Chapter LXX – Winter is Here! // 第七十篇 – 冬天到了!

Monday, November 17, 2014

Hey everyone!

Lots of amazing things happened this past week. There’s just so much to tell and not enough time to share all the experiences with you!

First of all, it got really cold here this past week. We even got a little bit of snow for a couple nights! I don’t know why I’m freezing here…I just keep wondering how I ever survived the winter in Pennsylvania. I have no idea but I guess Heavenly Father must have helped me out 🙂

Anyways, this week, we had Christmas training. I can’t believe that the holidays are almost here and that the Christmas lights will be on this Friday! Once the lights are on, it gets so busy here at Temple Square and we are on the Square for an extra hour because Temple Square doesn’t close until 10 pm. I’m so excited for the Christmas season though! I can’t wait!

This last week, Sister Reed and I have been praying hard to know how we can find more prepared souls to teach. We decided to have a fast and we saw the results! I’ll be honest, I’m not a fan of fasting because I love food and sometimes I feel like I’m gonna pass out after a few hours, but Sister Reed is so great and has so much faith. She was the one who suggested that we fast and pray together and I’m so grateful to gain a testimony of fasting from her. Many of our investigators attended church for the first time and loved it! We are currently teaching a Chinese family who lives near Arcadia and they really enjoyed the Chinese branch in Alhambra when they went. Arcadia isn’t too far away and they come down to Anaheim every weekend, so I’m excited to see them after my mission. We met them during General Conference and they are originally from Taiwan. Sister Reed and I are also teaching a woman who lives in Santa Ana! So close to home! She is a very sweet older lady and we have no idea what she looks like, but a member family referred her when we contacted the family here at Temple Square. The lady, M, is planning on coming to Utah for Thanksgiving, so we hope to meet her for the first time next week! If not, I plan on visiting her when I go home.

We also started teaching a young woman from Taiwan who currently lives in Taipei. We met her online and she is awesome! She has been learning from missionaries for the last couple months but is hesitant to join the Church because her parents aren’t very supportive. But we committed her to be baptized on December 6 and she is excited about that day. We are so excited for her! This will be my very first Chinese baptism from Temple Square actually.

The last story I want to share is about M. I met her and her husband at the Beehive House during the summer and I remember giving her a copy of the Book of Mormon. For some reason, I never felt like calling her after meeting her in the Beehive House, which is unlike me since I usually call everyone within a week or two at most after meeting them. Well, last week, I saw her name and felt a strong prompting to call her. I did and it was the perfect timing. Her husband had been diagnosed with cancer and the last few months have been really hard and busy for them, as you can imagine. But now she has more time to really learn about the gospel. This woman has so much faith and such a strong spirit. This last week, she told us how she lost a daughter 6 years ago. We testified of eternal families, invited her to be baptized, and she accepted. We tried to put her on date for December 6, but she was apprehensive about it. We invited her to church and she went for the first time yesterday. She loved it and when we talked to her yesterday, she was so eager to meet with the local missionaries and to tell them that she wants to be baptized on December 6.

I know this is Heavenly Father’s work and His hand is in everything we do. He trusts us with His children as long as we show Him that we really do have that true desire to help His children come back to Him.

Well, I hope you are all enjoying the warm weather back home…I will see you soon though! I will miss being a missionary but I definitely will not miss this weather. I love you and miss you all!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

We had to pretend to be some guests during Christmas training. I'm not sure who I'm supposed to be but hey, any chance I get to be in comfy clothes, I'll take it.

We had to pretend to be some guests during Christmas training. I’m not sure who I’m supposed to be but hey, any chance I get to be in comfy clothes, I’ll take it.

2014年 11月 17日,星期一

大家好!

上週發生了許多很有趣的事情!我要和你們分享我上個禮拜的經驗,但我的時間不夠告訴你們全部!

首先,這邊的天氣上個星期突然變得非常冷!甚至有兩天下雪了!我不知我在這裡怎麼會感到那麼冷…我最近在想我在賓州如何過那邊的冬天。我覺得就是天父給我協助吧 🙂

我們這週參加了聖誕節的訓練會。冬天的節日都快到了!而且,他們在這個星期五就會把聖殿廣場的聖誕燈飾放上去。放上燈飾之後,聖殿廣場就會有許多過來的遊客。所以呢,我們這些傳教士就會在這裡工作多一個小時,因為聖殿廣場會在晚上十點關門。我迫不及待地過聖誕節!

我和任姊妹上個星期做了很多的祈禱,因為我們想知道如何找到更多的已經準備好的靈魂。我們決定為這點做禁食,而我們真的看到成果!不瞞你說,我不是非常喜歡禁食,因為我特別好吃。並且我在禁食時,在過兩小時後,偶爾會感到好像快要昏倒。但任姊妹很棒,而她很有信心,所以我們後來就做了禁食。這個禁食的決定就是她所提議的,所以我很感激能夠得到一個更強的禁食的見證。上週日是我們的一些慕道友第一次去參加教會聚會,而他們都非常喜歡那天的經驗! 我們目前在教導一個來自台灣的家庭。他們住的地方離阿凱廸亞很近,所以他們在上個星期日就去參加阿罕布拉的中文分會。阿凱廸亞離爾灣不太遠,而他們經常去安那罕,所以我很期待在我返鄉之後去拜訪他們!我們在總會大會時,認識這個家庭。他們原來是從台灣來的。任姊妹和我最近也在教導一個住在聖塔安那的女士!她離我家非常近!她是一個非常友善的老太太,而因為我們從來沒看過她,所以我們不知道她外表的樣子。不過,她是一個成員的家庭所給我們的回條。我們在聖殿廣場認識他們,然後他們就推薦我們教導他們的朋友。她的名字叫瑪麗安。她打算在感恩節時,來猶他州,所以我們希望在下週可以認識她!不然的話,我打算在我返鄉之後去拜訪她!

我們也開始教導一個在台灣的年輕女士,她目前住在台北。我們在網上認識她。她的人很棒!她這幾個月和當地的傳教士上過課,但她有點遲疑受洗這個決定,因為她的父母不太贊成。不過我們還是邀請她在十二月六日接受洗禮。她說過她很期待那天。我們也很期待!其實,她會成為我在聖殿廣場的第一個中國的新歸信者。

我最後一個要跟你們分享的故事是有關於马琳。我在夏天時,在蜂巢那邊認識她和她的先生。我還記得我那天把一本摩爾門經送給她。我在蜂巢認識她過後,因故不想打電話給她。這樣子不像我,尤其是因為我平常會在我認識一個人過一兩個禮拜之後,就會打電話給他們。總之,我上個禮拜看到她的名字,而得到了靈感,這靈感使我決定打電話給她。她和我說過,她的先生得了癌症,所以最近的幾個月非常困難。但她目前有更多的時間來學習福音。她很有信心,而她的精神很強。她上個禮拜也告訴我們,她的女兒六年前就過世了。我們為她做見證有關於永恆的家庭。我們也邀請她接受洗禮,而她說願意。我們鼓勵她在十二月六號受洗,但她有點猶豫不定。我們也邀請她去教會,所以昨天是她的第一次去參加教會聚會。當我們和她講電話時,她說她非常喜歡教會,而且她非常想跟當地的傳教士見面來告訴他們她要在十二月六日接受洗禮!

我知道這些都是天父的事工。我們都是祂手中的工具。只要我們表達我們真的想要幫祂其它的孩子回去祂那裡,祂就會信賴我們這麼做。

我希望你們都在享受你們那裡溫暖的天氣。我很快就會看你們!我會想念我這個傳教士的生活,但我絕對不會想念這邊的天氣。我愛你們也想你們!

愛,
應姊妹

Leave a Reply

