary anymore. It was frustrating. However, my companion and I have been practicing taking Beehive House tours and focusing on how to bridge the gospel with what we have. I know that after this transfer, this will be a valuable skill that I will learn and I will become an even more effective missionary and instrument in the Lord’s Hands because I will be able to connect some of the most random things to the gospel. I’m excited about that.

The day after transfer conference, the Taiwan sisters plus me met at 7:30 in the morning to film something for a Taiwan Youth Conference that is coming up in a couple weeks. I really don’t know much of the details yet, but when the time gets closer, I will fill you guys in about that! The theme was “Come Unto Christ” for them and we were basically encouraging them to prepare themselves to be worthy to enter the temple. Maybe you guys will see this video when I’m home. I haven’t even watched the finished product yet. Anyways, right after filming, I had to move for 4 sisters, including myself…oh the perks of being an American and having a driver’s license. For the next 2 and a half hours, I climbed up and down the stairs and lugged around a bunch of suitcases. After moving a bunch of stuff, I had to run back to the Square to finish filming for the Taiwan Youth Conference.

Wednesday was Transfer Day. That morning, I also had to drive Sister Cheng, my trainer, to the airport. Yup, she is home in Hong Kong now. Ugh, saddest day of my life!! She had to go home one transfer early to prepare herself to go back to school. She is so awesome and has made such a huge influence on my life. Everyone friend her on Facebook! Haha. But seriously, I miss her so much. It is weird to be here at Temple Square without her. I miss her dearly and I hope I can see her sometime in the future. We’ve seen so many miracles together and I just love her so much.

Anyways, this transfer has just been busy busy and so different. I love taking Spanish tours though. The Spanish people are so humble and prepared. The majority of the Spanish people cry during the tours. What a change from our Chinese and German tours! Whenever I hear them share their testimony or see them cry, I want to cry with them. For example, we played the Christus recording for a family and the grandmother could not stop crying the whole time. They accepted the Book of Mormon and asked us to keep in touch with them so that we can continue sharing more about the gospel of Jesus Christ with them. But really, it doesn’t matter what languages my companion and I speak. The work is the same and the Lord has prepared so many people.

Well, this email has been a pretty long one. I guess it makes up for the fact that I didn’t send one last week. I was really stressed out at the beginning of the transfer, but things have calmed down now that I’ve gotten the hang of things. I really do have no time for myself anymore though. Actually, I got a letter from my dad and Jeremy on a Thursday and was so busy I couldn’t even open or read it until Sunday night…..I feel like my companion and I are always rushing to the Beehive House or scrambling to take another tour. I don’t think we’ve been able to sit down for a full hour for dinner this whole transfer yet. But I like being busy and what can be better than being busy doing the Lord’s work? I am excited to get to know the sisters in my district and serve them. Being a district leader has helped me develop greater love and has helped me become less focused on myself since they are now my first priority, along with my investigators. My district consists of Sisters Torino (the Philippines) and Toa (Vanuatu), Sisters Khaomuangnoi (Thailand) and Rangel (Brazil), and Sisters Davis (St. George, Utah) and Merrill (Idaho). We are a pretty diverse district with lots of differences, but I’m excited to work with them. This morning, I was in a 5 hour meeting called Mission Leadership Council with our mission president and other mission leaders and I learned so much! I am grateful for this calling and excited to serve others. I know I am going to grow so much this transfer.

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Me and my new companion Sister Lopez

Me and my new companion Sister Lopez

The first night we moved in, they said that we were getting bunk beds the next day so we just slept in the living room the first night!

The first night we moved in, they said that we were getting bunk beds the next day so we just slept in the living room the first night!

2014年 8月 12日,星期二

親戚朋友,

我還活著!自從我上個準備日,已經過了一個半禮拜。上週發生了搬家日,結果我新的召喚使我上個星期沒有準備日。所以呢,我現在累扁了,但一切都好。剛開始的搬家期已經讓我很興奮。我有許多新的任務!對了!我新的準備日是星期二,再也不是星期五。

這邊的傳道部會長的助理們在上個星期五請我去她們的辦公室。她們那時問我,願不願意擔任一個地區領袖。我那些非教友的朋友可能不懂這個地區領袖的責任是什麼。我要解釋一下!一個地區包括大概六到八個傳教士。然後,一些地區會成為一個地帶。最後,所有的地帶就是一個傳道部。每個傳道部都有一個會長,也有兩個助理。他們都是我們傳道部的領袖們。希望你們能了解這點。總之,我最近所感到的壓力都是在上個星期五開始的。我們在上個禮拜一舉行了搬家大會(它在那天早上七點開的)。只有在這個聖殿廣場的傳道部會有這麼早的會議。我們的教會聚會也是在星期天早上七點半開始的。我在賓州時,從來沒參加過這麼早的任何會議!算了,我並不是在抱怨。這樣的方法使我們能更早地做該天需要做的事情。所以呢,這個新的搬家期發生了不少的變化。

首先,因為我是一個地區領袖,所以我現在的責任比以前更多。我不只是需要擔心自己和我的同伴,我也需要帶領六個其它的姊妹。對了,我有一個新的同伴!她的名字是羅姊妹。她是從墨西哥來的!我最近一直在禱告會有一個說西班牙文的同伴(特別是一個來自墨西哥的同伴,因為我超喜歡吃墨西哥菜!)我的祈禱得到了答覆!我最近學到了很多的西班牙語。我非常喜歡跟我的同伴練習西班牙文。這個搬家期是羅姐妹的第五個。她以前的同伴都是美國人。所以呢,這個搬家期是她第一次有一個會說她不懂的語言的同伴。所以呢,她當然不習慣帶中文團。像你們想像,因為她會西班牙文,而我會中文,所以我們兩個每天都非常的忙。並且,我現在也是在這邊的蜂巢屋服務的!那個蜂巢屋是楊百翰以前住過的房子。我們這些聖殿廣場的傳教士也會在那裡帶團。我每週會花大概二十個小時在那邊,所以我在廣場上的時間就不多了。我最近也不太會帶那些很大的中文團。實際上,我這個搬家期好像一個也沒有帶。一開始的時候,我有點難過,就是因為我一直在想聖殿廣場。不能帶那些中文團使我有點沮喪。我們在蜂巢屋還沒帶任何的中文團。但我可能有點幸運,因為我現在需要學習很多的新的中文生詞。總之,我本來不喜歡這個蜂巢屋的召喚,尤其是因為我覺得我在那邊時,不能有效地傳播福音。後來,我就下定決心改變我的態度。我發覺到天父已經為我預備了一個新的計劃,然後這個計劃使我能夠在那個蜂巢屋服務。在那裡最難適應的事情是,如何用蜂巢屋的歷史來教導福音。在聖殿廣場,這麼做比較簡單,特別是因為在那裡會有很多美妙的建築物。而且在那裡所有周圍的東西都會跟福音有關係,所以我覺得我在那邊可以更容易地分享福音。不過在蜂巢屋,那邊的遊客平常只會對屋子裡面的東西有興趣,他們經常會問那些東西是不是原本的。所以呢,一開始在那裡服務時,我覺得很困難。我那時根本不知道如何分享福音,而且我感覺到我好像只是一個導遊而已,我覺得我並不是一個傳教士。這些事讓我很灰心。但我的同伴和我最近在練習帶蜂巢屋的團體,而如何在那裡分享福音。我知道這個搬家期過後,這件事情會成為我所學到的才能。並且,因為我會學到如何更順利地分享福音,所以我也相信我會成為主手中的有效的工具,也會成為一個更好的傳教士。我為這點很期待!

搬家大會的隔天,這邊的台灣姊妹和我在早上七點半集合來錄下來一部影片。這部是要給台灣男女青年看的。他們將要會舉行台灣男女青年大會。我還是不太清楚這件事情的細節,但我一發現到就會跟你們分享!他們快要辦的大會的題目是,“歸向基督。”所以呢,我們基本上所做的,就是鼓勵他們準備好自己進去聖殿。在我返鄉之後,你們可能會有機會看這部影片。我也還沒看它。我當天也幫四個姊妹搬家,我在那天也搬家了。因為我是一個美國人,而我有一個駕照,所以我只好幫她們搬家。為了幫她們搬很多的行李,我花了兩半小時一直在跑來跑去。搬完之後,我馬上回去廣場上來做完那個台灣男女青年大會的影片。

上個禮拜三是搬家日。我在那天早上送程姊妹到機場(她是我的訓練者)。她已經回到家了(在香港)。我那天非常難過!她早一個搬家期返鄉了來準備回去讀大學。她的人非常棒!她給我留下的印象很深。我要鼓勵大家在Facebook上給她一個朋友邀請!哈哈!我真的已經開始很想她了。每次想到她不在這邊時,我會覺得很奇怪。我非常想她。我希望我將來會有機後再見到她。我們兩個在一起時,看到不少的奇蹟。我真的愛她。

總之,這個新的搬家期比較忙。並且,這個搬家期非常不一樣。但我很喜歡帶西班牙文團。那些西班牙人很謙虛,他們大部份也已經準備好聽福音。他們經常在參觀聖殿廣場時,會流淚。他們跟中國人和德國人完全不一樣!我聽到他們的見證或看到他們哭時,會想要跟他們一起哭。比如說,我們有一次為一個家庭把那個基督的錄音給他們聽,然後那個家庭中的祖母不斷地哭。他們後來拿到了一本摩爾門經。他們也跟我們說,他們希望我們會保持聯絡,也希望我們可以跟他們多分享耶穌基督的福音。不管我們所說的語言是什麼,神的事工都一樣,而且祂已經準備了很多人聽福音。

這個電郵很長。但我上禮拜沒有寫信給你們,所以我這次寫了更多。這個搬家期一開始的時候,我很緊張,也感到很多的壓力。但是我覺得我已經平靜下來了,而且我已經習慣這個新的責任。我真的沒有很多的時間來想到自己的事。其實,我在上個禮拜四收到了我爸爸和忠航寫給我的兩封信,但因為我這幾天太忙了,所以我不得不等到禮拜天晚上才能看這兩封信。我最近感覺到好像我和我的同伴一直在跑到那個蜂巢屋或廣場上來帶團。我們也還沒坐下來用一個小時的時間來吃晚飯。但我很喜歡這麼忙的生活。沒有其它的事情比做神的事工還重要!我很期待更認識我地區裡面的每個姊妹。我也很期待為她們服務。擔任一個地區領袖的確使我培養了更多的愛心,這個責任也讓我忘記自己的問題或煩惱。我已經把我的地區和慕道友放在首位。我的地區包括鈄姊妹(菲律宾),陶姊妹(瓦努阿图),高姊妹(泰國),阮姊妹(巴西),戴姊妹(猶他州),梅姊妹(愛達荷州)。我們的地區很特別!我很期待跟她們服務。我今天早上和我的傳道部會長和其它的領袖參加了一個會議,它叫做傳道部領袖會議(五個小時的會議)。我學到了很多!我很感激能夠受到這個新的召喚。我知道我在這個搬家期時,會成長很多。

愛,
應姊妹

Leave a Reply

