Chapter LXII – End of My 10th Transfer // 第六十二篇 – 第十個搬家期的結尾

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Okay, where do I even begin?! I have SO MUCH to tell you guys! I don’t even know where to start. I am so excited!

First things first. Sister Kuo is going to the Pennsylvania Pittsburgh mission!!!! She is from Taiwan and she is literally one of my very best friends in this mission. She is leaving tomorrow morning and I’m taking her to the airport at 4 in the morning. Rough, huh? But of course I am so willing to do that for her! Ever since I got back from PA, I kept telling her that she would be the one to take my place in State College. She refused to believe that because she really wanted to go to New York or California. But I know she is absolutely perfect for that area and she will love it. For the last 4 months, I have been praying that Sister Kuo would go there for her outbound. However, Sister Kuo started training a new sister in June and my hopes were dashed ’cause I thought someone would go out there in August and she wouldn’t be done training her companion until September (aka now). I was disappointed, but I thought, “Oh well. At least a Chinese sister will be there.” Well, nope! No one went out there in August because my mission president here forgot about putting in a recommendation for a Chinese speaker to be in Pittsburgh. When he told me no Chinese sister was going to PA in August, my world like ended!! Okay maybe I’m being a little dramatic but I was SO UPSET. We were trying to decide whether or not we should send a Chinese sister out there last second, but in the end, President Poulsen decided that he would send someone out next transfer. As this transfer was coming to an end, I emailed him and reminded him again to send a Chinese sister to PA. Long story short, Sister Kuo will be going to my area! I cannot even begin to describe how happy I am. I love the people in State College so much and I obviously want someone I know and am close with to go to that same area to teach those people. I talked to President Poulsen and asked if Sister Kuo was going to PA because I had asked him to send her there. He said he never once mentioned Sister Kuo’s name when he put in the recommendation to the Brethren. He had talked to the missionary department and the missionary department called the mission president out in PA to see if he would like a Temple Square Chinese sister. The mission president there said yes and President Poulsen submitted 5 Chinese sisters’ applications to the Brethren and out of those 5 sisters, they decided that Sister Kuo would go out there. On Thursday, they announced who was going where for outbound and I was practically in tears because I was so happy. I just feel so at peace knowing that Sister Kuo will be serving there. She is one of the most hardworking sisters I have met on my mission and she is just so good. Of course, after I found out that she was going there, I prayed so much to thank Heavenly Father for everything. I just feel so blessed to have been able to serve in that area and to meet all the amazing people and families there. I remember when I first found out I was going to the Pittsburgh mission, I was so confused. Then, Sister Price (her dad is the stake president of my area there and she serves here at Temple Square) looked at my itinerary and told me that I was going to be in State College. I had no idea what that meant and she told me that I was going to teach the Chinese students there. When she told me that, I was so scared! I was not planning on packing any Chinese study materials for outbound and I was in denial when she told me that I would teach Chinese people. I felt completely unqualified ’cause my Chinese is not perfect. I kept thinking to myself, “Why can’t they send a native Chinese speaker there?! Why me?” I had my heart set on going to Washington DC or New York. But of course, Heavenly Father knew why. He knew I needed to meet certain people out there because I learned so much from them. My experiences out there really shaped me into the person I am today. So many sisters told me that I became really different when I came back from outbound. I’m not really sure what those changes are but I remember one of the APs (assistants to the president) told me that I came back glowing with a much stronger light in me. Okay, I’m going to stop talking about PA now because you are all probably sick of hearing about it. But really, this whole experience has confirmed to me once again that Heavenly Father truly does have a plan. I wanted a Chinese sister to go there in August but that didn’t happen. I was crushed at that time but Heavenly Father had something so much better in store. My best friend gets to serve in my area! What more can I ask for? Heavenly Father doesn’t answer our prayers in the way we want sometimes but that is because He knows best and He wants us to be happy, happier than we can even imagine. I just love how much I’m learning on my mission and I love serving Him!! I love the Lord. The only bittersweet thing about Sister Kuo leaving for PA is that she will be returning from outbound on the day I go home from my mission. We don’t know when we will ever see each other again ’cause she’s in Taiwan (or Hawaii for school) and I’m always in California but I know that one day, we will see each other again!

Alright, now that that’s out of the way….tomorrow is transfer day! I’m starting my 11th transfer tomorrow. I cannot believe how fast the time flies. So here’s what’s happening to me…

  1. My new companion is Sister Humble! She is also from California, but from the northern part. She is half Chinese (her mom is from Hong Kong) but doesn’t really speak or understand Chinese. I’m excited to get to know her more. She told me that she had prayed for her new companion to be obedient and hardworking. Apparently, some sisters knew that about her and quite a few people guessed that we would be companions. I really didn’t see it coming though. Anyways, I will miss teaching Spanish people! 😦
  2. My new Pday is on Monday now!
  3. I am out of the Beehive House and back on the Square again. I will miss the Beehive House and I’m kind of scared of large Chinese groups again. I haven’t taken like any large Chinese groups in the last 6 weeks ’cause I’ve been in the Beehive House but I’m sure I’ll get back into the swing of things. I do have a new assignment this transfer though…Sister Humble and I are zone leaders together. She was a zone leader this last transfer already and I am one of 4 new zone leaders. I’m slightly intimidated. Slightly might be an understatement. I’ve only been a district leader for one transfer and I was expecting that I would be a district leader again next transfer. The rest of the zone leaders (besides the 3 other new ones) have already served as a zone leader for 1 or 2 transfers. I have looked up to many of these sisters my whole mission and they have been such huge role models for me. I feel like I have so much to learn!

Okay I need to get going because I need to get home and pack everything up. And hopefully sleep early since I need to drive to the airport. I hope you guys are doing well. I love you!!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

P.S. I saw the BEST THING EVER on the Square the other day. There was a CAT on a LEASH walking around the Square!!! But wait, IT GETS BETTER. The owner had a PET STROLLER. She put her cat back into the stroller and walked around, pushing the stroller. The cat was SO HAPPY. It just sat there and meowed cheerfully. Parentals, I want a pet stroller for SquirrelCat. I expect this as a Christmas present when I get home! Then SquirrelCat and I can go on a walk every day. Okay bye.

P.P.S. I am NOT a crazy cat lady.

SISTER KUO AND I!!!!!!

SISTER KUO AND I!!!!!!

Today is Mexico's Independence Day!! Yay!!!!

Today is Mexico’s Independence Day!! Yay!!!!

WE WENT TO THE ZOO TODAY

WE WENT TO THE ZOO TODAY

Being birds

Being birds

Sister Merrill (Idaho), me, Sister Davis (St. George, UT), Sister Sherratt (Diamond Bar, CA), Sister Klein (Brazil), & Sister Lopez (Mexico)

Sister Merrill (Idaho), me, Sister Davis (St. George, UT), Sister Sherratt (Diamond Bar, CA), Sister Klein (Brazil), & Sister Lopez (Mexico)

2014年 9月 16日,星期二

我有許多要告訴你們的事情!我不知道如何開始。我非常開心!

首先,郭姐妹快要去賓州匹茲堡的傳道部!她是從台灣來的,而且她是我在這邊最好的朋友之一。她明天要走,所以我明天凌晨四點要送她到機場。太早了!但我當然很樂意幫她這個忙!自從我從賓州回來,我一直告訴她她會去州立大學那邊。但她不願相信我,因為她原來非常想去紐約或加州。我知道她在賓州會做得很棒,她也會非常喜歡那邊。我最近的四個月做了很多的祈禱來求神讓郭姐妹去賓州傳教。不過她在六月份就開始訓練一個新來的姐妹,所以我本來覺得她應該不會去那裡。因為我覺得一個姐妹會在八月份去賓州,所以郭姐妹訓練完之後,就沒辦法去那邊。我那時有點失望,但我想到,「沒關係,至少那邊還會有一個說中文的姐妹」。但後來所發生的情況並不是這樣子!我的傳道部會長在八月份忘記請我們教會的領袖召喚一個中國姐妹去匹茲堡。當他跟我說過我們不會有一個說中文的姐妹去賓州時,我馬上趕到很沮喪!我們那時想想我們是否應該臨時選擇一個姐妹去那裡。但我的傳道部會長後來決定等到下個搬家期來派一個姐妹去匹茲堡。在這個搬家期的結尾時,為了提醒我的傳道部會長,我發個電郵給他而再告訴他選擇一個說中文的姐妹去賓州。長話短說,郭姐妹將要去我以前的地方!我真的非常高興!我也真的愛州立大學那邊的人,所以我果然要一個朋友去那裡來教導那些人。我問過我的傳道部會長,郭姐妹是不是因為我推薦她而要去賓州。他跟我說過,他一點都沒有和我們教會的領袖提議她的名字。他只是跟教會的傳教部門聯絡,而打電話給賓州那裡的傳道部會長問問看他需不需要來自聖殿廣場的一個會說中文的姐妹。那裡的傳道部會長說過需要,所以我的傳道部會長就把五個姐妹的資料寄給我們的領袖,然後他們就選了郭姐妹。我的傳道部會長上個星期四宣布了誰要去哪裡,然後我一聽到郭姐妹的好消息就非常開心了。知道她要去那裡傳教使我感到很多的安慰。他真的是我在傳教的時候所認識的最棒的姐妹之一。我發現到她要去那裡之後,就做了祈禱來感謝天父。我很感激能夠在賓州傳過教,我也非常感激能夠認識那邊的優秀成員和家庭。我還記得我一發現到我會去匹茲堡傳道部,我有點困惑。派姐妹那個時候看到我的行程表而告訴我,我會去州立大學傳教(她是一個聖殿廣場的傳教士,而她的爸爸是那邊的支聯會會長)。我那時完全不知道州立大學在哪裡,但她跟我說過,我會教導那邊的中國大學生。聽到這點使我緊張起來了!我原來身邊並沒有帶任何的中文材料。並且,我也不相信她所說的話,也就是我會教導那邊來自中國的大學生。我感覺到很灰心,特別是因為我的中文不是完美的。我一直想到,「他們為什麼不要送一個來自中國或台灣的姐妹到那邊傳教?他們怎麼會選擇我?」我本來非常想要去華盛頓或紐約。但天父知道我為什麼需要去匹茲堡。祂知道我在那裡所需要認識的每一位,因為向他們學習到許多的事情。我在那邊所發生過的經驗確實幫助我成為現在的我。在這邊的很多的姐妹告訴我,我從賓州回來之後,他們能發覺到我改變了。我不太清楚他們所說的變化是什麼,但我還記得我那個時候的一個助理(傳道部會長的一個助理)和我說過,我回來之後,看起來好像我的靈性更強一點。好吧,我不會繼續提到賓州的事。你們應該不想再聽這些事。這個星期所發生的經驗讓我更加知道天父為我們每個人已經預備了一個計畫。我在八月份很想一個中國姐妹去賓州,但沒有了。我那時很難過,但天父所預備的計畫比我所想像的還要好。我最好的朋友會有機會在那裡服務!我很高興!天父有時不會像我們所想要的方法回答我們的祈禱。但祂是無所不知的,而且祂也知道如何讓我們感到快樂,比我們所想像的更快樂。我非常感激能夠在傳教時,學到這麼多的事情,我也超喜歡為祂服務。我愛主。我很高興郭姐妹快要去賓州,但我同時有點難過,因為她回來的那一天也是我傳教的最後一天。我們不知道我們什麼時候會再看到對方,特別是因為她是從台灣來的(也在夏威夷讀書的),而我是從加州來的。不過我還是知道我們將來會有機會再次相會!

明天是搬家日!我明天要開始我第十一個搬家期。不可思議!時間過得非常快!所以呢,在以下就是下個搬家期快要發生的變化。

  1. 我新的同伴是胡姐妹。她來自加州,但她是從北加州來的。她是二分之一的中國人(她的媽媽是從香港來的)。不過她不會說中文。我很期待更認識她。她跟我說過,她最近做了祈禱來求神讓她有一個很有一個很勤奮的同伴。有些姐妹知道這點,而她們猜想我們會在一起。但我沒想到她會變成我新的同伴。我會想念教導說西班牙文的人。
  2. 我新的準備日是星期一!
  3. 我不會再蜂巢屋那邊服務。我每天都會在廣場上服務。想到那些很大的中文團使我有點緊張。因為我在這六個禮拜中大部分的時間都在蜂巢屋,所以我都沒有帶這樣的中文團。我希望我會很快地再習慣帶他們。我有一個新的責任。胡姐妹和我是地帶領袖。她上個搬家期做過了地帶領袖,但我是我們傳道部其中的一個新的地帶領袖(一共有四個新的)。我有點緊張。其實,不是有點,我已經感到了很多的壓力。我只是當過地區領袖一個搬家期而已。我本來預期了我在下個搬家期會再做地區領袖。其它的地帶領袖(除了那些三個新的以外)已經做過地帶領袖一或兩個搬家期。在我整個傳教的時間一直佩服她們。她們真的給我立下非常好的榜樣。我感覺到好像我有很多需要學習的事情!

我該走了。我需要裝我的東西。我也需要早點休息,因為我明天很早需要去機場。我希望你們一切都好。我愛你們!

愛,
應姐妹

對了!我上個星期看到一件很有趣的事情!我看到了一隻貓!它的主人在廣場上用了皮帶遛牠!而且她也有一個寵物推車!我看到她把她的貓放在那個推車裡面!那隻貓看起來非常爽。我要一個寵物推車來給我的貓用了!我希望在我返鄉之後,能夠收到這樣的聖誕禮物!這樣子,我和我的貓每天可以去散步。再見!

我並不是一個瘋狂的貓迷!

Leave a Reply

