Chapter LXIII – The Last Letter Home // 第七十三篇 – 最後的家書

Monday, January 8, 2015

Dear Family and Friends,

I don’t even know where to begin because I know that whatever I write will not adequately describe all the feelings of my heart. We had our transfer conference this morning and us departing sisters bore our final testimonies. I think it was then that it really hit me that I will be home by the end of this week. There is no way for me to sum up everything I’ve learned in this one email but I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to serve a mission. Thanks for being on this crazy journey of mine for the last 18 months.

I have been reflecting a lot on my past year and a half and if I could narrow everything down to a few points, it would be this:

  1. Work hard and work effectively: There is literally no time to waste. The time I had to serve as a full-time representative of my Savior, Jesus Christ, was short and flew by. I know that I won’t have this experience again and I feel confident enough to say that I know I did my best and that I have served the Lord with everything that I had. When I go home, I can still do missionary work but I also know that as a member missionary, the work will be different.
  1. Do not get discouraged. When times get hard, let that motivate you to work even harder and fight back. When Sister Reed and I became companions 6 weeks ago, we literally didn’t have a single solid person we were teaching. Instead of moping around, we let those trials motivate us to work even harder. 6 weeks later, we were able to not only help one person enter the waters of baptism, but two. We had a baptism in Dan Shui, Taiwan, this past weekend and we are so happy for M. This was her third attempt at baptism because her parents were not very supportive. After her parents dissuaded her from getting baptized the second time, she got on on the Chinese mormon.org chat to ask us why she even needed to be baptized anymore. She didn’t see the purpose of getting baptized anymore and she was ready to call it quits. We called her every week (Taiwan is 15 hours ahead so you can imagine it wasn’t easy with the time difference) and helped her rekindle that desire of being baptized again.
  1. Trust in the Lord. He has His timing and His plan. If we can learn to submit our will to His will, then He will bless us immensely. His plan is perfect. I know from personal experience that His plan is always better than my plan.

Well, that’s about all that I have to share with you. Oh yeah, the Pennsylvania Pittsburgh mission is getting another Temple Square Chinese sister, and this time she’s actually from Mainland China. Her name is Sister Ye and I am SO excited for her to serve in State College. I love her! She’s an amazing missionary. Incredibly bold yet loving, and she has a firm testimony. I’m excited for her to impact many lives there. I know she will bless many.

Anyways, I will see you all very soon. Unfortunately I am sick again and lost my voice this last week but hopefully, I’ll be all better by the time I see you! I know this gospel is so true and that Jesus Christ is our Savior. We also have a loving Heavenly Father who knows us perfectly. I know that as we do the simple things such as praying and reading our scriptures daily and going to church, we will never stray from the right path. I love you all so much and I will see you soon!

Love,
Sister Olivia Ying

Sister Yang and Sister Liao from Taiwan!

Sister Yang and Sister Liao from Taiwan!

Baptism from this last transfer!

Baptism from this last transfer!

2014年 12月 8日,星期一

親愛的家人朋友們,

我不知道該從何開始,因為我知道不論我寫什麼,都很難適當的來描述我內心所有的感受。我們今早有個搬家期會議,所有要離開的姊妹們都做了我們最後的見證。我想這正是使我感到在這週快結束時,我將會回家去了!我無法在這封電郵𥚃表達我在這邊所學到的一切。但是我很感謝有此機會能夠傳教。謝謝你們和我共度這十八個月不可思議的旅程!

我回想許多在這過去的一年半𥚃對我有所影響的事,如果我能夠把所有的事簡要的做幾點摘要,那將會這樣的:

  1. 努力工作和有效率的工作.沒有時間可以浪費,我必須用全部時間為神服務,而我身為我的救主,耶穌基督的代表,這段時間很短也很快。我知道我將不會再有這樣的經歷,而我也自信的能說我的確盡力去做為主所做的一切事情。當我回到家後,我仍然可以去做傳教的工作,但我也知道做為一名教會成員的傳教士的工作將是有所不同的。
  2. 不要氣餒. 當困難的時機時,也正是你要更努力工作的動機和去戰勝它。當我和任姊妹剛成為同伴的六週前,我們幾乎沒有一個人可以讓我們去教導。反而這個逆境促使我們更加努力工作,六個禮拜後,我們不僅幫助了一個人進入水中受洗,反而是二個人。我們有一個洗禮會是在台灣的淡水,在這過去的週末,我們真的為明姊妹感到好開心!這是她第三次想要受洗,因為她的父母之前並不支持,在第二次和她父母提到受洗的討論之後,她也一直上中文的摩門網站和我們交談,這也是她問我們為何需要受洗。她本來並不知道受洗的目的,幾乎都要放棄,我們每週都打電話給她(台灣是比這裡快十五個小時,所以你可以想像我們在時間上是多不容易和她連絡)就這樣幫助她再次重新想要去接受洗禮。
  3. 對主信頼. 祂有祂的時間表和計劃。如果我們能夠學習將我們的意念去建立在祂的意念上,那祂將會給予我們更大的祝福!祂的計劃是完美的。我知道從我個人的經驗裡面告訴我,祂的計劃比我的計劃更好。

這些就是我想要與你們所分享的。對了!在賓州的皮茲堡傳道部將會有一名來自聖殿廣場的中國姊妹,她從中國大陸來的葉姊妹。我真的為她要去州立大學感到興奮!我很愛她!她是一個很棒的傳教士,並且擁有堅強的見證。我真為她能幫助和影響在那邊的人而感高興!我知道她將會祝福許多人。

無論如何,我將很快看到你們大家了!不幸的事這禮拜我又生病並且嗓子啞了,希望到時候見到你們時我會好一點。我知道福音的確是真實的,耶穌基督是我們的救主,我們也有活著的天父衪完全地認識我們,我知道當我們做了簡單的事情,例如祈禱和每日研讀經文,並且參加教會的聚會,我們將不會偏離正道。我非常愛你們並且我將很快看到你們了!

愛,
應姊妹

Leave a Reply

